Bed-Stuy Restoration Corp 10k Race Re-Cap

My only hope for the race yesterday morning was to finish the 6.2 miles in under an hour.  That would require a sustained pace of less than 10 minutes/mile.  When I’ve run my 6.5-mile route in the past, I’ve usually come in around 1 hour and 10 minutes (an 11-minute mile).  So, with the hope, but not the expectation, per se, that I would reach my goal, I quickly ate my breakfast (Ezekiel English muffin with almond butter, cinnamon, honey and a banana) and drank enough coffee to worry me about needing to stop during the race.

Pre-Race  Breakfast

Ari and I drove into Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn, to meet up with Judy at the registration booth.

Judy

There was already a refreshment table out; I grabbed some water while Ari went straight for the Swiss Miss.

Ari & Cocoa

I wore the same outfit I had on at the Komen 5K… don’t need any surprises!

Race Number

There were only about 400 runners; a particularly good size considering I wasn’t too familiar with the area.

10K Restoration Run

Soon it was time for Judy and I to start warming up (and it was a little chilly out); Ari said goodbye and went home to practice.

Judy & Katie

We got up to the front of the line and decided we would run together, but if one of us wanted to race ahead, she should.  I didn’t want to overexert myself too quickly, but I wanted to set a good pace. Good thing I brought some good tunes!

10K playlist

Mile 1: 9:34

Mile 2: 9:00

We managed to maintain about a 9-minute mile throughout the entire race.  Judy likes to start off slowly, and I tend to peter out towards the end, so we were a very good match and really pushed each other.  There were times, towards the end, that I wanted to walk (or throw up), but I didn’t want to let Judy down.  When we rounded the final corner and I saw the finish line, I sprinted to the end, finishing with an official time of 55:47.  Judy was a mere two seconds behind, at 55:49. (The top female won at 49 minutes; she is the red-headed woman in some of the photos above.)

Total distance: 10K (6.2 miles)

Total time: 55:47

Maximum heart rate: 193 (97%)

Average heart rate: 182 (92%)

Calories burned: 696

After making a quick bathroom stop, I got on the refreshment line and picked up some fruit.  They were also serving bagels, but I wanted to wait until I got home and could have a real lunch.

Race Fruit

We hung around to watch the awards ceremony, and is it lucky we did! Look who won FIRST PLACE IN HER AGE GROUP?

Judy Wins!

Congratulations, Judy!!! The second and third places were about 15 minutes behind Judy’s time.  In case I haven’t bragged enough about her in the past, Judy has done dozens of triathalons all around the world, often placing in her age group.  This was by far not her first trophy, but it was exciting nonetheless.  On the way home, she was stopped and photographed by strangers on the street, including a group of French tourists on the subway.  C’est super!

It ended up being a huge gadinx to get home from Bed-Stuy, and by the time I got off the subway I was ready to eat my leg.  I knew the pickings in our fridge would be slim, so I stopped at the health food store to get a sandwich.

Sandwich

I thought this look like the Whole Foods chicken salad I love, but it ended up just being a wedge of iceberg lettuce, two slices of Tofurkey, and vegan mayo.

Sandwich 2

Thanks, but no thanks.  I threw out the inside, saved the bread, and plopped on a Trader Joe’s Masala burger with hummus and tomato sauce.  Yes, it may have been a little strange, but I was too hungry to try to figure something else out.

New sandwich

I also had a Blueberry Chobani.

Blueberry Chobani 1

After lunch, I’d planned on getting some work done, but I was so tired that I passed out in bed for the next two hours.  It wasn’t exactly a “restful” sleep, and the only indication that I’d even shut my eyes was the different time on the clock radio.  When I woke up, I was starving again, and had a bowl of Kay’s Naturals Gluten-Free Honey Almond Protein Cereal.

Kay's Naturals Honey Almond

Kay's Naturals Honey Almond 2

I ate the cereal with skim milk and 1/2 banana.  It tasted a bit like eating air.  Sweet air, but air nonetheless.

Kay's Naturals Honey Almond 3

Unfortunately, right after I ate this, Ari got home and decided he wanted to go out for a light sushi snack.  Don’t you hate when that happens? I went with him anyway, and we split some hot sake.  We were celebrating Sunday!

Hot Sake

I also had a piece of his sweet potato roll.  I wasn’t hungry, but these things are so good!

Sweet potato roll

Then Ilana, Ari and I decided to go to the movies to see Whip It.  Before we left, I had a kiwi.

bite a kiwi

Ilana and I liked it, but Ari did not.  It may not have been “brilliant”, so to speak, but I thought it was a cute movie.  I saw the Roller Girls once in St. Paul, and it was so much fun! I want to do that again.  At the theater, I ate the better part of a box of gummy bears.

After the movie, Ari and I took ourselves out to Locale for dinner using our Coinstar winnings.  (Yes, this may have been the cause of my food poisoning, and yes, I did order seafood again on a Sunday.  So be it.) We started with bread and olive oil

Locale

We shared a bottle of Washington Merlot.

Merlot

We split the warm mozzarella and olive appetizer, which was delicious.  I have to do this at home… it’s so simple!
Warm Mozzarella & Olives

For my entrée, I ordered the grilled swordfish with broccoli rabe, purple potatoes, and artichokes in a chimichurri sauce (this was a special).

Swordfish special

This was delicious.  I ate about 2/3, and brought the rest home.  You might see it later on grilled bread as a panini, or in spaghetti as a fancy pasta.

Swordfish Special 2

Ari ordered steak! He loves it so much.  My mom is going to teach me how to make it perfectly for his birthday.  He looks a little like a vampire here, no?

Ari's steak

It was a splurge night in every sense of the word, but we were celebrating The Upwelling‘s upcoming European tour (they leave today), my successful race, and just, you know, life.  So, we ordered the Peanut Butter Bomba to split for dessert.  This is what we call a “tartuffo” at the restaurant I used to work in: peanut butter gelato covered in milk chocolate, with a chocolate center, and drizzled with chocolate and peanut butter.   One thing I can always count on Ari for his love of chocolate+pb together.  (I scraped off the whipped cream so it wouldn’t ruin his evening… too much white and creamy.)

Peanut Butter Bomba

It was a great day.  The band will be touring for the next 10 days, during which I will be watching Charley and getting my life in order.  Tall order? Nah.  I have to start that now… this is going to be a very busy day.  I’m very behind on blog reading and commenting; I hope to catch up in the next couple days, but please don’t be offended if it takes me a little longer than that.  I’m a little stressed out right now, but I love you all very much.

Today is the last day to enter my Chobani giveawayI will be closing the contest tonight at 10 PM EST so get those entries in!

Have a great day.

28 responses to “Bed-Stuy Restoration Corp 10k Race Re-Cap

  1. MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS ALL AROUND!!!!

  2. fabulous job!

    listening to the wolf’s parade song right now!

  3. Congrats on the race! And way to go, Judy.

    I hope Ari has a good tour! Wish him luck for me.

    And I want to take that PB & chocolate thing to the FACE. PB & choc is my faaaaavorite.

  4. Congratulations on the race!! Glad it went well. 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  5. Great race, girl! I think it is so awesome that you had the Upwelling on your playlist. You guys are the most incredible supportive couple. I love it!

  6. congrats on your race!!! You smoked your goal time 🙂 And congrats to Ari and the upcoming tour – so exciting!!!

  7. oh my gosh katie – you did AMAZING on your race! that is amazing, awesome and i could not be happier for you! yay for some alone time to get things in order – that is always necessary!

    ari could totally be in true blood or something in that pic – LOVE IT!

    have a wonderful monday girly!

  8. congrats on the race!…and trust me I know, those sweet potato rolls are tempting business!!

  9. Congrats on the race!! I love sweet potato rolls too! One of my favorites! The peanut butter bomba looks heavenly!

  10. Good job at the race! Love your playlist and LOVE those purple potatoes. : )

    Hope things start looking up & your stress all dissolves. ❤

  11. congrats on your race! that is an awesome time, especially if your usual pace is 11 minute miles – amazing!

  12. WOW! Such a great job on your 10k. You finished a lot faster than you thought, it just feel so great to surpass you expectations!

    As always your food looks great!!!!

  13. yayyyyyyyyyyy GO GIRLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!

    peanut butter bomba and swordfish , pleaseeeeee

  14. “too much white and creamy”
    [I REAAAAALLY hope that’s not what HE said… Ari?]

    You are so beyond gorgeous- Like really? If I were running a race I think I’d be white as a ghost. You’re so amaze.

    So I was at a wedding yesterday (my cousins) and part of the meal was JEWSHI! (coined term, courtesy of James- mi broha) aka Jersey (ew.) bagels, cream cheese, white fish, nova, and bliss 🙂 I thought of you none-stop.

    Love you beauty <333

  15. -PS- PLZ tell me you love Chubb. It’s ma FAAAVE!

  16. awesome race! and congrats to Judy too!

    you and Ari are just too cute 🙂 looks like it was a fabulous date.

    hope you have a good, productive week!

  17. Your race….congrats Katie, that’s an awesome time. And time not withstanding, just having a great race day is an unbeatable feeling!!!! Awesome! I have won my age group before and have been given dinky little trophies…Judy scored!

    This
    Kay’s Naturals Gluten-Free Honey Almond Protein Cereal
    I had no idea til i read that on another girls blog yesterday that it even existed. Cool, even if it’s air-like.

    The grilled swordfish looks awesome (from a vegan) but I can appreciate all food and that looks phenom!

  18. Congrats 😀 I am so behind with blogs- I didn’t even know you were racing!!!

    I tried that brand of sandwich too today for the first time- was gross (I got the chicken salad one). Power-fu, all the way 😉

  19. Great job with the race! You totally rocked it:)

  20. Nice job on the race!!

    And that swordfish looks heavenly…its got me craving seafood!

  21. Congrats on the race!
    Now I really want a piece of that bombe!

  22. Great race! 😀 Contratulations!!

    all your eats look awesome! I love warm sake 🙂

  23. ahhhhhh! congrats!!! Thats awesome that you beat your goal time and way to go Judy! FABULOUS dinner out- that pb bomba looks out of this world.

    Bummer about the vanilla stevia 😦 It was on my list to try next. The regular stevia packets seem ok? Maybe its just when they try to do TOO much with it that it gets the weird after taste?

  24. holy PB dessert that looks phenomenal!

    I would hae done the same thing when I opened that sammie and saw the rubbery ‘meat’ sitting on teh bread! time to fill it up with something else for sure and great choice for the filler!

    great race and great tunes!!

    I just got a big sample package of the kays cereals, I really like them! they are very airy, but tasty! have you tried the apple cinnmaon?? those are good!

  25. How fun to have to so many things to celebrate over dinner! Looks like you had a great day 🙂

    Congrats on your race too!

  26. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE BOTH OF YOU!!! Way to go 🙂

    Whip It was filmed in Detroit! Glad you liked it! That dessert looks amazing!

  27. Looks like you had a great day! So glad you guys treated yourselves to a fantastic dinner. Also, I was happy to see Party in the U.S.A. on your mix because its totally my guilty pleasure song right now!

  28. 1st time on your blog, but not my last.

    Great job on your race. Loved the recap and your playlist. I made sure to put Lady Gaga and No Doubt’s Spiderwebs on my race playlist when I ran on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

