The Big 6

I’ve always thought that the day I ran 6 miles would be the day I finally became a “real” runner.

When my alarm went off at 8, my mind was filled with that excited dread that often comes with the first day of school and first dates.  Since my day is already jam-packed today, I’d written out a list of everything I would do, from waking up to going to work, with corresponding times.  This type of thing doesn’t usually work for me, but I really wasn’t even able to include a margin of error.

Still, I puttered around, wasting time… I checked on the laundry (three times), I did the dishes, I checked the weather (chance of rain)… I was nervous, and I wanted to prolong the run for as long as possible.  But, I was also excited, and had a good feeling.  I knew I could do it!

I quickly put together a no-fail playlist.  These are all songs I’ve run to over and over again, and I know they keep my legs running.

6 Mile Playlist

Before I left, I had half a cup of coffee, half a Luna Bar, and a lot of water.

Pre-run fuel

I debated whether or not to run with a water bottle, but I didn’t want the extra awkward weight to sabotage my run. Instead I kept running back to the kitchen for more water, just to be safe.  I should probably invest in a CamelBak sometime soon…

This was my first time running with snacks.I stuffed my baggie of gummies (who needs Shot Bloks?) into the waistband of my running pants.  I’m sure there was a better option… I tried to put it in the side of my sports bra, as I’ve heard other runners do, but it was really uncomfortable.    Where do you stash your mid-exercise snacks?

Mid-run snack baggie

Finally I set off, with a not-so-brave face.

Not so brave face

I’d promised myself I was going to run at a slow, easy pace… it was more important for me to log miles than go for speed. I’m not racing against anyone! To achieve the 6 mile run, I’d planned on fusing together my go to 4.5 mile and 2.0 mile runs.  It started to rain as I passed the 2-mile point, but I powered through it.  At almost the same time as the first raindrop hit my face, I got a stitch in my right side… the same spot I’ve been getting them for the past week or so. I tried some breathing techniques, but mostly just told myself to ignore it… and it worked!

After I finished my 4.5 mile loop, I stopped and ate half of my gummies.  Then I picked the pace right back up again.  I felt as though my legs were carrying me through, and the only thing I had to do was stay awake for it.  I expected to be sore, but I didn’t think that I’d be so mentally tired! But I powered on.  I stopped and ate the last of the gummies during the final mile.

I got home, stretched and calculated my total distance: 6.4 miles!!!

6.4 miles of victory!

Total distance: 6.4 miles

Total time: 1:10:27

Maximum heart rate: 177 (89%)

Average heart rate: 166 (83%)

Calories burned: 739

For a few minutes, I felt a little nauseous and not very hungry.  I couldn’t decide what I wanted for breakfast, and puttered around for a little.  Then all of a sudden… WHAMO! I made the quickest bowl of oatmeal you’ve ever seen, just so I wouldn’t eat my own arm.

Post-Run Oatmeal

This was made with:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • splash of skim milk
  • cinnamon
  • 1 banana
  • brown sugar
  • scoop of peanut butter

After showering, I slathered on a generous helping of Bengay and promptly burned the bejeezus out of my glutes.  I also got so cold that I had to pile on Ari’s sweats (shh!) and climb under the covers.  I guess “everything in moderation” doesn’t only apply to food…

I took a bottle of POMx Pomegrante Wildberry Light White Tea to keep me hydrated on my subway ride across the boroughs.

POMx Wildberry Iced Tea

FYI: I will be posting a POMx review once I’ve tasted all of the flavors.

POMx Wildberry Nutrition

I needed to pick some things up chez maman et papa, so I stopped at Whole Foods to pick up lunch to eat at home.  It was, sadly, my quickest in-and-out trip to the store.

When I got home, there were two exciting packages waiting for me! First… my RoadID came! I wish I could show it to you, but my Photoshop program isn’t working and I can’t edit out my personal information.  It’s very cool, though!

I also received the Kay’s Naturals package I won from Jenny‘s giveaway.

Kay's Naturals

With lunch, I snacked on some Crispy Parmesan Protein Chips.

Kay's Naturals Parmesan Protein Chips

They look like baby Sun Chips!

Kay's Natural Parmesan #2

And, unlike other brands, this one was filled with chips! Don’t you hate when you buy something and realize you’ve paid for mostly air? They were pretty good… they had the consistency of Soy Crisps.

Kay's Natural Parmesan #3

My Whole Foods lunch was filled with greens, Israeli salad, grape leaves, vegan chicken salad (LOVE THIS), lemon tempeh, glazed tofu, crunch sprout salad, and a farro/wheatberry pilaf.

Whole Foods Salad Bar

While I was home, Charley and I played dress-up…

Charley's tongue

He’s joined the ranks and is now an Upwelling Dog.

Upwelling Dog

I was still snacky, so I ate a raisin walnut roll on the subway on the way to work.

Raisin Pecan Roll

Business at the restaurant was non-existent, so I went home at 7. Wahoo!  I took a salad to go, but decided to save that for lunch the next day and stopped instead at the Japanese mart on my walk to the subway.  I’ve always been curious about these seasoned “wildweeds”:

Hmm..

Unfortunately, I really didn’t care for them at all.  Something about the taste, and the brown weeds (which reminded me of Distric 9… sorry for that gross tidbit!) really turned my stomach and I only ate half.  This looks deceptively small… but as the above photo shows, it weighed 18 ounces!

Japanese vegetable sampler

The brown rice tuna and avocado sushi, however, was just right.  I should have just gotten more sushi!

Tuna avocado roll

The weeds left a taste in my mouth that wouldn’t go away, so I had a glass of Pinot Grigio to usher it out.

Pinot Grigio

I hadn’t had a dessert plate in a while, so I helped myself to dried fruit, Israeli pop-rocks chocolate, and almond butter.  MMM!

Dessert plate

33 responses to “The Big 6

  1. awesome job doing 6.4 miles!! isn’t it such a rush when you set a personal distance record? it’s such a big accomplishment!

    back of your pants looks like a good place to stash your mid-run fuel. i haven’t brought anything on my long runs yet, though i think i probably should. i just can’t get used to the idea of eating while running, i guess.

  2. breadandwithit

    Wow! You did it! I’m so so happy you didn’t eat your arm.

    Such a cute dog.

  3. Awesome mileage and OHMYGOODNESSCHARLEYCUTNESS.

    😀

  4. Yay yay yay!!!!! Congrats 😀 😀 😀 (is it weird how interested I have gotten in running since reading blogs?!) SO happy for you 😀

    I love that everyone is eating vegan chicken salad this week- I have been trying to get hold of that company…no website and no answer on the phone. Seems sketchy to me!

  5. Holy crap…that dessert plate is mouthgasmic! Sorry bout the rain on your run, I hate it when that happens and all of a sudden distance workout turns into speed workout..and then the side stitch but glad you kinda breathed it out.

    Check my bloggie girl…you won somethin’…

  6. Way to go on the run!

    You’re dog is too cute!

  7. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! Awwww puppy!! Glad he’s showing his support 🙂

    I want to try Kay’s – maybe I should just suck it up and order some?!

    Pinot grigio?! Excellent choice! As is that roll – yum!

  8. Congrats on the run — that YYY album was the only thing I ran to for like 2 years!!!

  9. great run! you were and are a real runner 🙂

  10. yeahhhhhh! 6 miles, well done gf 🙂 you are officially a “real” runner now!!
    oh and if you have any other good running tunes pass em on!

  11. Oh my gosh! Congratulations! You are a REAL RUNNER! Although, when I couldn’t even run 3 miles a little over a year ago, I still called myself a runner. I had high hopes. You go, girl! And those look like some yummy eats. I just love you and your blog!!! Happy Friday!

  12. I love the Upwelling mascot 🙂

    congrats on the run!!!

  13. Hi!
    I noticed that you got those vegetables that are used in Korean Bibimbap dish.

    You are supposed to add the veggies to a bowl of rice with sesame oil and that red pepper paste in the middle. then voila! it’s a BEAUTIFUL and tasty dish!

    the brown veggie needs some time to get used to but trust me it’s VERY tasty esp added in bibimbap!!!! Hope you give it another chance because bibimbap is definitely a very nutritional and balanced powerful dish!

  14. Can I just say that my trio of precious pups will be rockin’ the upwelling shirts soon! love it!

  15. Oh my I am so hungry now! Good for you with the run! I wish I can do it! I can barely do 2 miles ugh!

  16. Congrats on the mileage! Having a whole foods salad bar close to me would be dangerous. Very dangerous.

  17. YAY! Congrats, darling! I love the before and after pics. very cute!

    also…now I know what “chez maman et papa” means!!!! (not that I wouldn’t have assumed, but still…it’s fun to KNOW)

  18. homegirlcaneat

    YAY MAMI!!!!!! You are such a runner and amazing! Honestly, NOTHING BETTA than conquering a fabby distance run and then feeling like a bo$$$$$$$!

    I MISS brown rice sushi 😦

    I LOVE YO DESSERT PLATE 🙂

    AND…. I think I am going to go walk to the nearest liquor store and buy a bottle of white wine to chill in my mini fridge because I can.

    XOOOO

  19. I’m obsessed with that kind of dessert plate lately! I have SUCH a sweet tooth and usually want ice cream and cakes and stuff, but lately all I want is dried fruit and chocolate. Must be a good sign, right? My faves right now are 3 prunes + 2 giant figgies + fattie square of 70% dark chocolate. NOM-squared.

    Congrats on your run! Well done, madam. 🙂

  20. Congratulations!! 🙂

    I saw someone at the gym with her MP3 player stored in her sports bra. Looks uncomfortable to me, but hey… whatever floats her boat.

    ❤ ❤

  21. Congrats on the good run! I have been craving sushi so much lately. Maybe I will go get some tonight : )

  22. Awesome job on the run! Your dessert plate looks super yummu:)

  23. awesome run! congrats! SUCH a great feeling, yes?

    and way to not eat your arm! oatmeal is so much better 🙂

    ah, your dessert plate is making me hungry right now!

  24. Congrats on the long run!! Love your T-shirt selection:)

  25. Great job on the 6 miles. Protein chips looks yummy, I’ll have to look for these when I go grocery shopping in a week.

  26. I honestly LOVE your blog! Awesome that you did 6 miles 🙂 Keep up the great eats!

    Maggie

  27. Great job on the run! 😀

    I love brown rice sushi! Looks yummy!

  28. wholesomefoodie

    Congrats on the awesome run!!! I love your dog.

  29. CONGRATS KATIE!!! that is amazing! i never ever thought i would be a runner, but bit by bit, you just do it. i am soooo happy for you!

    ummm tuna avocado rolls are my fave. whole foods bar looks amaze. cuttttteeee dog. yummy oatmeal. you celebrated that run in style – happy sunday dear!

  30. Pingback: Just what IS a stitch, anyway? « Lilveggiepatch

  31. Congrats on getting through that run Katie!! You are a warrior girl, so excited for you. I think you went in with the right mentality; it’s importance to just get the distance down if you’re training for something! No one said you have to be the fastest one there! It sounds like you did great though 🙂

    And yummmm, that whole food’s salad bar and post-run b-fast sounds amazing right now! And yay! The classic dessert plate is backk! Love it.

  32. Pingback: Long Runs & Last Days « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

