It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

Hello there! Thank you all so much for the birthday wishes. It’s turned into a birthweekend, which I’m not complaining about one bit! I’m writing in the first hour of down-time I’ve had in the last few days… it’s been a very busy weekend, but every second has been wonderful. Again, I must apologize for my lack of presence in blogland, but things will settle down soon. In the meantime, I’m enjoying spending time with the people I love.

Yesterday I went with Ari’s family to brunch at the diner. We almost all ordered some kind of breakfast sandwich; mine had scrambled eggs with pepperjack cheese and tomatoes on whole wheat toast, with plenty of ketchup and mustard. We also drank gallons of coffee; for all new readers (hi!) I drink 1-2 (and sometimes 3, if I’m feeling feisty) cups of coffee every morning, usually with a little skim milk, but I don’t always post pictures of it.

Breakfast Sandwich

After breakfast, Ari went back to bed (man after my own heart) and I went on a quick 2 mile run. My training schedule wanted me to cross-train, but I wasn’t going to be able to go to the gym and I figured a short run would be a good way to burn some energy and check in with myself. If you’re a runner, are your runs therapeutic for you? Do you think about important things going on in your life or try to just “recharge your batteries” and zone out?

Even though I’d just eaten a couple hours before, I was already starving. Since I’ve started logging around 15 miles per week, I’ve noticed my metabolism has spiked quite a bit! I’m hungry ALL THE TIME. I had a small container of Trader Joe’s Organic Nonfat Plain Greek yogurt with a farm-fresh peach from Pennsylvania.

Greek yogurt w/ peach

While I was showering, Ari found a pick-your-own pumpkin farm in Wheatley Heights, Long Island. We got there in no time, and borrowed a wagon to aid our picking.  (I love this photo… it reminds me of their album art!)

Ari & the wagon

We were sad to discover that you can’t buy individual apple cider donuts…

Cider donut

… but donut or no donut, we had fun all the same.

Wagon Tour

Wagon Fun

We braved the mysterious corn maze

Corn Maze Rules

Maze Tour

Corn

… and made some friends.

Ari's new friend

Petting Zoo

Goat

Pig Friends

I suggested that since Ari still does not seem to want a pug, a pig might be nice instead!

Cutey Pig

Finally, we were ready to head to the pumpkin patch and claim our prize.

Pumpkin Patch

We heeded the rules…

Pumpkin Picking Rules

… and set out to find the perfect pu’nkin.

Pumpkin picking 1

Pumpkin picking 2

Found it! It even has a cute little finger-dent.  (I think this is one of my favorite photos of Ari.)

Pumpkin King

We haven’t figured out a name for it yet, but we have a few weeks until Halloween to think about it.

Pumpkin Prize

We picked up a few culinary souvenirs on the way out… can’t go to a farm in the fall without going home with something apple-flavored!  Last year for Sarah‘s birthday, we all went apple-picking and had a VERY hard time deciding what (and what not) to buy.

We were only an hour away from Southampton, so we decided to go for the rest of the day.  It was 3 PM when we got there and we hadn’t eaten lunch yet, so we headed straight to the Village Cheese Shop.  I got one of my all-time favorite sandwiches, the California: avocado, sprouts, veggie burger (from Schmidts… these are so good! Sometimes I buy a few and bring them home to keep in the freezer) and melted cheddar on 12 grain bread.

Village Cheese Veggie Burger

Then we hopped over to the Sip ‘N Soda to sit at the counter and share a small cup of pumpkin and cookie dough ice cream.

Sip 'N Soda ice cream

We walked over to the local movie theater to see if anything was starting soon, and we were in luck!  We got tickets to see The Invention of Lying, and played Ms. Pac-Man while we waited.  Now, Ari can beat me at pretty much every single game, whether it’s cards, a physical sport, a brain teaser… anything.  But when it comes to Pac-Man, I am the queen.  What can I say?  The boy got his butt whooped! As for the movie itself: I liked the idea of it, but I thought the execution was pretty poor, unfortunately.  It was still a lot of fun… Ari and I haven’t been to the movies together in a long time, and I haven’t been to that theater in years.

We loaded ourselves back in the car and made it home in time to have dinner with Ari’s family before they drove back to their home.  We went out for sushi, which I have been craving all week!  We got several bowls of edamame for the table:

Edamame

I ordered a small house salad… love this carrot miso dressing! Gena posted a recipe for this a while back, and I can’t wait to make it.

Japanese house salad

For my entrée, I ordered sashimi with brown rice…

Sashimi with brown rice

… and scavenged from everyone else, enjoying a variety of rolls, including Ilana’s lovely Queens roll (mango with spicy tuna and roe).

Queens Roll

I was shocked when I heard another “Happy Birthday” chorus begin while the restaurant staff brought out a dish of red bean, green tea, vanilla & chocolate ice cream out.  I blushed quite a bit 😀  I am so lucky.

Birthday ice cream

I had a bite and passed the bowl down… when we got home, we had cupcakes from Billy’s Bakery waiting! My mom brought these over on Friday.  Aren’t they pretty?

Billy's Bakery Cupcakes

I split a pumpkin cupcake (my mom knows my number!) with Ari.  This was deliciously rich and moist, with the fluffiest frosting.

Pumpkin Cupcake

We’re having another dinner with my parents, George & Judy tonight.  I feel so spoiled that I get to see everyone so much! I love it.  I think Erin expressed the essence of birthdays beautifully: Remember that your birthday is celebrating who you are – spending time with people you love so they can reflect that beauty back to you:)

Enjoy the rest of your weekend with the people you love 🙂

21 responses to “It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

  1. Sounds like a super fun weekend! I hope you had a great birthday, doll! Sorry I wasn’t around earlier to wish you a happy day, I’ve been super sick. Blah. I love all of your desserts you had, aren’t birthdays the best time to splurge? Happy Birthday again!!! XO!

  2. what a fun day! isn’t funny how you literally crave sushi? i used to hate it!

  3. SO glad you’ve had a great birthday weekend!!!!!!!! We just got back from picking our own pumpkins too- I love those places. That sammy with the avocado and sprouts looks amazing. Loving the pumpkin ice cream and cupcake too. Great desserts

  4. Ah, I love the village cheese shop!! Glad you had a good time; pumpkin picking looks so fun!

    When I’m injury-free (every few months or so haha), I totally zone out when I run. I guess if something REALLY big is going on, I can’t help but think about it. But usually I just sort of daydream (run-dream?). It kind of pisses me off sometimes because I’ll realize that I zoned out through an entire song I wanted to hear haha.

    Enjoy the rest of your bday weekend–and remember that you can extend celebrations into the week 🙂

  5. That looks like the perfect weekend! I was actually in Southampton yesterday as well! Too bad we didn’t bump into eachother haha.

  6. Is it wrong of me to think of ‘Children of the Corn’ when reading this post?? 😀

  7. Glad you had a great birthweekend! That’s the only way to celebrate really 😉

    That breakfast sandwich you had is basically perfection Mmmm cider donuts, that is one thing I’m SERIOUSLY looking forward to in the coming weeks. Sounds like you guys had a lovely afternoon!! Those cupcakes – yum!

    That Erin is one wise lady! I hope the rest of your celebrations were just as great if not better 🙂

  8. sounds like its been a beautiful birthday weekend! I’m loving all the punkin love! it still feels like summer here but I feel like if I could just taste some pumpkin fall might just happen…

  9. breadandwithit

    I think the great thing about zoning out during a run is that sometimes you run through the hard parts (hills, for example) and don’t even notice–all of a sudden, you’re at the top. Part of what I like about running (not that I do it much) is being In the Outdoors. There are so many things you never bother to notice when you’re riding through the park, the countryside, the neighborhood, etc. that you see when you’re running.

  10. I love this day! I want to have this day!

    I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!

  11. that sandwich looks ridiculously amazing! 🙂

  12. Holey moley another great post. Thoughts: I love your babydoll shirt, I love you in the wagon, I love the children of the corn vibe, I love that you drink 2-3 cups of coffee in the morning. So do I . Then I have 2-3 more come 3-4pm. Yeah, serious addiction problem but I really dont care 🙂 But thank you so much for the honesty, seriously no one talks about their coffee drinking except me I feel like so I always feel a bit shameful posting it LOL so I am glad you did too!!! Now I know why you asked about where to buy coffee….ahh-ha! Gotcha girl, we can talk coffee together….love that!

    The cupcakes also look awesome and so does the egg sandwich even though I cant eat it, I can still appreciate the num factor.
    Happy Bday again and hope you had a wonderful weekend 🙂
    xoxoxo

  13. ya! you drink coffee like me everymorning ! at least 2 cups .. sometimes three. its how to do 😉

    So glad you had an awesome bday WEEK! so fun! xo

  14. Sorry for being a horrible friend and not wishing you a happy bday!!!! I love you!! Hope the festivities are still going fab 🙂

    But ah! A pumpkin patch!! You and Ari are way too adorable.

    That sushi dinner looked like so much fun! I looove the green tea ice cream at japanese restaurants! It’s my faveee 😀

    love you, again! sorry for not wishing you a happy b-day! so happy to see you spending so much time with yo’ fam & boy!

  15. Pumpkin is everywhere! Pumpkin cupcake looks delicious…I’ve been wanting pumpkin like whoah thanks to blogworld but it wasn’t at the grocery store…blasphemy! Happy birthday again!

  16. Belated birthday greetings!!!! Sounds like an amazing weekend- so glad you got to spend time with your friends/family doing such cool stuff 😀 Yay for being old (er) 😛 Hehe. Love all the pumpkin goodness! Ah, fall…

    I emailed my number- double-belated birthday celebrations at Babycakes this week?

  17. oh, I can’t wait to go to the Pumpkin patch this year, finally it the one mear me opened for picking. Are you going to carve your pumpkin??

  18. have so much fun with george and judy! i love that quote by erin…it is so true, and it looks like you have a fabulous network of people around you.

    ummmm could you be more adorable? i want your wardrobe. love that cream sweater you wore to dinner the other night and the dress you wore at the pumpkin patch.

    enjoy a three-day birth-weekend by celebrating today as well! have a good monday!

  19. p.s. george and judy…jetson? haha…my parents are barbie and ken, so i know how that goes 🙂

  20. I love the picture of you in the wagon!! Too cute 🙂

  21. That looks like so much FUN! THe little piggies and goats are so cute! And that picture of Ari with his new friend -completely amazing. I’m thrilled that you got the extended celebration you deserve 🙂 I’m honored that you liked my words. You’re so sweet honee!

Leave a Reply

