Even A Sick Girl’s Gotta Eat!

Good morning! How are you this fine Tuesday? I’m doing very well, thank you, although yesterday I wasn’t quite able to say the same.  A few hours after I typed up yesterday’s post, I was struck down food poisoning! At least that’s what I think it is… all I know is that yesterday afternoon I was not a happy camper.

I still felt fine during breakfast, and had a smoothie-in-a-bowl: nonfat yogurt, 1 banana, frozen berries, and 1 scoop of peanut butter with a sprinkle of GoLean. I haven’t had a homemade smoothie in a while, and this was very refreshing.

Smoothie in a bowl

As I was getting breakfast ready, I noticed a minor crisis: I am finally nearing the end of my Folger’s stash.

Folgers Tub

Ari and I are the only coffee-drinkers in our household, and since he’s been gone the majority of the last two months, I’ve pretty much consumed this entire tub myself! Oops.  I’m going to try and pick up some new grounds today.  What is your favorite kind of brew-at-home coffee? I’d love your suggestions!

Almost Gone!

After adequately caffenating myself, I promptly went back to sleep.  When I woke up, I had an apple and got back to work.  Someone once told me that apples and lemons can act as stimulants, so if you don’t want to overdose on coffee, you can snack on these instead.  Has anyone else heard this?

Sliced Apple

Since I’d gotten up at 6:45 to read, I was more than ready for lunch by the time 11:00 rolled around.  I did my best to wait until 11:30, then tore into my leftover seafood linguine.  I don’t usually like to eat such heavy meals for lunch, but I didn’t want the seafood to go bad.

Leftover Linguine Pescatora

This put me right to sleep.  Two naps in one day?! I should have known something was off… when I woke up, I had a bowl of nonfat yogurt, mixed berries, and bee pollen. If I didn’t have to worry about expense, I’d probably go through a quart of yogurt a day!

Yogurt, Berries & Bee Pollen

The trouble started a little later.  I was doubled over in pain, incredibly nauseous, and… I’ll spare you the details, but I spent the rest of the day in the same spot in bed, too sick to sleep.  Luckily I was able to find someone to cover for me at the restaurant, because there was no way I was up to serving people food.  I don’t think the Department of Health would have wanted me to, either! I don’t know if it was the seafood (which I’d ordered on Sunday without thinking) or the bee pollen (I’ve suspected that it might be upsetting my stomach), but I think it had to have been something I ate that made me sick.

I somehow stumbled out of bed and around the corner to the drugstore to pick up a thermometer.  No fever: 95.4, then 96.2 (I always have a really low temperature).  In place of my usual go-to sick beverage, I sipped on a bottle of POMx Pomegranate Lychee Green Tea.

POMx Lychee

I also ate about half a box of Saltines; there’s nothing quite like enriched flour and high fructose corn syrup when you’re not feeling well.

Sicko's Saltines

I lazed around like a lump for the rest of the night, watching Gigantic and Gossip Girl.  Forcing myself out of bed, I heated up half a can of Health Valley Corn & Vegetable soup (with Bragg’s and hot sauce).

Health Valley Corn & Vegetable Soup

I also had an Ezekiel English muffin (re-stocked my stash and the world makes sense again) with almond butter, black currant jam & honey.

AB&J on Ezekiel with cup of soup

For dessert, I had a Skinny Cow caramel-flavored Skinny Dipper.  I really do not like these anymore; they taste too artificial and I think I overdid it in college. However, there are a few left in the freezer and I don’t want to be wasteful just throw them out.

Skinny Cow Caramel Dipper

Looking back, the only clue that I wasn’t feeling my best was the lack of vegetables in my diet.  No matter how sick I am, I almost never lose my appetite!

I’m feeling 100% better this morning.  My boss at my internship asked me to come in tomorrow instead of today, so I’ll have a chance to rest up completely.  Later tonight, I’m going in to a fun event with Caitlin that I know you would all love!

Around the blogs: Missy is giving away some Zevia!

Have a great day 🙂

26 responses to “Even A Sick Girl’s Gotta Eat!

  1. Definitely the 8’oclock brand coffee. YUM.

  2. Oh gosh, glad that you are feeling better!

  3. oh no! I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  4. Ah food poising is the worst! Glad you are feelin better today though! Thanks for the shout out!

  5. Oh no, not you too!! Seems like everyone is sick these days… glad you’re feeling better, though.

    It is so weird that you mentioned this — I just heard last night that apples do a better job of keeping you awake than coffee!

    ❤ ❤

  6. The PB & J nosh…quite mouthwatering for me even though I can’t eat gluten I still can dream 🙂

    Fave coffee girl for sure for me for the price and value is TJ’s Sumatra. A sizeable can is either 4.99 or 5.99, it’s whole bean and you grind it there, so it’s uber fresh, and it’s a nice rich hearty coffee without being too bitter like a french roast can be but it’s almost as dark. Oz of oz it’s half the price of Starbucks Sumatra and I prefer TJ’s. It’s not fair trade or organic, but neither is Starbucks or Folgers. You gotta pick your battles and coffee isn’t always one of mine 🙂

    Sorry you have food processor envy from my post but you’ll get there girl. Take one of those bed bath & beyond 20% off coupons and you can score yourself something that way or ebay maybe, sorry I’m better with the coffee tip 🙂

  7. My fave coffee is Dunkin Donuts cinnamon spice YUM! That or some Archer Farms columbian…not too picky 😉

    Borned and raised in Indiana! Go Colts!

  8. that bee pollen and yog/berries looks SO GOOD. so does the rest of course, but i am intrigued by the pollen.

    and of course, the apple looks delish 🙂 heh

    have a great day

  9. Food poisoning is the blogger’s worst nightmare!! Booo 😦

    At home brew: Folgers, Five O’ Clock, Bigby, Tim Horton’s, or Starbucks – I’m easily pleased!

    I have a really low temperature too and when I get fevers, they’re HIGH!! Last time I had a fever it was 102! Does that happen to you too?

    FEEL BETTER, LOVEY!!

  10. FEEL BETTER!!!! xoxo

  11. ohh, poor girl! i’m sorry you were sick, but glad to hear you are feeling better.

    i’ve heard that apples will wake you up, especially green apples. and having the juice of a lemon plus some water in the morning is another i’ve heard….

    i brought a giant tub of maxwell house with me to russia. personally, i prefer dunkin donuts’s coffee if you are buying it from the store. a bit more than folger’s perhaps, but i think it’s worth it 🙂

  12. ooooh! brew-at-home coffee is my favorite topic!
    Unfortunately for you, all the beans I love so much come from Iowa and Colorado. –Kitchen Hearth Flavored Coffee from Pella, IA and Unseen Bean beans from Boulder.

    But getting them from the little places is so satisfying. I also have a grinder and grind the beans fresh, which is extra fun

  13. Loverdo ❤

    HI POOKS! I read every day, I just rarely comment bc I suck- [Violin solo over.]

    Anyways! Do you have Saxby's near you? It's a coffee chain! Their Ethiopian blend is THE BEHEEEEESSSTTTT. Oh. Ma. Gah. I either get THAT, or I do Whole Foods Allegro Coffee: Half Mexican and Half Espresso. Un-effing-rull. Tastes like hot chocolate.

    <333

  14. Just need to say it- I. Hate. Starbucks. It. Is. Trash.

    Thanks ferplayin.

  15. I don’t lose my appetite when I’m sick, either! If anything I eat because there’s nothing else to do… bad.

  16. Eek, food poisoning is no fun! I bet the culprit is definitely the seafood linguine because just one rotten clam can make you really sick.

    I usually puchase my coffee grinds from Sensuous Bean on 70th and Columbus, they have like a million great varieties!

    I always eat an apple in the morning for the exact reason you described, they really do wake you up! I think there was an article about it in the New York Times.

  17. Yikes. Hope you are feeling better? I am always wary of seafood- I had food poisoning a few years ago from shrimp and it was awful (and so easily done with seafood- goes from “fresh” to “foul” VERY quickly) 😦

    Coffee…all about Starbucks Pike Place 😀

    I never knew that about apples!

  18. I’m so sorry you’re sick! I hope you’re feeling better! I have heard that about apples, that they will wake you up just as much as a cup of coffee. I bet it’s because of the sugar. Plus, eating it gives you something to do to keep you awake if you’re tired. I just ate one. I’ll let you know in a few minutes if I feel “stimulated”! Haha.

  19. feel better! hope you can do some bedside blogging and take it easy

  20. Food poisoning sucks, I’ve been there before. Glad your feeling better.

  21. Smoothies are THE refreshing food. I bet you never would have guessed that I had that opinion, would you?
    Love Health Valley soups!

  22. haha the Folgers tub is all too familiar! I lived off that stuff a couple months ago!!

    im so so sorry you were sick Mama!! I hope you feel 100% soon!

    I’ll take those Skinny Cows off your hands too- I’ve never tried them!!!

  23. I love Newman’s Own coffee! I live on saltines when I am sick–and sometimes crave them when I’m not? And i’m the same way–if I lose my appetite while sick–I am REALLY sick. Glad you’re feeling better girl

    Sarah

  24. OH NO! I bet it was the seafood. Can’t trust it during some months, right? So glad you feel better my love! Do you watch Flipping Out? Jeff had some stomach flu on there and he was the biggest divo. Of course, I loved it 🙂
    What’s this hint abt being unemployed? You’ve got my curious!

  25. sorry you were sick. food poisoning is THE worst. blah. glad you had POM and saltines to giude you through…

    bettah replace that java STAT. empty containers are so sad! im a starbucks girl all the way. pikes place. period. there is no other.

    where was jenny in this GG ep? im really not so into this season…chuck is the only character i give a sh!t about…

  26. Ha, I love that you took a nap AFTER downing some coffee!! Since I usually drink it once or twice a week, i’m always soooo wired and hyper afterwards! 🙂

    But ah, my poor girl! I’m so sorry that you felt sick!! I’m putting money on that day-old fish being the cause….maybe?? Whatever it was, soup, fruit and peanut butter sandwiches always do the trick when i’m not feeling well!! Perfect, healthy, delicious, wholesome COMFORT FOOD!!

    Let’s talk GG! Are you into it this season or what?? xooo

Leave a Reply

