Long Runs & Last Days

Good morning and a happy Friday!  I am so excited for the weekend.  For one of the first times in a long time, I feel like a weight has been lifted from my shoulders and everything really will be okay.  Thank you so, so much for your kind comments on yesterday’s post.  Leaving my job was a really hard decision for many reasons, but I smiled every time my phone buzzed with an e-mail yesterday.  It’s incredible to know how supportive our community is!

Yesterday I’d planned to do another- my second- 6.4 mile run.  I fueled up with a piece of peanut butter-topped butternut squash banana bread.

Pre-Run Butternut Squash Banana Bread

I was still really stiff from the 30/60/90 class, so I warmed up with Yoga For Runners.  With loose mussels, I laced up and stuffed the Hammer Gel my dad gave to me into the tiny pocket of my running shorts for mid-run fuel.

Hammer Gel- Apple Cinnamon

Do you bring energy snacks for long workouts?

Hammer Gel- Apple Cinnamon- Nutrition

I ran to the same soundtrack I used on my first 6.4 miler… I’m a little superstitious about things like that. I didn’t have a problem with stitches until I was about 30 minutes into the run, but it wasn’t so bothersome.  It got really bad during the last 1/2 mile, but since I could literally see my house I pushed myself through it.  Erin gave me some great suggestions about belly-breathing, but I don’t seem to be able to puff out my stomach while inhaling! When I try, I sort of default into a double-inhale-gasp thing.  Overall, the run was a success.  I had to stop more than usual for traffic (which is a good thing, since I forgot to wear my RoadID), but now that I’ve done it twice I know that the first time wasn’t just a fluke!  It’s very exciting for me 😀

Total distance: 6.4 miles

Total time: 1:09:53

Maximum heart rate: 184 (92%)

Average heart rate: 171 (86%)

Calories burned: 773

I soaked some steel-cut oats in the fridge on Wednesday night, so when I came back from the run I dove into them.

Overnight Oats

Steel-cut oats expand a LOT; I had 1/2 cup of soaked oats with Greek yogurt, a banana, and cinnamon.

When stirred, they turn in to a sweet, tangy and delicious mess.

Stirred Overnight Oats

Paula made a return around lunchtime, when I enjoyed a bowl of leftover lentil soup.

Vegan Lentil Soup

I also gobbled up the last of my mom’s brown sugar Brussels sprouts.  I LOVE Fall produce!

Brown Sugar Brussels Sprouts

I packed up the last of my chunks of energy to snack on during my last wait shift ever (I hope).

Chunks of Energy

I left a little early so that I could make two important stops.

Stop #1: Sephora!  Ladies (and gentlemen), if you are not yet apart of the Beauty Insider Club, what are you waiting for?!  I am not in any way affiliated with Sephora, but this perks club is the best. You get great online discounts, free goodies every time you earn a certain number of points, and birthday presents!

Sephora Beauty Insider Birthday Gift

My birthday is still a week away, but they let me pick up it up early.  Pretty sweet, hmm? I also took advantage of being in the store to play around with the makeup a little bit… killing time at Sephora is one of my favorite things to do.  I can experiment in really silly ways without having to commit to actually buying a product (although I do that too, from time to time).  ALSO, if you want to try out any of their skincare items, just ask! They’ll make you a nice little to-go sample.

Stop #2: Liquiteria for some Grasshopper Juice (pineapple, pear, apple, wheatgrass & mint).  This is definitely not cheap, but it was my gift to myself for my last day of work.  And lordy lord, is it tasty!

Liquiteria Grasshopper Juice

Before I went into work I decided that I was going to make this day one of my best.  I was going to have fun, enjoy the company of my co-workers, and not let any restaurant stress get in the way.  Behold the power of positive thinking…. It worked!  I left on a very good note.

My dad came in for dinner, and after Judy joined him I got off early and we all went out to ice cream.  I think I’ve successfully hooked them all on Stögo! From left to right:

Judy’s: Coconut Vanilla Bean/ Coconut Strawberry; Dad’s: Banana’s Foster/ Chocolate Hazelnut; Mine: Bananas Foster.

Stögo Lineup

Now that I know how to make ice cream, Bananas Foster should be a cinch! This is made with banana “ice cream”, cinnamon, rum and caramel.

Stögo's Bananas Foster

On the ride home, I dug into dinner (for some reason whenever I go to Stögo, I eat dessert first!).  For my last meal, Ramón had hidden some of the scallops from our dinner special under my salad.  He is so sweet.

Scallop Dinner Salad

I came home to an adorable goodie kit from April at Sweet Leaf Tea.  I can’t wait to try out their different flavors! And I’m sure Ari can’t wait to try out those guitar pics 😉

Sweet Leaf Goodies

I slept hard last night, and now I’m off to the gym.  What are your weekend plans? I’m looking forward to catching up with a lot of my best friends!

Have a great Friday 🙂

Edited to add: Congratulations to my friends Shannon and Fredo, who welcomed baby Lucia into the world yesterday afternoon!!!

18 responses to “Long Runs & Last Days

  1. That grasshopper juice looks awesome! i love fruit-veggie juice mixes. congrats on another fab long run, too.

  2. Psyched for you Miss Katie! Your “big sis” always has your back!

  3. Stogo & Liquiteria? Some NYC girls have all the freakin’ luck 🙂 I’m envious! Ok those brown shug B.S.’s you’ve got look soooo good. I eat B.S. like 5x a week and so that’s some fall inspiration, for sure! Enjoy catching up with friends this weekend. I’m spending a mommy-alone Sat a.m. and I cannot wait!!!!! No plans other than to do nothing LOL 🙂

  4. I love overnight oats…I’ll have to try them with steel cut oats next time! That grasshopper juice sounds super refreshing too.

    Glad you had a good last night at your job!

  5. I didn’t know irish oats worked for overnight oats!! I need to try them that way… I can only imagine how much they expand because, even on the stove, I always end up with more oat than I bargained for… Not that I ever complain 🙂

    Have a great weeekend!

  6. The bread, brussels, ice cream, Liquiteria juice…. holy yum! 🙂

  7. I want that bread! So steel cut work just soaked without cooking? Good to know! I usually pop a couple of glucose tablets in my long dance classes (my breakdance ones were intense, and usually 90 mins – 2hrs).

    Glad your last shit went well… Can’t wait to see what the next adventure is 😀

  8. I haven’t yet gotten to the point in my mileage where I feel the need to refuel–I think once I get past 10 miles I’ll consider it which willmprobably be this weekend!

  9. Turn up the volume and have fun.

  10. homegirlcaneat

    I don’t know why, but reading your post right now about running over 6 miles totally just motivated me to get back into long-distance running! I got a package from a lovely blog friend a week ago with clif shot blocks and I was like hmmm I should start running to use these. Now I am like SHOOO where are my shoes?? I need to run a half! 😀 So, thank you friend. 🙂

    That ice cream looks WONDERFUL. Especially since I now like bananas. I hated them until 3 months ago. I was craycray

  11. Yum, I LOVE Stogo!!! You’re a fall baby too? We should celebrate our birthdays with Grom:)

  12. I’m sorry the breathing thing didn’t work out! Hmm. I can tell you they do go away with time. I don’t really get them anymore, your body just needs to get used to the increase in mileage!
    This weekend, The Boyfriend and I are going to a birthday party, and then I’m planning on relaxing the rest of the weekend! Oh, and I’ll be running. No surprise there.
    Hope you have a lovely weekend!!!

  13. YAY for that run!! Well done, pretty lady 🙂

    I was a Nickelodeon kid growing up and they always had these “Today is —— day.” Well, I remember they would have backwards day and tell us to eat our desserts first! Stogo looks like a worthy dessert before dinner!

    Congrats to your friends!!

  14. wow your eats all look so good! and I have been dying to try 30 60 90 forever! great job running the day after!

  15. I love Paula! and I love Sephora!

    I’ve been behind on my blog reading… congrats on leaving your job! I served and bartended for longer than I care to remember; it is difficult and draining work! way to be brave and go with your heart 🙂 you’ll do so well!

    my weekend plans include pouting because the hub has to work tomorrow and a dj battle tomorrow night. hava good one!!

  16. I have not done any workouts long enough lately to justify bringing a snack to. however, i used to bring calorie drinks. EAS shakes.

  17. I ate some butternut squash baked goods today too–squash makes everything taste better, no?

  18. everything on this post looks SO good!
    i have the same sephora lip gloss set 🙂

Leave a Reply

