Wake Me Up Before September Ends

Good morning, lovepies.  I had a reeeeeeally difficult time waking up this morning, so I’m going to forgo my my morning run and hope that I can squeeze in a little treadmill action during my lunch hour.

Thanks for all of your enthusiastic responses to my grandmother’s post about her time in culinary France… I’m sure it will make her very happy.

Yesterday I rolled out of bed, two hours later than planned, and laced up for a run.  Before I left, I had coffee and 1/2 banana with almond butter.

Pre-Workout Snack

Towards the end of my run, I started getting really painful stitches in my side.  I remember reading an article in Runner’s World that said that when this happens, you should push on the spot and bend in its direction. I ended up running with my fingers pressed into my side, and it helped, but there has to be a better way! How do you run through stitches?

Total time: 44:52 minutes

Total distance: 4.5 miles

When I came back, I had an awesome breakfast, centered around two key ingredients:

Homemade raw almond walnut milk:

Homemade raw almond walnut milk

Apple Berry Vitatop:

Apple Berry Vita Top

Apple Berry Vita Nutritionals

Apple Berry Vita

Nutmilk/ apple/vitamuffin

I spent the rest of the morning working at home, then scrambled together a quick lunch.

Curried Tofu Salad

The night before, I decided to continue my adventures in mashed tofu and made a curried tofu salad.  Using a fork, I mashed 1/2 block of pressed firm tofu.  I added chopped onion, curry powder, freshly ground ginger, cumin, and rice wine vinegar. For my lunch, I plopped a big glob of the curry onto a bed of arugula with sprouts, an apple, and a slice of Ezekiel bread, and drizzled it all with Annie’s Light Gingerly Vinaigrette.

Tofu Curry

Although I’d packed snacks for work, I was still feeling noshy from the run so I popped into a deli and picked up a cup of Stonyfield Organic Nonfat Chocolate Underground yogurt.

Stonyfield Chocolate Underground Yogurt

At work, I drank a glass of Wild Berry Greens Plus and snacked on an Apricot Clif bar.

Work Snacks

I’ve decided that using the entire packet in one serving is entirely too much. It’s very sweet, so I’d recommend reducing the serving size to about 1/4 of the packet.

After my shift at the restaurant, I had a mixed green salad with apples, tomatoes, oranges, and walnuts.

Dinner Salad

Work itself was a little unpleasant, but hopefully I’ll be able to figure something else out soon.

On my walk to the subway, I picked up a blurry fruit cup.

Fruit Cup

Well, I’ve actually just come home early from work… I think I’ve caught some kind of bug.  Hopefully it’s something that’ll be cured by sleep, which is what I plan to do for the rest of the day.  Hope your Tuesday is going well!

18 responses to “Wake Me Up Before September Ends

  1. sorry you werent feeling well…hope rest and good food can revive you.

    what kind of blender do you have? i think mine would have laughed in my face if i threw nuts into it. i wonder if my new bullet could handle nuts? hmmm…

    love the tofu mash up…i havent made onein a while, so thanks fort he reminder.

  2. I hope you feel better! I know a lot of people who have gotten sick recently. I loved your grandmother’s post.

  3. I hope you feel better!

    ugh, side stitches are the worst! and I usually get them about every other run. I hate them. Pushing on the spot helps me some, too, but sometimes they’re so bad, I just have to walk for a while or slow WAY down and let everything catch up.

  4. southerngracesblog

    I am loving your mashed tofu 🙂 I hope you figure out work soon, lovie! Oh, and don’t you just love chocolate underground? Yum! Happy Tuesday!

  5. I used to get side stitches during endurance training for my sport and my coaches would tell me to breath in through my nose, out through my mouth to regulate breathing. It worked for me (most of the time) so it’s worth a shot?

    You just reminded me to I need to try tofu salad!! Your creation sounds yummy 🙂

  6. Oh feel better! Lots of sleep, fluid, chilling… 🙂

    Your tofu looks great- have you ever had the “Healthy Korner” tofu ‘chicken salad’?.. I’ve only seen it in NY and it’s amazing!

  7. Oh I hate side stiches. I usually try to stretch a bit but I have yet to find a fool proof cure!

  8. I hope you’re feeling better! Very exciting about your race- best of luck! I’m sure you’ll kick some behind! I love all those homemade nut milks- I gotta try this.

  9. Your almond milk looks fantastic, I bet it accompanied the vitatop perfectly! I hope you feel better quickly, bugs are never fun:(

  10. get well soon love! for your sake, obviously, and for my own selfish reasons — i’m moving up this weekend and our meet up must take place ASAP… 🙂

    i LOVE woodstock! my aunt has a house there and in the city and i grew up visiting her each summer! what a fun weekend, i loved seeing your recap on the crazy hippie town! xoxo

  11. i have GOT TO get running. i really don’t enjoy it but i’m hearing “don’t knock it ’til you try it”. you do inspire me i must say when i see your times and distance. you inspire me 😦 haha.

  12. Same here, I try to message it out and keep pushing on. Feel better love!

  13. Yum! Love the sound of almond walnut milk!

  14. homegirlcaneat

    Mashed tofu with Annie’s ginger dressing?!!? THIS is what I have been craving! I just bought the dressing and just need the tofuuuuu!!!

    I hope work gets better mami! I believe! 😀

  15. Pingback: Get Buff! « Lilveggiepatch

  16. Your diet looks so fresh and delicious! Love Cliff bars, too.

  17. Pingback: (2) Dinner(s) for 1 « Lilveggiepatch

  18. Pingback: A Girl & Her Dog « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

