22

Good morning, good morning!  How are you this morning? Is it raining where you are?  It’s a little damp here, but who cares!  Ari and I are going to go pumpkin picking anyway.   Last year on my birthday,  Ari visited me at school in Minnesota and we went to not one, not two, but THREE movies!  We also went to the Mall of America, where I got him to go on a storybook-themed rollercoaster.  I’m going to make this snappy so that we can get a move on!

Yesterday for breakfast I made a piping hot bowl of oats with pumpkin pie mix, frozen cherries, and peanut butter. I don’t think Ari was so impressed with it… I dream of the day when he lets me pimp his oatmeal!

Cherry Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

I was so slow getting out of the house yesterday.  I piddled, I paddled, and before I knew it it was 2 o’clock!  I grabbed some chunks of energy

Chunks of Energy

Packed my lunch…

Lunch to go

This was a sprout salad with beets, tomatoes, carrots, black bean burger, and hummus.

Side view of salad

Kay’s Naturals White Cheddar Cheese crisps to snack on…

Kay's Naturals

Kay's Naturals 2

These were good! They still left me really garlicky, though…

Kay's 3

I didn’t end up eating lunch until 4:30, after my gym session (30 minutes on the bike, arms, legs & lazy abs), and I was worried that I wouldn’t be too hungry for dinner.  However, Ilana organized a really nice dinner with lots of family and love, at Uncle George’s Greek restaurant, and by the time we sat down, I was starved!  We ordered carafes (or “buckets”, as Abe called them) of red and white wine

Uncle George's

Appetizer platters of assorted dips for the table… eggplant and tzatziki seemed to be the favorites, and we scooped them up with grilled pita (unpictured).

Assorted dips appetizer

My dad and I shared grilled octopus

Uncle George's Grilled Octopus

… and I ordered the baked fish special for my entrée.  We were all very excited about the lemon potatoes!

Uncle George's baked fish

It was massive… I probably only ate about 1/3!

Uncle George's baked fish #2

After dinner, a familiar song began… I’m not a huge fan of having my picture taken, if you hadn’t already noticed!

Birthday Cake 1

Birthday Cake 2

Birthday Cake 3

The cake was chocolate mousse, layered with strawberries.  I ate every last bite!

Birthday Cake 4

We were also celebrating an upcoming wedding… it was a great time.

Group

When we got home, I unwrapped a present…

Guess what?

My very own food processor!!! Thank you SO MUCH, guys 😀

Food processor!

I can’t wait to get started with this, but I don’t know what to make first! Nut butter, bread, soup, sauce, faux Larabars… what are your favorite food processor recipes?

Well, I’m off to wake the boy and get our corn maze on.  I may be a little slow with reading and commenting, but I love you all! To make up for it, check out Junghwa’s 18 Rabbits granola bar giveaway.

Have a great day!!!

30 responses to “22

  1. Happy Birthday to another beautiful baby girl!!!

    Love, Marcella and Bob
    (aka Grandma and Sir)

  2. Hehe, love the photo of you NOT wanting your photo taken 😉

    Favorite food processor recipes = pestos! Check out the ones on Gena’s blog (Choosing Raw, of course).

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY again and have fun pumpkin-picking!

  3. Happy Birthday! Yay for your own food processor and have a good one : )

  4. happy birthday!
    have fun experimenting with the food pro, hummus is super easy and delish to make. i make it practically weekly :]

  5. happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    omg, a food processor! how amazing. happy days happy days.

  6. Happy Birthday!!!!! We are almost birthday sisters- mine is tomorrow 🙂
    Enjoy your day and have fun pumpkin picking!!!!! love love love sent your way, dear

  7. happy birthday!!! Yay looks like a fun time. I especially love that pretty cake 🙂

    I love making banana softserve in the food processor. nom nom nom!

  8. haha “pimp his oatmeal”… love it!

  9. Happy Birthday! Your dinner and cake look so delicious!

    Congrats on the food processor 🙂

  10. omg!
    happy birthday!
    your cake is so pretty! 🙂 but you are prettier of course~

  11. happy birthday!!!! that cake looks AMAZING!

  12. happy birthday my dear! so glad you had a fun and delicious celebration 😀
    xoxo

  13. Haaaaaapppppyyyy Birthdaayyyyyyyyy!!! I loved your msg last nite that you had gotten a food processor. It’s a sad but true day when us foodies get a bit more excited over a Cuisinart than we would over Victorias Secrets or something frivolous like that. A food processor is practical! And you will loveee it! And anything I make in my Vita you can now make in that badboy…enjoy!!!!!!

  14. Fabulous dips! Beautiful cake! A food processor! Sounds like a perfect birthday to me:) Hope you enjoyed your day to the fullest, m’dear.
    Fave FP recipes? See my hummus page!

  15. HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEUCE DEUCE!
    I love the picture of you blowing out the candles because dad is kinda cheesin’ on the side!
    My fave food processor uses are nut pates and FAKE ICE CREAM! I use it every day 🙂 So glad you have one!

  16. P.S. I thought those were olives in your oats at first glance!

  17. breadandwithit

    Wow, a lot has happened in the past year! On your 21st, you didn’t yet know you had a fractured femur. this year, you’re training properly and getting ready for a 10K.

    Love the Cuisinart. I’ll think of recipes.

  18. Happy birthday girl!!! We must celebrate soon! A food processor will make your life SO much easier, think of all the nut butters you can concoct;)

    P.S- grilled octopus is one of the greatest foods ever!

  19. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Woohoo for the food processor and that amazing cake! You can make pesto now 🙂

    Hope you guys had fun picking out a pumpkin!!

  20. i just ordered a bunch of kays naturals sample packs I cant wait to try I heard such great things!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY DEAR!! your cake looks incred

    yay for pumpkin picking, LOVE this time of year!

  21. breadandwithit

    And I get to be comment #22! I’m sure we’ll see pictures of the pumpkin–can’t wait.

  22. happy birthday!! I hope it was fabulous 🙂 and wow, a food pro- what a score! make some pumpkin hummus!

  23. Pingback: It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown « Lilveggiepatch

  24. Sorry, I was away this weekend but Happy Belated Birthday Katy! love the food prcocessor

  25. I can’t live without my faux larabars! I’m a college student (= broke) and I make huge batches and put them in the freezer! YUM!

  26. happy birthday! oh Astoria, my home for my first three years out of school, I miss thee. The cake looks awesome.

  27. I know I’m late in the game, but HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY, my beautiful friend!!!

  28. I’m late, but — Happy Birthday!! 🙂 🙂

    I love food processors. I hate washing them. So I rarely use mine! 😉

    ❤ ❤

  29. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MISS KATIE! not only did you score a fabulous food processor, but it looks like you had so much fun with the fam.

    happy day to you!

Leave a Reply

