Little Miss Sunshine

Good morning and happy Monday! Or should I say Moanday? I flirted enough with the snooze button to make Ari jealous this morning; the actual alarm was ringing for over half an hour.  Luckily no one else was home or I would have felt really bad.  I always try to pick the most annoying ringers so that I’ll jump right out of bed… sometimes that doesn’t work so well!

Yesterday I woke up in a funk.  It was pouring down rain outside, and everything just felt a little off.  I tried my best to push it away by having a fabulous breakfast, which I focused on this honey that we picked up at the gift shop in the Sanssouci Palace in Germany.

German Almond Honey 1

It has layers of honey, each at a different level of crystallization.

German Almond Honey 3

The top layer is filled with almonds!

German Almond Honey 2

I found a lucky box of unopened Kashi waffles in the freezer, so I jazzed two up to the best of my abilities.  The first was topped with yogurt, fresh figs, and the honey/almond mixture:

Kashi Waffle w/ German Honey, Figs & Yogurt

The second waffle was topped with yogurt, fresh figs, walnuts and blueberry honey.

Kashi Waffle w/ yogurt, figs, honey & walnuts

This “feel good breakfast” was working its hardest!

Feel good breakfast

I snacked on an apple while trying to rally myself to face the cold rain… look how foggy it is! That white space is supposed to be water.

Foggy Apple

After trekking back across the boroughs and dodging raindrops, I was ready for lunch.  I’m still working on a pretty big container of leftover lentil soup, and we really don’t have any free freezer space for me to store it in.  So… soup it was!

Veganomicon Lentil Soup

I was craving bread, but discovered that it had gone over the hill, as we say.  Instead, I had a Maple Nut Clif Bar.Maple Nut Clif Bar

It was about 4 at this point, and I realized that my foul mood wasn’t going to go away without a little outside help.  After I waited as long as I could for my food to digest, I laced up my shoes and fired out the door for a run.  I would have had to wait at a light if I went down my usual route; instead, I veered left without thinking and ran down a pedestrian-populated street.  When I reached a dead-end, I turned back and tacked on my regular 2-mile route.  I was going a lot faster than usual… sometimes when I’m not feeling great I end up getting frustrated and walking, but yesterday was the opposite.  When I got home, I saw that I’d run 3.36 miles in 29:40… an average pace of 8:49/mile.  Thank you, mean reds!

I quickly did an 8-minute ab session, showered, and tagged along with Ilana for Yom Kippur services.  When I got home, I heated up leftover stir-fry and asparagus, which might have been better the second day!

Leftover Asparagus & Shrimp Stir Fry

This was an enormous portion, but I was a hungry girl and I ate every last scrap.  I enjoyed a bowl of coconut milk ice cream, mixed frozen berries and homemade almond milk…

Coconut Milk Ice Cream w/ Berries & Almond Milk

… while I caught up on e-mails and watched Sunshine Cleaning. I remembered this getting mixed reviews, but I loved it.  It’s pretty dark, but Amy Adams, Alan Arkin & Emily Blunt are so good together.

sunshine-cleaning

Well, I’m off to the mailbox to return the movie so I’ll get a new one by Wednesday.  I’m a little nuts about my Netflix, but I like to maximize the number of films I get per month!

Have a great day 🙂

16 responses to “Little Miss Sunshine

  1. ooohhh i want to see that movie so bad! i LOVE both those ladies – even emily even after she stole my husband from me (ahem, jim from the office).

    those morning pancakes are simply gorgeous!

    its been rainy here, although i have been enjoying because it has forced me to clean and get stuff done around the house. lots of love to you miss katie – and yes, let’s do some form of the grandmas next year in duluth!

  2. That honey looks incredible!!

    Can’t wait for movie viewings 🙂

  3. Ok, that honey? GORGEOUS!!! I keep meaning to watch that movie too… my mom LOVED it!

  4. Honey, with almonds on top? I am a vegan but dont obsess about honey. If it’s in something, I’m cool with that. I would I ever be cool with diggin into that lil jar of yours! And nice comfort brekkie. We all need that girl, always. Pineapple on the lentil soup…aren’t you just the creative one. Thanks for inspiring me to cook savory dishes with pineapple. I’ve been on a pineapple kick lately….Happy Monday 🙂

  5. That honey looks incredible 😀 Foggy dreary days = story of my Edinburgh life. Please bring sunshine back by next Sunday!

  6. That is some gourmet honey! Yum!! Way to go with your run!

    That’s another movie I still have to see. It sounds like it’s really good!

  7. oh my goodness, that honey looks amazing! almonds in honey? yum.

    I was wondering about that movie. I love Emily Blunt…well, DID until she got engaged to Jim from The Office 🙂

  8. Sorry you were in a funk. I hope all your delicious eats and run made you feel better!

    I am funny about Netflix too…gotta get my moneys worth!

  9. breadandwithit

    Can that honey possibly be as good as it looks?

  10. I actually loved Sunshine Cleaning a lot, but I enjoy dark movies. And I’m obsessed with my Netflix queue. Glad to know I’m not the only one.

    I’ve actually never eaten a fig in my life outside of a Newton. The last two posts of yours have had me wanting to try them.

  11. I WANT PATTY!!! I WANT PATTY (said like a chant) BRING BACK PATTY!!!

  12. Soup is the perfect food for yesterday’s weather… or maybe not, because it was so sticky and icky!! I sympathize, though… I dodged plenty of raindrops today too.

    ❤ ❤

  13. So apparently I need to try fresh figs–I’ve only have them in Newton form…and the occasion straight up dried.

  14. That looks like the most decadent day of eating EVER! I’m so jealous of your layered honey! I LOVE fancy products like that! So fun to eat, didn’t it just make you feel special? I’m obsessed with stuff like that. Ooh! That reminds me I never ate my PB and honey rice cake sandwich I made for snack today! Ooops! I’m off to go do so! Hope you’re have a great day, and guess what? Tomorrow’s Tuesday! Bye, Bye Monday!

  15. wow that honey almond spread looks amazing!! who could have thought to make honey even better my adding almonds in ther!!

    ahh didnt ya love yom kippur services?? haha I too, attended and had an interesting day sans food 😦 well its over now! yay

    fresh figs are amazing! I love roasting them in the oven, they plump up nice and sweet and juicy!

  16. that is my favorite flavor cliff bar!

Leave a Reply

