A Six-Cup Kind of Day

Good morning and happy humpday!  Now that I am no longer in school, on Wednesdays I look forward to two things: 1) The Dining In section of the Times, and 2) Yoga.  I won’t be going to yoga today, but I’m already salivating over this Pan-Baked Lemon Almond Tart.   Sorry about the haphazard posting schedule of late; yesterday turned out to be a busier day than I’d expected, and I spent the hours from 8 AM- 1 PM glued to the table, reading for my internship.  In my haste to get out the door on time, I left my camera in the sock drawer (…?) and, alas, you will not be able to see three of my snacks.  Please try to carry on.

Yesterday I was so bleary-eyed when I dragged myself out of bed (possibly a little louder than usual, to Ari’s misfortune) that as soon as Mr. Coffee started brewing my much-needed six cups, I just made the easiest breakfast I could think of.  I  threw together some nonfat yogurt, the last of the pumpkin pie mix, and an enormous apple (which was almost as big as the bowl).

Giant Apple

This wasn’t nearly all of the apple… I had to eat the rest off of the core because it wouldn’t fit in the bowl!  I topped the mixture with a glob of (self-salted) peanut butter.

Apple yogurt pumpkin mess

By the time Ari got up, I was already working on my mid-morning snack: chunks of energy.

Chunks of Energy

I finished my work with just enough time to take a quick 2-mile run.  I was in a bit of a foul mood- I hate rushing around and feeling frantic- so the run really helped.  The adrenaline kicked in, and I ran at a faster pace than I’m used to.  (My heart rate monitor wasn’t working, so please excuse the lack of statistics.)

Total distance: 2 miles

Total time: 18:55

The toaster oven isn’t working for some reason, so right before I jumped in the shower, I popped an Ezekiel English muffin in the oven at 400 degrees.  When I was dressed, the muffin was ready!  How’s that for time management?

I made two open-faced sandwiches: one with roasted red pepper hummus, a Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burger & sprouts, the other with asiago cheese (which the entire household could smell).  I also finished up a bag of baby carrots… we’re really running low on produce!

Open Faced Sandwiches w/ carrots

This is about when the pictures stop… I had a peach on the way to work, and, at four, when I was literally falling asleep while seated next to my boss, I excused myself and went to the reception area to eat a Trek Mix bar.  These feelings of tiredness hit me all of a sudden, but sometimes a little spike in my blood sugar is all I need to revive me.  We had a book release party in the office, which was catered by Fresh Direct (think antipasto, dark chocolate bark, fresh fruit, sandwiches).  There was enough wine to give each person his or her own bottle; normally I would have taken advantage of the free food and drink, but I just wanted to get home.  I had a glass of white wine, which I sipped on for an hour, then graciously made my exit.

Dinner was all ready when I got home; I made my standard, go-to college meal: Gliding Calm tofu, brown rice, and a sweet potato with agave and cinnamon (plus some kind of butter substitute that I found in the fridge).

Comfort eating

I was really craving some broccoli, but I wanted to be in bed more than I wanted to go back to the store.  To finish off the night, I made a lovely dessert plate with dried fruit (fig, apricot, prunes, Medjool), almond butter, and cardamom and chipotle-spiced dark chocolate.

Dessert Plate

Now I’m off to get some cross-training in before I meet up with a couple lovely ladies for a treat.  Have a great day!

20 responses to “A Six-Cup Kind of Day

  1. oo i love dessert plates! so much fun to have a bite of everything.

  2. i love that you left your camera in the sock drawer 🙂

    hope you have a good one!

    oh, also tell Ari his hair is awesome.

  3. oh, I would love a sweet potato with brown sugar right about now! Only two hours till lunch too.lol

  4. breadandwithit

    What was the book launched?

  5. ahhh that sweet potato!!

  6. miss katie – i had a bit of catching up to do, but i am so sad to hear about gourmet magazine too! my boss from my freelance writing (which happens to be food-related) emailed me the news and i was heart broken. loved that mag too 😦

    ummm i finally broke my coffee streak where i didn’t need it everyday, and i am back on an everyday medium coffee binge. so i feel ya girl.

    love you! have a fabulous day, and i don’t know if i missed this, but what’s the new internship?!?!

  7. Phew- I feel tired just reading about how busy your day was ;). Love giant apples…they make my world go round hehe. Today is a six cup kinda day for me! Hooray for coffee. That sweet potato looks awesome. I had one last night and now I want another haha. Have a good rest of the day

  8. sweet potato with agave and cinnamon = yum!

    sorry you had to miss yoga but you got a run in and some paper reading, that’s better than anything!

  9. Hi Love!
    Thanks for your well-wishes. I’m having some Matzo Ball soup right now for lunch trying to make the rest of my flu run away and hide…luckily I made it to work!
    Love your gigantic apple, I brought one myself today! And I also had a sweet potato for dinner last night, never thought to put agave on it though! You’re so smart.

  10. Oh wow – dessert plate heaven! I wanna get in on that!

  11. I LOVE your dessert plates. and now I’m craving broccoli and a sweet potato, too! (must be lunch time!)

    hope you’re having a great wednesday 🙂

  12. Wow, 6 cups! I thought I had a lot today with my 2!

    Mmmm…tofu and sweet potatoes are perfect together!

  13. I love when you have your little dried fruit/AB/chocolate dessert plate. It makes me smile 🙂 Enjoy your day love!!

  14. Haha to the sock drawer! 6 cups? Love it! That sounds like the perfect amount 🙂

    I hope you get some serious R&R after your long day!!

  15. hi gorg! how’s it do? damn. 6 cups! i have three every morning and am always on the cusp of vom. 😀 Nice!

    hectic days make me crave hot chocolate. and brie with nutella. wooohhhhhhhh. that’s hot.

  16. Haha I look forward to Wednesdays for “Dining In” as well. I’m not so sure about this new restaurant critic, though, he seems like a real toughie! Frank Bruni lives in my neighborhood and apparently he stops in Levain Bakery like once daily!

  17. Yay energy chunks! I am going to pick some up tomorrow to try… 😀 (only because Babycakes if out of my way 😛 )

    Was so great to meet you- see you Friday! Just made the reservation 🙂

  18. I need to try those energy chunks, I keep seeing them in the bulk foods. Glad to hear they’re good!

  19. Ooooh! Do you like “Firmin”? I thought it was so cute and entertaining.

    I love the weird places that we “lose” things. Like cameras in the sock drawer, camera cables on top of the refridgerator, my homework under the toaster, socks in my purse… yeesh.

  20. I’m so intrigued by those energy chunks… what exactly are they made of?

Leave a Reply

