Ari is awesome.

I asked Ari what this post should be titled, and this is what he deemed to be appropriate.

Good afternoon!  I hope your day is off to a great start… I woke up thinking it was Saturday!  I slept in this morning, which was glorious.  Not too much on the agenda for today, which is A-OK with me 😉

Yesterday was slated to be a long run day, so I woke up, guzzled some coffee, and fueled up with half a Dulce de Leche Luna Bar.

Pre-Run Luna

I stuffed some gummies into the little pocket of my shorts (which left me a tad sticky)…

Mid-run gummies

I finally made a new playlist… the No Doubt song has been in my head for the better part of this week.

6.4 playlist

The run was fine… again, I just felt sleepy.  I think, for me, running distances is going to end up being more of a psychological challenge.  Obviously the physical aspects are also great, and every time I go out for a run I hope so hard that it won’t be the day that something goes wrong again.   The only thing that went “wrong” today was that my heart rate monitor didn’t register my actual heart rate

Total distance: 6.4 miles

Total time: 1:07:55

I’m not sure if I should be concerned that I haven’t been increasing my speed for these long runs… and it’ll probably be time for me to increase my distance again soon, too.   I just signed up for my first 10K a couple minutes ago- it’s next WEEK- so I’m going to have to start working on this!

My “training schedule” is a little weak, since I only have 8 days, but here’s what it looks like, which I made on the Runner’s World website:

training schedule

When I got back from my run, I made another excellent fall smoothie: Cherry Pumpkin Pie.

Fall Smoothie #2

I made this using frozen cherries, canned pumpkin pie mix, homemade almond milk, cinnamon and nutmeg, and topped it with a little GoLean & granola.  After breakfast and a bunch of puttering around, I packed up my portable lunch.  I wanted to use up all the leftovers, which, combined, made for an… interesting salad:

Leftovers Salad

The bottom layer was covered with sprouts, topped with corn & edamame salad and beets; the small compartment had leftover fish and a few noodles.  Some things, shall we say, do not taste great the morning after.

Leftovers Salad 2

On the subway, I snacked on some TJ’s dried fruit. Balls to the wall, as my lady would say.

Michelle & Dried Passion Fruit

My dad had told me about a DMV that expedites all of their services, so luckily I was in and out (with a new picture!) in 20 minutes.  Must be some kind of record.  It was starting to rain, so I went into Starbucks and bought a Tall Skim Chai so that I could eat my lunch without getting drenched.

Lunch @ Starbucks

After taking a few minutes to read and decompress, I skedaddled along to an informational interview, then picked up a few books.  The first was a beautiful collection of poems by my friend and former professor, Kristin Naca.

Bird Eating Bird

The second was A Race Like No Other, to motivate and inspire.

A Race Like No Other

Then, in the spirit of racing, I rushed home to see my traveling musician, who has spent the last three weeks on his own kind of race, driving back and forth across the country with Blink 182 and the All American Rejects.

We grabbed some friends and went for dinner at a nearby Thai restaurant.  I was still pretty full from lunch, so I only ate a little of my Massaman Curry with shrimp (with unpictured rice) and took the rest home.

Massaman Curry

A little while after we got home, however, I was hungry again, and dug right back into the take-out container 😀  Ari and I went separate ways for dessert; I had a Double Chocolate Dream Vitamuffin with frozen cherries, Greek yogurt, and homemade almond milk.

Vita/Yog/Cherry/Almond Milk

Ari had Saltines with Nutella & peanut butter.

Ari w/ nutella & PB

Nutella is made with skim milk, hazelnuts (healthy fat), and chocolate (antioxidants), so it’s practically a health food!

Saltines w/ Nutella & Peanut Butter

We had a little Domaine Lalande Pinot Noir (a gift from Howard on my last day of work), and watched Grey Gardens, which Caitlin had recommended.

Pinot Noir

It was a great night… I’m so happy he’s back!

I’m off to go cross-train, as my training schedule recommends.  What are your plans for the weekend? Enjoy it!

20 responses to “Ari is awesome.

  1. You had Phoenix in your playlist too! I need to get into their old stuff because all I have is their most recent album(yes, I’m one of those people) So glad you have Ari back home and I love how you rationalized Nutella. I can’t keep it in my apartment because I would want to eat the whole jar. My high school french teacher used to make Nutella crepes which were to die for. Have a good weekend!

  2. Oh love the eats! Hmm I want some thai curry too! I love Nutella! Glad your man is back!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. I definitely think long runs are more of a mental endurance thing, which is why I enjoy running my long runs with other people to get me going. Good luck training for the 6k and I’m happy for you that Ari is back!

  4. GREAT title 🙂 Welcome back Ari! I’m super jealous he got to spend time with AAR. I saw them in one of their very first concerts, had all of them sign a poster, my old/awesome Dick’s purse strap, and got a hug from Taylor. Ah, memories of chasing bands 🙂

    Great job on the run! Don’t worry so much about the speed right now. It’ll come. I felt like I was running at the same speed for SO long and then all of sudden, I started getting a bit faster without even trying!

  5. And Tragic Kingdom was definitely the best of No Doubt. I still love that cd.

  6. Get out of here with that plate of saltines and Nutella/PB loving. Seriously! One of my staple snacks (along with my travel-mates) when I was in Europe was Ritz crackers dipped in Nutella. Salty-sweet perfection. I think that would be an amazing snack when we go to Switzerland 🙂

    Woohoo for the 10k!! You’re going to do great!

  7. aww! Ari IS awesome.

    also, congrats on kicking those 6.4 runs in the butt

  8. breadandwithit

    Love the picture of Ari with the Big Head. Remember The Big Suit/Talking Heads?

  9. The cherry pumpkin pie smoothi sounds awesome! I may have to try that!

  10. You are so cute! I love your posts. I had Nutella Gelato last night, does that count as health food too?
    Thanks again so much for the advice…guess who’s getting something in the mail? Might be muffins…!

  11. Haha I always get second winds when I’m “too full” at dinner. And I have been CRAVING saltines. I think I need to get them.

    Have a great weekend!

  12. what a cool website!! it makes training programs for you! im so going there right now.

    i liked olive kitteridge, i mean it was good, not great. but i just finished sarah’s key and it was GREAT!!! definitely read it.

    happy october 🙂

  13. ps Ari is awesome. true story.

  14. Before I realized that I really shouldnt be drinking milk b/c I am quite dairy intolerant, I used to gorge on Nutella. OMG I love that stuff! Sigh. It’s been years though. Anyway enjoy your weekend my dear!

  15. I love that Luna bar & No Doubt, both.

    I am finishing up the cleaning I started last weekend, super exciting right? I mayyy go to Ikea, but I can’t convince myself to go on a weekend. :-/

  16. Oh Ari! I love your sense of humor and alterna hair.
    Nutella is a great substitute (albeit non vegan) for chocolate on s’mores 🙂

  17. Haha Ari rocks with the post title 😀

    Happy birthday & weekend to ya, dear Katie!! Chat soon xo

  18. I’m so happy for you that Ari is back!

    I’m telling you, anything involving pumpkin and cherries, must be delicious….I want your breakfast!

    I have yet to try Nutella….think I’ll do that real soon 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  19. I never would have thought to put cherries and pumpkin together–sounds fantastic! You’re such a smoothie genius.

  20. Nutella is definitely a health food- I think it should have it’s own space on the food pyramid 😛 Looks like a fun night!

Leave a Reply

