I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

This morning I woke up with the line “Couscous is a traditional North African dish…” running through my head.  I guess I’ll be making some of that soon!  I don’t always remember my dreams, but when I do, they’re usually pretty vivid.  What dreams have you had recently?

Yesterday I dug into my stash of Vitamuffins and pulled out a new flavor: Double Chocolate Dream.

Double Chocolate Dream Vitalicious Package

Double Chocolate Dream Vitalicious Nutrition

Look at those bubbling chocolate chips!

Double Chocolate Dream Vitalicious

I crumbled the muffin and topped it with Greek yogurt, 1/2 banana, and a fresh batch of almond milk.  It hit the spot.

Vitamuffin, Banana, Yogurt, Almond Milk

A little later, I snacked on an apple:

Morning Apple

Yesterday was one of those days when I really needed that extra push to get me moving. I had some reading to do but was starting to get a little stir-crazy and needed to get out of the house.  There was a 1:30 yoga class I was thinking of going to, but I made every excuse not to go:  I’d have to take a 30-minute subway ride each way, which takes away from my reading time.  I’d have to pack my lunch, but would it be too cold to eat it outside? And once I was in the city, I might as well stay there for a little and get some work done, but where would I go? Every excuse in the book.  Lucky for me, Sarah and Will were on gChat, and kicked my booty into shape.

yoga motivation

Sometimes a little nudge is all it takes.  I loaded up on 1/2 banana with almond butter before I left:

Banana w/ Almond Butter

The Vinyasa was good; I’m glad I went, but there was a moment when I looked around and all of the other students were getting into a certain pose, and I had no idea how to do it.  I could have just asked the instructor for some help, but I was too frustrated with myself and just sat on my mat instead.  I’ll work on getting my pride in check for next week’s class.

After class, I brought my lunch and ate it in the park (it was not too cold).  My dad had found this amazing sprout salad (which I snatched up as soon as he showed me):

Sprout Salad

This whole box- almost 1 lb of pure sprout- was less than $3!

Crunchy Sprout Salad

I piled sprouts, carrots, corn, beets, tomatoes, dulse and nooch into one side of my container; 3-layer hummus went into the other.

Health Salad

It was a salad of girth!

Salad of Girth!

I also brought a package of Kay’s Naturals Golden Butter Twists Gluten-free/High Protein Pretzels.

Kay's Naturals Protein Pretzels

Kay's Naturals Golden Butter Pretzels

I loved these pretzels! They’re crunchy, perfectly salted, and were perfect dipped in hummus.

Protein Pretzels

After finishing up, I headed over to Everyman Espressso, ordered a skim cappuccino, and worked diligently for three hours.

Everyman Cappuccino

After I read 100 pages, I enjoyed a Godiva Pumpkin Truffle that my mom got me.  These seasonal truffles hold a special place in our family tradition; we get them every year, and after the first bite, you know Fall really has begun.  How do you reward yourself to stay motivated and power through work?

Godiva Pumpkin Truffle

When I got home, I wanted something quick and easy for dinner.  I toasted up an Ezekiel English muffin with asiago cheese, and had a bowl of lentil soup.  (I’m not going to lie, I am so tired of this soup! I’m sure you are, too. Only one serving left, I promise!)

Toasted Cheese & Lentil Soup

Dessert was mighty fine, and complemented Gossip Girl quite nicely: Vanilla Coconut ice cream with frozen berries, cherries and almond milk.

Vanilla Coconut Ice Cream with Frozen Fruit & Almond Milk

Around the blogs: Remember this beautiful little princess? Well, she started her very own blog! Check it OUT.

Katie & Lyle in Giverny!

This photo was taken in Giverny, France in Spring 2008.

Enter Erin‘s puffy necklace giveaway!

I’m off to read.  Bonne journée!

22 responses to “I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends

  1. breadandwithit

    I recognize Giverny! MOMA has all of the Water Lilys together in one room. I haven’t seen them yet, but the New Yorker says they’re amazing. And the NYer knows best.

  2. good for you for getting it together to go to yoga! there are always tons of reasons not to do something… you just gotta make it happen!

  3. I had the exact same thing happen to me in yoga on Friday! It was so frustrating but I just let my lack of confidence in being able to do the pose get the better of me and didn’t even try – I just sat and watched everyone else! Okay. Let’s you and I both make a determined effort to kick that to the curb next time!

  4. HEY! Happy Almost Birthday! How exciting- I bet you are going to have just an incredible weekend. Glad you got up and moving… I always feel better once I just get my booty out of the house. The sprouts salad looks AWESOME. What a good idea.

  5. Thanks for your sweet comment 🙂 I had the weirdest dream that my friend’s baby and my dog had the same voice… very odd

  6. Soup and grilled cheese!! Loves! I had a dream about my elementary school best friend the other night. It was really weird because we don’t talk any more!

  7. Your skim capp looks yum! And so does your nooch salad fest. And love the divided container. I need one of those! Or many of those! I think the star of your post though is that dessert. Rock it out with the AB on top. Yum! 🙂

  8. that little truffle is so cute! I didn’t even know they made pumpkin truffles! maybe that’s a good thing.

    glad you went to yoga 🙂

  9. I used to do yoga in the morning, and before every class, I basically had to have someone get my ass out of bed because every part of me said “No…just lie here for one more moment (or a million)”. But I never regretted going…even though it never got easier getting up to go in the morning haha.

    That truffle=the most adorable little reward

    I think my rewards are fro yo (which I should probably ween myself off from it with all the artificial these and those that they out in it), blogging, and a nice latte 🙂

    This is my first time commenting on your blog; I love reading it; it’s lovely. Keep it up!

  10. Congrats on finding the yoga motivation! I had to push myself to go yesterday too, and I was finally called out on doing my chatarangas wrong, which I’m grateful for but my arms are definitely feeling it today!

  11. I love those sprout packs..and vitamuffins. I was just picking up my office mail across from everyman espresso, i have seen a play in the theater but haven’t had the coffee or espresso!

  12. First up before I forget, you look soooo cute in the France pic! Your style is SO CUTE! I want da red coat!

    I love those pumpkin truffles!!! Those are also soooo cute.

    I miss vitamuffs.

    We should g-chat!

  13. I love your little banana sandwich. You’re so cute! Thanks for the link! Right now I think you have a 33% chance of winning if no one else enters my giveaway! Hahah. Happy Tuesday!

  14. I always feel weird asking for help in dance classes…though most (ahem, all) of my teachers have been crazy pushy people who come ram your limbs into place 😛 Glad you went AND got work done- double bonus points. Pumpkin truffles sound amazing- I saw them in Macy’s foodhall (I treat that place like a museum though- does anyone not a tourist buy stuff there?!)

    Love the sprout action! And love your salad container! I am a tupperware fanatic…hehe. Dorkiness at it’s finest?

    See you soon!

  15. Glad you got to yoga! Pumpkin truffle? I need one now!! I reward myself with chocolate as well haha. Great deal on that salad too!

  16. Your dessert looks great, as does the truffle. I’ll have to try something similar. Also, I looked for vitatops at the store today and I couldn’t find one. I specifically set out to get that. Maybe I was looking in the wrong place at the store?

    I had a dream two nights ago that seriously blew my mind. I was apartment hunting in NYC with my first boyfriend ever. We looked like teenagers, but I was acting like 23 year old KT, while Mark was still the same. We were madly in love and maybe even married? What the heck! I was not amused.

  17. Those pretzels look amazing! I need to try them! And I have definitely had that yoga moment!

  18. lilveggiepatch

    Vitatops have to be frozen, so they’d probably be near the frozen breakfasts of frozen desserts. Hope you find them!

  19. A pumpkin truffle sounds so delicious! When I ate vitamuffins religiously, the double chocolate dream was my favorite flavor:)

    I was just reading through your old posts and I see you were in my hood! Alice’s teacup is awesome, especially their pumpkin chocolate chip scones, and Georgia’s bake shop is amazing. I always get their macaroons and end up eating like twenty haha.

  20. I’m loving the fresh almond milk…it looks so delicious!

    It’s so nice to have such supportive friends 🙂

  21. haha is it wrong that i laughed when you said salad of girth?

    coffee + reading is simply one of life’s simple pleasures. happy night miss katie!

  22. Yum! I have a craving for sprouts now! (How many people have uttered/typed that sentence before?)

Leave a Reply

