Minutes Before the Race… enough time for a recipe!

Good morning! This is going to be a VERY speedy post… I have to leave for my 10K race in 10 minutes! So, not too much elaboration here, but I have a feeling you are a creative bunch.

Ari and I went out for a bagel breakfast yesterday morning.

Bagel Breakfast

I got an oat raisin bagel with light cream cheese, smoked salmon, onion & tomato.

Bagel 1

They put on an ENORMOUS amount of cream cheese, so I took a lot off. Still delicious!

Bagel 2

We spent the day deep-cleaning the room, then took our change to a Coinstar machine.  Coinstar takes 8.09 cents for every dollar, but we still made $113.  Can you spell “fancy date”?

Coinstar

Later, I made us a fall smoothie with pumpkin pie mix, frozen cherries, an apple, lemon juice, nutmeg & cinnamon.

Smoothie 1

I loved it, Ari did not.

Smoothie 2

For dinner, I made a very easy and delicious miso soup, that I thought would be perfect for the night before my race.

Quick spicy miso soup:

Quick Spicy Miso Soup 1

Bring 2 cups of water to a boil. Turn off heat and add a shake of red pepper flakes.  Stir and let stand 1-2 minutes.  Return to a boil, adding 1/4 block diced tofu, 1 sheet roasted seaweed, 1/8 onion and 1.5 tsp miso.  Reduce heat to low, cooking for 2 more minutes.  Remove from heat and let sit for 1 minute more, stirring to make sure miso is dissolved.  Serve and enjoy!

Quick Spicy Miso Soup 2

I also had broccoli and a TINY sweet potato with brown sugar and cinnamon. ..

Sweet potato & broc

… and a Strawberry Chobani. Very random dinner!

Strawberry Chobani

For dessert, I had more brownies. Of course!

Brownies

Off I go! Don’t forget to enter my Chobani giveaway!!!

22 responses to “Minutes Before the Race… enough time for a recipe!

  1. good luck in your race- can’t wait to read the recap!

  2. Good luck today!! That bagel w/smoked salmon looks RIGHT up my alley

  3. I’M TOTALLY WEARING MY VIRGIN RECORDS UNION SQUARE T-SHIRT RIGHT NOW!! Ari rocks 😀

    Rock out that race, girl!!

  4. YUM what a delicious sounding bagel…raisin oat?? SIGN ME UP!!!

    good luck on your 10k you will knock it outta the park!!!

    have a great sunday my dear!!

  5. Good luck on the race hottie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re gonna do awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I just found you on twitter too 🙂 Brave new world!

  6. GOOD LUCK GIRL!!!!

  7. Good luck!!

    Soup & smoothie both look great. Thanks for the recipes.

  8. Good luck with your 10K!!! You’re going to do amazing:)

    Thanks for the miso soup recipe, that’s such a great comfort food.

    P.S- Commerce Bank has a change machine that doesn’t charge you anything!

  9. do i spy brooklyn bagels? they are way better than that place next to sanfords, i go out of my way to BB all the time.. Their coffee rocks too!

  10. That’s brooklyn bagel cafe, love it! that’s my fav kind of bagel too! Do you ever go to mundo?

    Good luck today

  11. ewwww i hate cc overload!! too much cream cheese is narst!! i used to always take some off!!

    that bagel looks fabby fab though! and I love seeing Ari on the blog! it makes me happy that you guys are reunited again! 😀

    miso soup! WHOO RA! loves it.

    fall smoothie sounds neat.

    HAPPY WEEKENDDDDDD KATIE !!!

  12. I love Mundo, I just started going there this summer, the red sonja are so addicting, and i love the veggie wrap.. the people there are awesome too!

  13. hope your race went well! sure you rocked it 🙂

    that smoothie looks good to me! very creative. I’m always looking for banana-free smoothie ideas!

  14. OOH GIRL! You and Ari totally know how to keep it spicy right? Here’s another sexy date that you will LOVE: take pkgs to the post office. We did that today and could barely keep our hands off each other 😉
    I can’t wait to hear how your race went! So proud of you!

  15. That sweet potato is so cute!! (You know me and tiny produce… ;))

    Hope your race went well!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  16. Hope you rocked the race:)

  17. i adore miso soup!
    thanks for the recipe!

  18. ah! I hope the race went well. I always end up asking for a very little amount of cream cheese on bagels because otherwise they seem to go nutso! Who likes that much cream cheese? haha. I need to take my change to coinstar! Thanks for the reminder

  19. you go girl! you are so fierce…

  20. Pingback: Bed-Stuy Restoration Corp 10k Race Re-Cap « Lilveggiepatch

  21. lilveggiepatch

    Does Thursday or Friday work for you? Who am I kidding… I can do Saturday or Sunday as well… really, I have no life right now!

    My number is (646) 283-3436 should you need. Hope you had a great day!

    K

Leave a Reply

