My Name is Katie, and I’m a Yog-a-holic: Chobani Greek Yogurt Review

If you’re a regular Lilveggiepatch reader, you know how much I love my yogurt.  I eat it pretty much every day, and when I can afford it, I go Greek.

Last week, the lovely Shari graciously sent me a case full of Chobani Greek yogurt.

Chobani Sampler

It has only been five days, and I’m already down to my last three.  My name is Katie, and I am addicted to Greek yogurt.  I had a lot of fun eating my way through the case, and even more fun preparing this comprehensive flavor break- down for ya.

Low-Fat Pineapple

Pineapple Chobani

Pineapple Chobani 1 Pineapple Chobani 2

Pineapple is rich and creamy, and feels like a decadent dessert.  It reminds me of a tropical mouse my family and I used to eat at our favorite hotel restaurant in Guadeloupe, a small island in the French West indies.  This yogurt is not fat-free (each 6 oz container contains 2.5 grams of fat, 2 of which are saturated) but it is a worthy alternative to a “real” dessert, mid-day treat, or a fun breakfast.  I licked the container clean 😀

Non-fat Peach

Peach Chobani 1 Peach Chobani 2

Peach is creamy, with lots of peach chunks.  It’s not as rich as the pineapple flavor; the difference between low-fat and non-fat seems pretty big.  It tasted a little more like regular yogurt and less like “Greek”, but it’s still good.

Non-fat Blueberry

Blueberry Chobani 1

Blueberry Chobani 2 Blueberry Chobani 3

Blueberry reminded me a bit of Dannon’s “Fruit-on-the-Bottom” yogurt (which I used to eat all the time when I was wee!). The part of the container that did not have fruit mixed in tasted a lot more like rich, creamy Greek yogurt.

Non-fat Strawberry

dStrawberry Chobani Strawberry Chobani 2

Strawberry is good, but also reminds me of “Fruit-on-the-Bottom.” It didn’t taste quite so “Greek,” but I loved the strawberry chunks.

Non-fat Vanilla

Vanilla Chobani

Vanilla Chobani 1 Vanilla Chobani 2

You can really taste the Vanilla here! The ingredient list says “vanilla flavor“, so I don’t know if they use pure vanilla extract, but it really tastes like alcohol! It’s not too sweet, and mixes nicely with fruit and muffins.  It is also much richer and silkier than the fruit flavors.

Non-fat Plain

Plain Chobani 1

Plain Chobani 2 Plain Chobani 2

The Plain yogurt has a true “Greek” taste. It is incredibly rich and creamy, without being overly sour or tangy.

Bottom line: Would I buy these? The Pineapple seriously tastes like heaven on earth.  I have one left, and after that’s gone I’m going straight to the store.  I don’t buy low-fat yogurt ever (I always get fat-free), so that’s saying a lot.  In terms of the other fruit flavors, I tend to prefer to mix my own fruit in, and I think some of the “Greek” taste is lost when the fruit is stirred in during packaging.  But, as of late, I’ve had to eat a lot on-the-go, and for a busy lady like myself, a quick, nutritious and tasty snack would be highly convenient.  The Plain flavor is also really rich and delicious, and I would certainly buy it in the store.

Thanks again for your generosity, Chobani!

FYI for New York City folk: Chobani is on sale at Gourmet Garage for 2/$3.

Edited to add: the “right” way to eat “fruit-on-the-bottom” Chobani! Makes a HUGE difference, trust me.

15 responses to “My Name is Katie, and I’m a Yog-a-holic: Chobani Greek Yogurt Review

  1. o0o good to know about the pineapple flavor, I have that one in my fridge 🙂

  2. thanks for this review! it’s great! i’ve never tried flavored greek yogurt (except vanilla, which I did not like) but you may have sold me on the pineapple!

  3. Oooh! I’m so excited to try these!!!! Can’t wait for the Pineapple. I’m such a decadent dessert kind of girl. XOXO.

  4. I’m not really a chobani fan. I think it has kind of a ‘powdery’ taste to it. While I have tried the pineapple flavor and it’s pretty good, I still prefer my Oikos greek yogurt topped with a spoonful of canned pineapple and juice. It is my own personal version of the Chobani pineapple that I personally think is waaaaay better and pretty much ‘da bomb. You should try it!

  5. Love the pineapple flavor too! Have you tried the pomegranate one?? It has actual pom seeds in it, and it’s pretty friggin delish.

  6. I would love some pineapple yogurt right now. Is Chobani less expensive than Fage?

  7. OOH pineapple chobani is really creamy and good! peach was good too. i didn’t care much for strawberry. i have one more to try and it’s plain!

  8. I am dairy free but I swear b4 I started reading food blogs I had never even heard of Chob. I am sooo glad you’re in yogurt heaven 🙂

  9. If you happen to see it in the store you HAVE to try the honey flavor. I don’t know how they do it, but MAN is that stuff good!

  10. Love your review!! Flavored Chobani was how I eased my way into appreciating REAL Greek yogurt – yum 🙂

  11. Wish wish wish wish. 😦

    ❤ ❤

  12. Great comprehensive review. It bums me out when someone reviews one flavor and I buy another and it’s just not very good. I agree about the Vanilla Chobani tasting a little bit like alcohol.

    I usually buy Oikos, but you may have sold me on the Pineapple Chobani. : )

  13. fabulous review – i think the pineapple was one of my faves too. have you tried the pomegranate? MY FAVE!

  14. I loved all their yogurts, too! THe pineapple was amazing. i’m so sad they don’t sell them here!

  15. I love the Pineapple Chobani as well! If you haven’t tried Oikos greek yogurt you are missing out.

Leave a Reply

