A Girl & Her Dog

Good evening! I hope you are thoroughly enjoying your Saturdays.  The day completely got away from me today, so this is going to be a bigger post than usual.

Yesterday I used up the last of my walnut almond milk and added frozen berries, grapes, and Puffins.  Filling and delicious!

Almond walnut milk, berries, grapes, Puffins

Yesterday was R-A-I-N-Y! It was also very windy, so whatever umbrella you may have brought with you (which I did not…) was basically functionless.  I dodged the drops and met Caitlin for lunch in Union Square.  We’d planned on venturing out to someplace a little farther out of our comfort zone than Whole Foods, but it was so miserable outside that we just decided to eat at the hot bar.

As soon as we walked in, we were greeted with samples of Sweet Leaf iced tea.  I’d never tried this before, but I loved both the taste and their cute Grandma-themed packaging!

Sweet Leaf

I loaded my salad box…

Whole Foods Hot Bar

It included:

  • mixed greens
  • steamed kale
  • roasted sweet potato
  • vegan “chicken” salad
  • baked tofu
  • wasabi salmon salad
  • Shanghai dumpling
  • corn

We also were given samples of mini cupcakes for filling out a mapping survey.  Great day for free treats!

Whole Foods Mini Cupcake

We stayed inside for quite some time, taking shelter from the storm.  I sipped on a nonfat cafe au lait with a shot of espresso to warm up:

Skim Au Lait w/ Espresso

When the rain started to let up, we ventured over to Barnes & Noble to do a little research.  On our way out, we popped into the music department and spotted The Upwelling‘s An American Stranger on display!

The Upwelling at Barnes & Noble

Caitlin snatched up the last copy, and we promptly demanded they order more.

The Upwelling's An American Stranger

Then I made my way home to take care of my pup’dog.

Charley Poo

I immediately raided the fridge, and found these baby green plums.

Fresh Green Plums

I had a little snack of yogurt, one pear, and one green plum.

Green Plum, Pear, Nonfat Yogurt

When I went through the mail, I found a package from Sarah.

Sarah's Mug

She’d sweetly sent me the cup that I demanded to use every time I went to her apartment in Minnesota… it made me so happy! I hope you’re drinking plenty of tea in Russia, Sarah.

I spent the rest of the evening going through my closet and getting rid of old clothes.  I had a glass of Black Box Wines‘s Sauvignon Blanc to help me out…

Black Box Wine- Sauvignon Blanc

I really liked this. Sauvignon Blanc is one of my favorite wines, and this was pretty good.  If I hadn’t poured it myself, I wouldn’t have known this wine came out of a box! Much better than the Franzia & Carlo Rossi more economical beverages of my college days.

I’d planned on cooking, but the weather was just too nasty and I wanted to stay inside and be cozy.  Instead, I ordered a bento box with shrimp shumai, sashimi, and a spicy tuna roll.

Sashimi Bento Box

It also came with a small salad with carrot-miso dressing

Salad w/ Carrot Miso Dressing

… and a hot cup of miso soup.

Miso Soup

I was very full! But of course, when Ari called and asked me to meet him for Tasti D, I couldn’t turn him down 😀  I got a small cup of oreo cookie peanut butter with Reese’s pieces.

Oreo Peanut Butter Tasti w/ Reese's Pieces

Ari had to leave very early this morning to get ready for their tour, and although I had every intention of getting up with him at 8, I slept in until 11. Whoops! When I did get myself out of bed, I had a quick yogurt bowl with an apple and green plum.

Apple, green plum & yogurt

I met my little red-headed friend for lunch; we went to the Manhattan Diner for California Veggie Burgers (avocado, Swiss cheese, sprouts & salsa).

Manhattan Diner California Veggie Burger

The first time this came out of the kitchen, it was literally frozen cold.  The second time, it was burned to a crisp… I ate it anyway, with half of the bun.

California Veggie Burger

After Ilana and I met up to pick up our race numbers  and T-shirts for tomorrow, I went to Citarella to get groceries.  Somehow I happened upon a cupcake sample station…

Citarella Cupcakes

These homemade cupcakes are made with sour cream and buttermilk.  This was one of the richest, juiciest bites of cake I’ve had.  So good! I may just have to pick some up soon.

Citarella Chocolate Cupcake Sample

When I got home, unloaded my groceries and soothed my aching & blistery feet (trying out new boots the day before a race might not have been the best idea), I snacked on an apple.

Apple Snack

Ilana came over and I made a cozy and comforting dinner for us.  We started with a mixed green salad with leftover carrot-miso dressing.

Mesclun w/ carrot miso dressing

The star of the meal was Bon Appétit‘s Multi-Grain Penne with Hazelnut Pesto, Green Beans, and Parmesan.

Whole Wheat Penne w/ Hazelnut Pesto & String Beans

I added a little more lemon juice than the recipe called for for a little extra zing, and I think it worked.

We dined in bed like queens, and enjoyed a glass of Black Box Sauvignon Blanc.

DInner in Bed

Ilana’s review: It’s not sweet. Very refreshing, but that might just be ’cause it’s cold.  Not my favorite, but not bad.  Would I buy it? I think so.  It’s growing on me.

We’re still in bed, watching The Devil Wears Prada.  The race starts at 9:20 tomorrow, so we have to get to bed early!  I’ve been mulling over this dilemma all day: I don’t have an armband for my iPod (it’s such an old model that they don’t make them for it), but I also want to run with my camera.  The ultimate question: to double-fist or not to double-fist? Is it a terrible idea to run with both hands full? I need your help!

Many thanks to Erin, who awarded me this award.  Thanks, Erin!

kreativ_blog award

I’m very, very behind on your blogs, but I will catch up as soon as possible.  Love you mucho and have a great rest of the weekend!

20 responses to “A Girl & Her Dog

  1. Hooray for spotting more copies of The Upwelling!!

    Reese’s Pieces = maaaajor nostalgia alert.

    ROCK OUT that race tomorrow and don’t get hurt 😉

  2. I beg to differ: my umbrella was absolutely not functionless! It not only provided me with a great upper body workout (hanging onto it was tough), it also saved my poor skull from being pierced by a falling branch that would have landed on my head. So there. :p

    I’m not a runner so I can’t help with your dilemma… good luck with the race, though!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  3. I was watching that movie earlier too! Good luck with your race tomorrow!

  4. Sweet Leaf tea is from Texas and it’s my favorite! I buy big jugs of the Mint & Honey green tea. Mmm.

    Good luck tomorrow!

  5. Oh loveeee the eats I like the Sweet Leat Tea too! Oh we have wholefoods in Hawaii and they have lara bar yaaaaaaaa!

  6. You are like a samples magnet…what good luck! You are making me thirsty for WF hot bar and wine in a box. Maybe even together!
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, dear!

  7. Whoa! I want to eat everything in this post, as per usual, but that WF salad box and the Tasti D look especially divine! Have a fab weekend:)

  8. Homemade cupcakes made with sour cream and buttermilk…for free! Hello, deliciousness.

  9. Good luck on your race and arent you just the cupcake sample scorer! I have to say I have never in recent memory been sampled cupcakes bites. And you scored 2 in a short order…way to go! Black box wine, never heard of it, I instantly thought: Franzia, college, hangover! Good to know it’s not nasty. As for running double fisted…uummm I wouldnt but if the camera is non negotiable and you’d put up a worse time by not having the ipod, then you gotta do it. Just in crowds, I wouldnt like to have both hands full. Plus when I am trying to run well, things in my hands slow me down. Just my .02 but good luck to you whatever you decide!

  10. WF bar, Taste D, Manhattan Diner + wine = awesome 😀 So cool that The Upwelling is selling out!!!!

    GOOD LUCK fot the race! I know nothing about running so no idea about carrying two things…you can always sing if you don’t have your iPod 😀 Can’t wait for the recap!

  11. Woohoo for all the freebies – mini cupcakes are just too cute!

    I feel like seeing the CD is like spotting a celebrity! That’s so exciting!! That Tasti creation sure looks TASTY 😉 Love the Reese’s pieces!

    GOOD LUCK TODAY (I think it’s over by now so – CONGRATS!!!)!!!

  12. GOOD LUCK!!! I’m sure it went swimmingly 🙂

  13. Cupcakes, penne pasta, tasti-d, yogurt messes, wf’s salad bar AND avocado-topped veggie burgers?!! Oooooh, I just want everything in this post, right now!! Ha ha….

    Congrats to Ari!!!! I can’t believe you found his CD in a store…watch out girl, you may soon be known as a famous musician’s girl in all the mags!

  14. I’m behind on blog reading, too, dear, but was glad to catch up on all of these tasty eats! Good luck with the race.

  15. wholesomefoodie

    Awesome that you found your boy’s band’s CD on display! This is Adriane from Astoria and I finally started a blog. Yay! Yours is fabulous by the way. Good luck on the race! We should meet up to run soon.

  16. Darn, I was at Citarella’s yesterday too but must have missed the cupcake samples:( They look delish though!

    Any day that includes Tasti D-Lite and sushi is a great day in my book. Good luck with the race today!!!!!

  17. Way to score with the free samples!

    Congrats on the race today! I hope it was fun 🙂

  18. god what would nyc do without TDL? the pasta looks so fab too!

  19. Howdy!

    Thank you for the very sweet mention (and pictures!) of Sweet Leaf Tea. Nothing better than being greeted in a store by Granny! (Ok, and maybe a free cupcake!)

    Feel free to drop me a line at Consumers@sweetleaftea.com for a coupon for another free bottle.

    We just love finding more folks out there that are digging our teas!

    Hope the race went well!

    Sincerely,
    April Riggs
    Consumer Services Manager-SLT

  20. I seriously don’t know where to begin with commenting!! So cool to see The Upwelling’s cd in stores!!! I should go look at my music store..

    love the sushi, pretty desserts, TASTI D LITE, puppy, yogurt, veggie burgers……. swooners!

    mad love to you Katie!!!

Leave a Reply

