Julie & Julia

Good morning and happy humpday! Thank you for all of the well-wishes yesterday… I’m feeling a lot better.  I really don’t know what happened, but I started feeling strange at work on Monday night and yesterday I was so dizzy that I couldn’t even read on the subway.  When I got to work, my boss said I looked “piqued” and sent me home after twenty minutes.  Rest must have been just what I needed, because after conking out for four hours I woke up feeling refreshed and well. I have a feeling it was my body’s way of rebelling against the stress I’ve been feeling lately, so I’ll have to find a way to harness it or make some big changes.  Hopefully it will be the latter 🙂

Yesterday I wanted a hot, comforting bowl of oatmeal for breakfast.  I overslept, but luckily had enough time for a nice (if hurried) meal.

Morning oats

  • 1/2 cup oats (cooked in water)
  • 1/2 banana
  • warmed frozen blueberries
  • 1 T freshly ground organic peanut butter

The morning was spent going to and from Manhattan and napping.  You’d think I wouldn’t have an appetite when I wasn’t feeling so great, but… I’m always a hungry girl! I made a sandwich with a TJ’s Marsala burger, hummus, asiago cheese, mustard, and spinach on Ezekiel.  We’re running very low on ingredients, but I’m trying to hold out as long as possible to do a big grocery shop and just buy produce on an as-needed basis.

Yummus Marsala Sandwich

After I ate, I promptly went back to sleep.  I felt better when I woke up, and had a snack: apples dipped in Honey Oikos.

Honey Oikos & Apple

I’d never had flavored Oikos before, and I loved this one! I was expecting the honey to be blended into the yogurt, but it was a little bit separated and the result was heavenly.  I’m out of coupons, but I think I’m going to have to pick some up anyway.

Ari’s getting ready to go on tour again, so we decided to have a date night.  Unfortunately I left my camera in a different purse (I always forget something when I’m shuffling from bag-to-bag!), and the pictures on Ari’s phone didn’t really turn out. Oh well.

We went to Linn for dinner, where we were promptly served an amuse boûche of seaweed and salmon skin.  Ari didn’t want his, so I happily ate both! I also ordered a cup of hot tea, because I didn’t want to fall asleep at the movie we were going to see.

Amuse Bouche

I started with a bowl of miso soup to ward off any lingering sickness…

Miso Soup

I also ordered the tuna salad: tuna sashimi served over mixed greens with peanuts and apricots

Tuna Sashimi Salad

… and a cucumber roll, which was served on the same plate as Ari’s parsley and squash rolls.  I had one of each of his, too… the squash one was pretty good! Very sweet.

Maki Rolls

We stopped at Coldstone on the way to the movies.   I don’t know why I got ice cream because I wasn’t very hungry and I’m pretty sick of ice cream, but oh well.  This was a small cup of sinless sweet cream with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

Coldstone!

As the title suggests, we went to see Julie & Julia.  It’s strange it’s taken us so long to see it… Ari said he wanted to “watch [me] watch it” because he knew how happy I would be during the film.  He was right! I absolutely loved it.  I’m in the middle of reading My Life In France right now (which I have a First Edition copy of… muahahaha), and while I didn’t want the movie to spoil the book for me, I thought it was absolutely necessary to see it on the big screen.  It’s gotten a lot of criticism in terms of the “Julie” part of the story, and my grandmother thought Meryl Streep “overdid” Julia’s idiosyncrasies a bit. However, the whole time I was watching the film I wanted to 1) be back in France, and 2) cook 524 recipes in 365 days.  The fact that Julie was a food blogger also made me very happy.

After the film, we met up with Ari’s sister for a glass of wine.  When we came home, we ate an entire bag of  baby carrots in bed and watched In Treatment.  Oof.

I’m planning on going to a 60-minute Vinyasa Flow class at noon, and then will be spending my evening working in the restaurant.  What are you up to today? Enjoy it!

17 responses to “Julie & Julia

  1. Sometimes a good nap cures everything! I understand being stressed just try not to let it wear you out!

  2. I saw the movie this weekend, too! I didn’t mind the Julie parts but obviously they weren’t as exciting as the Julia parts. And Julie got whiny and annoying towards the end. But obviously Meryl Streep is amazing! Those recipes seem really tough – I have no idea how she managed to do them all in a year.

  3. I actually saw Amy Adams at Starbucks the other day! I wrote a post about it on my blog if you’re interested. She was adorable!
    It certainly was a cute movie!

  4. I am glad you are feeling better! I loved that movie too! I thought Meryl Streeo did a great job!

  5. yum, that sushi looks great! I’ve walked by Linn before (I ❤ Astoria) but have never gone in. we definitely need a sushi night at Tenzan soon, I bet you would really like it:)

    I'm glad you're feeling better and enjoyed the movie!!!

  6. The fresh ground peanut butter looks amazing….I can’t believe I haven’t tried it yet!

  7. Glad you are feeling better 🙂 I can’t wait to see that movie! It’s not out here yet, but debating whether or not to just get the book…decisions.

  8. Glad you’re feeling better and hope you enjoy your 60 min vinyasa action. I am bout to do some at-home yoga, too. And wait for furniture delivery. That’s what on my radar today…

  9. Glad you’re feeling better and that you were able to rest up!!

    Your date night sounds lovely! That Coldstone creation?! YUM! Thanks for the movie review!! Hope you have a great Wednesday 🙂

  10. how did i have so many katie posts to catch up on? NOT okay.

    LOVED your g’ma’s post on her time at the cordon bleu. she is adorable!

    i want to come with you and ari flea market shopping…that is one of my faves. mmmmm to that good lookin’ sammie!

    glad you are feeling better – that gorge bowl of oatmeal helped, as probably did the ice cream 🙂 gotta love cold stone!

    have a fabulous day dear!

  11. Glad to hear you’re feeling better!! 🙂

    I’ve been hearing so many mixed reviews of that movie… I’ll wait for the DVD, thanks. 😉 I’m too impatient to sit in a theater!!

    ❤ ❤

  12. I really need to see this movie! Oh, Oikos with honey is my favorite. I love that its at the bottom of the container..it’s a sweet surprise waiting to be discovered!

  13. i’m glad you’re feeling better! what a fun date night 🙂

    eh, today i’m just working! boo 🙂

  14. I’m glad you’re feeling better! I loved Julie & Julia too and it def made me want to cook!!! Sushi looks yummy. Enjoy your day love!

  15. Good to know it is a good movie!!

    I absolutely love the way you eat mama! Sushi and ice cream… yayo!!

    Glad to hear you are feeling better!! 🙂

  16. You make some pretty great meals for someone who has to go to the grocery store!

    I totally know what you mean about switching purses–the other day I left my camera behind arghhh.

  17. ooooh that sushi! you know i love my sushi!! glad you finally saw the movie. i only got halfway through the book before i saw the movie and i’m glad i did. LOVED the movie. everyone in the theatre was much more senior than me but i think we all enjoyed it dispite our age differences 🙂

    i’m seeing that honey oikos everywhere. i’ve gotta try it!

Leave a Reply

