A Sweeet New Year

Good [very] early morning! I hope you’ve all had splendid weekends and are now ready for FALL! I love summer, but I think the early months of fall are just about my favorite things.  I love apple cider (and their sneaky counterpart, the apple cider donut), apple picking, light sweaters, spending my birthday with family and friends, putting on a silly costume for Halloween, baking for Thanksgiving… time has sure been flying, let me tell you!

I spent the  weekend with Ari’s family celebrating Rosh Hashana, or the Jewish New Year.  (Click here to read more.)

Martha Cookie Prep

To celebrate, Ilana and I made some killer cookies from Martha Stewart’s Cookies cookbook.

Martha cookie batter

We made chocolate and vanilla cookies as well as vanilla and raspberry cream fillings; we mixed and matched.

Martha Cookies

I must be a traditionalist, but I liked the “Oreos” best.

Martha Cookie tower

In addition to cookies, we also ate lots of pickles

Pickles

Challah bread and gefilte fish with horseradish…

Gefilte & Challah

Potato kugel

Potato Kugel

Vegetarian matzoh ball soup made especially for me and Christine… I love this, but haven’t been able to eat in years because it’s usually made with chicken stock.

Vegetarian Matzoh Ball Soup

We had two very nice dinners…

New Year Dinner 1

New Year Day 2

And we ate our fill of sweet treats, of course.

Rosh Hoshana desserts

But most important, of course, are the friends and family I shared these meals with.

Abe

Haia's table

The holiday came to a close for this morning when I whipped out of town on the Vamoose.  At least I got to share one last breakfast with everyone 🙂

Breakfast

The rest of the day was spent in a haze of unpacking, catching up on work, eating bits and pieces, and going for a 4.5 mile run.

My mom made the trek to see me for dinner.  We had a special dinner at Locale, where Ari and I had eaten at once before… that time, however, we were on our way to his parents’ house!

We each had 1.5 glasses of Mouton Cadet, a French wine my mom remembers drinking with her friends.

Mouton Cadet

I nibbled on an olive

Locale Olives

We shared an order of fried calamari; I only had a few pieces because I was saving room…

Fried Calamari

…for fresh linguine with mussels, clams, squid, and shrimp in a white wine sauce.

Linguine pescatora

This was so good, it was hard to keep myself from eating the whole thing! I boxed up half, and took my mom’s leftovers as well.  I see a lot of pasta in my future!

On the way home, I stopped at the grocery store to pick up some spicy necessities (say it with me: Hefty tall kitchen bags! Hefty tall kitchen bags!) and found quite the bargain:

Goya 6-pack coconut

Enough coconut water to last me a week, at least! And this only cost $3.99.  I love the interesting flavors of O.N.E. beverages, but where I am in my budge, they’re just too expensive for me to consume regularly.  I’ll let you know how these taste, but these may make both my tummy and my purse very happy!

I also finally purchased some Purely Decadent Vanilla ice cream

Purely Decadent

I jazzed it up with some melted pop rock chocolate and walnuts.

Purely Decadent chocolate walnut

This was so rich and creamy.  I’ve heard mixed reviews, but I loved it.  As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been in love with everything coconut recently, and this really hit the spot.

It was a wonderful weekend, from spending time with Family Upwelling to dining with Mom, to watching Waltz With Bashir all by my lonesome. If you haven’t yet seen this film, I highly recommend it… it’s a very brutal movie about the 1982 Lebanon War, but it’s beautifully animated and the story is incredible. Check it out, but with caution.  I’ve been reminded again and again and again how lucky I am to be surrounded by loving family and friends, live with a roof over my head, and the food of my choosing on my plate. Life is sweet.

16 responses to “A Sweeet New Year

  1. Happy New Year 😉

    ❤ ❤

  2. All that food YUM!!!!!

  3. those cookies look amazing!

  4. Oh my goodness! If you have any leftover challah or kugel, I’ll GLADLY take it off your hands 😉

    I’m glad to hear you had a lovely weekend!!

  5. You are so cute! My boyfriend is Jewish and so is my step-dad. Aren’t Jewish holidays the best? Looks like you guys had a super fun time! I want one of those cookies!!!

  6. Girl your post just went on and on with the fabulous food…holy moley. Happy New Year and your sweet table looks fabulous, always the center of a happy jewish family now isn’t it 🙂 And the kugel, oy yummmmm! And you know those chocolate cookies I made on my blog yesterday, I oreo’ized em and filled em with cool whip for my nonvegan jewish hubs 🙂

  7. those cookies look fab! I love the mix’n match style!

    the coconut milk ice cream is ridiculous, no? I esp love the chocolate kind.

    happy new year! I so needed this sweet optimism this morning 🙂 have a great monday!!

  8. I always love reading about the meals you share with your family! My family doesn’t live close anymore so I don’t get to do that as often. And you’re right…life is sweet 🙂

  9. Ah, how have I never read your blog before? I LOVE! L’shana tova!

  10. I LOVE matzoh ball soup! I may or may not eat it even when it’s made out of chicken broth…whoops. I can’t resist!

  11. southerngracesblog

    Your party food looks SO yummy! I am loving every single photo 🙂 And your meal with your mom looks equally as delicious…I love mussels 🙂 oh and fried calamari is my favorite appetizer! Happy Monday, my lovie!!

  12. Oh man, you’re making me reminisce on the loveliness of challah bread–have an extra slice for me!

  13. All those desserts look so good. coconuts are yummy, I almost bought one but went with my coconut water instead.

  14. katie…i love this post! waltz with bashir is AMAZING!

    such good times with friends and family – your cookies look amazing. and all that food looks so good. holla for challah! (that’s my new favorite line, btw).

    love me some coconut too – have a fabulous tuesday dear 🙂

  15. Pingback: Even A Sick Girl’s Gotta Eat! « Lilveggiepatch

  16. Ahhhhh. Looks/sounds so glorious. Life really is sweet, right? Love it so much honey!
    Have you heard of the Matzah Ball? My friend was thinking of going. Clever name, right?

Leave a Reply

