Bum Run

Good morning and happy Tuesday! How are you today? Did you sleep well?  I got home around 12:30 last night and collapsed into bed, snuggled up against the (clean) laundry. Whoops!

Yesterday I felt like something different so I made a bowl of cereal for breakfast.  I had Puffins, GoLean, and a banana with skim.

Puffins, Kashi GoLean!, Banana

I worked all morning, and snacked on frozen berries and bee pollen.

Mixed Berries & Bee Pollen

By the time I finished my reading it was, as I’d suspected, to late to go to yoga.  I decided to go for  a run instead, which was a big mistake. From Step 1, my body felt heavy, my legs clunky.  My stomach started to growl, and new stitches kept popping up all over my  front.  My shoulders hurt.  My body just did not want to run. I should have listened to it and turned back immediately, but I didn’t want to “fail” so I kept pushing through.  I stopped a couple times: first for traffic, then to fix my headband, then to fix a stitch.  You get the picture.  It was not a good run. Finally, I got so frustrated and annoyed that I just turned off my watch and walked the rest of the way home… I was already only two blocks away from home (on the way back), so I ended up running 4 out of the 4.4 miles I’d set out to do.  Oh well.  Moral of the story?  Just as not all meals can be great, neither can all runs.  It doesn’t mean I’m a failure, or not a “real” runner, or anything else that sounds completely catastrophic. It just worries me because it’s about time to start increasing my mileage; I’m still planning to do that on Thursday.  We’ll see.

I came home famished.  I rooted around in the fridge, and found half a jalepeño.

Jalepeño

I chopped it up and added it to my Sunday leftovers, and topped it all with asiago cheese.  It was a huge meal, but I wanted something big to get me through my wait shift.

Leftovers for Lunch

On my way out the door, I grabbed some grapes and ate them on the subway.

Grapes

I snacked on Organic Wheat Grass (Amazing Grass) and a Chery Cashew PURE bar at work (I didn’t eat the apple).

Work snack

I really like this PURE flavor… I reviewed it once before and I think I liked it even better this time.  Nom.

Work was fine… we got a little busy and we were two instead of three on the floor, so we made a little more money.  Dinner, however, is what made the night worth it.  There was a mistake in the kitchen, so there was a piece of lightly grilled salmon under my salad!  The rest of the salad was mixed greens, beets, tomato, a sliver of avocado, and walnuts. It was so good.  I really don’t think I could have made a better meal at home… this was just what I wanted.

Dinner Salad

I’d planned on having dessert when I got home, but I was too tired.  Instead, I slathered up my legs with Bengay and got into bed.  Um, not the best idea.  I love how Bengay feels, but that icy hot goodness kept me awake! Whoops.

Off to my internship.  Have a great day!

19 responses to “Bum Run

  1. Hope you feel 100% better soon, girl!!

    Good luck at your internship!!

  2. I’ve had my share of bum dance classes. Sometimes bodies just say “no”. Not a big deal 🙂 Haha- I’ve never used Bengay, but have used Deep Heat and was kept up all night by the smell!

    Enjoy your internship 😀

  3. that stinks about the run, but you’re right! not every one will be great. I hope you have a great day today!!!

  4. Extra money + a great meal sounds like a decent night at work!

    I have to remind myself that if I’m not feeling a run, it’s ok to go easy on myself. I always feel like I have to push through everything, but that’s not necessarily the way it has to be!

  5. I just sorta posted something like this on my blog yesterday…not all workouts are great, sometimes you just cant push yourself and have to give yourself a break and cut yourself a little slack…they aren’t all awesome and when they’re not, oh well, next one will be better. At least that’s what i try to tell myself 🙂

    I’ve never had bee pollen, your food makes me wanna get on that…stat!

    I have that cherry cashew Pure bar too…first time I tried it I was like meh ok, next time, I liked it way better.

  6. southerngracesblog

    Good luck at your internship, love! I hope you have a good day today 🙂
    Oh, and I have never tried the cherry cashew PURE bar…I am thinking I would like it!

  7. So true, we need to remeber to always rest our bodies. Glad you didn’t push yourself and end up hurt, that would’ve been worse.

  8. Sorry your run wasn’t that great – the next one will seem even better! Woohoo for the mistake dinner 🙂

    Hope you have a great day at your internship!

  9. hmm berries and bee pollon, looks really interesting!

    i have only tried the brownie pure bar, and the blue berry pure bar, and thought both were just meh. the blueberry one just tasted like lemon juice to me …

    i will have to try the cherry one!

  10. bad and good, good and bad – we all have our days. i’ve gone on plenty of shitty runs and been in the midst of crappy yoga sessions – they happen!

    that salad looks dayum good girl! have a beautiful tuesday miss katie!

  11. I couldn’t agree more on what you said about runnig. Last week I didn’t have the best run it’d it was hard not to get beat up about it. But yesterday i went on a six miler with a running club in Oahu and it was amazing! One bad run definitely does not mean you are not overall makin progress!

  12. Sorry about the run! We all have our off days though! Your salad looks delicious! Glad you had a nice work shift!

  13. Sorry to hear about your run! You’re right though…not all runs can be stellar. I bet your next run will rock! Salmon salad is my absolute favorite meal. Glad you enjoyed it!

  14. no worries. we all have those days! you got your head on straight, good attitude. new day, new start.

    bengay! before bed? haha. so weird. that stuff smells so funky, feeling aside, i think the aroma wouldve kept me up!

  15. Aww, don’t worry about your “bum run”, it happens to everyone occasionally. I’ve had my fair share of bum bike rides, but that usually involves crashing into a tree lol.

  16. I really like your blog but have never commented… so, hi, I’m kristin. What do you find is the best way to fix your stitches when you run? When I get one, they seem to pop up for a week straight every time I attempt to even begin to jog.

  17. Your bowl of leftovers looks freaking amazing! Love that mix. And frozen berries= awesome!!

  18. Pingback: The Ladies Who Lunch « Lilveggiepatch

  19. Pingback: Transportable Salads and Build-Me-Up Blondies « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

