Short Fuse

For some reason, this post didn’t go up this morning when I pressed “Publish”! Sorry about that, folks 🙂

Just now, as I made my breakfast, I’d almost convinced myself I was in a Parisian flat getting ready for the day with the rest of the rest of the workforce. It’s a crisp day out, but the windows are open, letting the fresh air (and an upstairs neighbor’s cigarette smoke) waft in. It’s about 2 there right now… my parents are probably having a simple lunch somewhere, and Ari is getting ready for his show tonight in Manchester. I haven’t really heard from my parents (except a frantic back-and-forth with my dad about physical therapy), but it seems like the Upwelling‘s tour is off to a great start!

Yesterday morning I played a fierce game of “snooze” with the alarm clock. You might be wondering why I even bother setting alarm given that I don’t have a job, but I find that I really need to keep myself on a remotely “normal” schedule so that things get done and I don’t lose my mind.

Breakfast was a little different yesterday.

Apple Nut Oats

I cooked 1/3 cup of 5-Grain Cereal in 2/3 cup of water, then microwaved a diced apple with cinnamon and a little brown sugar. (Blew the fuse with this one… the dishwasher and dryer was already running in the kitchen, and the vacuum was in use in another room. Whoops! But a girl’s gotta have her breakfast 🙂 ) I topped everything with 1/4 banana and a big scoop of peanut butter.

Apple Nut Oats 2

I haven’t had any hot cereal other than oats since I graduated, but I’m going to keep this up. It’s a nice change!

My knee was feeling a little better when I woke up, so I decided to go to the gym and see how using the bike felt. Well… not so great. It hurt to go faster than a snail, but the slow pace was really frustrating. I ended up getting off after 20 minutes, hobbling over to the machines to try arms, getting even more frustrated, and leaving. The combination of an over- crowded locker room and no hot water in the showers led to a minor meltdown… there were a few tears as I stood under the shower head, freezing and wondering if this was the end of my running career. Then I moved on with my life.

My friend Hannah and I met at Whole Foods for lunch, and I loaded my box with some of my favorite comfort foods.

Whole Foods

Including but not restricted to:

  • Mixed greens
  • Steamed broccoli
  • Artichokes
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Baked Tofu
  • 1 Plantain
  • Vegan Chicken Salad
  • “Detox Salad” made w/ ground cauliflower
  • Whole Grain Taboule
  • Kale & Cantaloupe salad

I also sneaked in some coconut water 😉

Goya Coconut Water

After lunch I went home and made some calls to physical therapists, trying to get an appointment.  No luck!  So, I decided to relax a little and settled into bed with a book, a cup of chai, and an apple with cinnamon.  Very cozy!

Tea Time

This quote would be more appropriate if it ended with “honor your body“, but I can do both.

Tea Quote

For some reason I was hungry for dinner a lot earlier than usual, so I ended up getting dinner ready around 6:30.  I diced up an heirloom tomato

Heirloom Tomato

… and mixed it in with the leftover Lemony  Rigatoni w/ Chickpeas & Broccoli, which I topped with parmesan.

Lemony Chickpea & Broccoli Rigatoni

I had a few leaves of romaine on the side, as well as a big rebel carrot.

Rebel Carrot

Ilana came over a little later, and after I made her a quick dinner, we had an ice cream party!  Good sleepovers are not complete without them.

Ice Cream Party

I had a bowl with half Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Cup and half Haagen-Dazs Vanilla Bean. with a hearty drizzle of hot fudge.

Ice Cram Party 2

Speaking of ice cream, remember the almond-less Vanilla Swiss Almond? Well, I finally got around to calling Haagen-Dazs, and they were very nice about the mix-up and should have a coupon in the mail.  All’s well that ends well!

I’ll be back a little later with the physical therapist’s diagnosis.  Hope you’re having a great day!

14 responses to “Short Fuse

  1. Haagen-Dazs has class after all 😉

  2. That carrot is scary 🙂

    I hope your knee feels better soon… it’s so frustrating to be unable to do what we want physically!!

    ❤ ❤

  3. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR KNEE! I have a good feeling about this…remember when Caitlin at HTP had such excruciating knee problems? And she’s training for a marathon now! Hope all goes well for you.

  4. Aw my little pudding pop!! I hope your knee feels better and that frustration levels remain low!

    Glad you had an ice cream fiesta! No sleeping party is complete without one 🙂

  5. I’m the same way with setting an alarm despite unemployment; sleeping the day away makes the whole no-job thing feel way too grungy haha

  6. “Then I moved on with my life.” love! way to go 🙂

    hm, ice cream parties are seriously lacking in my life. that may have to change.

    I hope everything goes well with the physical therapy! good luck and feel better!

  7. I’m crossing my fingers about your knee! WF hot/salad bar makes everything better, I’m sure of it.

  8. Hahaha love the rebel carrot 🙂

    I hope your knee feels better soon…There’s some lump on my shin that hurts and I got a 5K on Sunday…nicee…

  9. Fill me in about college in St. Paul as time permits!

    Your knee…please take care. BTDT with injuries and running career flashing in front of eyes. SO sorry you are in pain.

  10. I fight my alarm every single day lately. I have no idea why. It makes my mornings pretty rough.

    Your morning, however, sounds heavenly. Hope everything went okay with the physical therapist.

  11. yummmy yog mess 🙂
    jenna

  12. oh! i hope the therapist appt goes well! don’t lose hope, recovery will heal that pain!!!

  13. That’s one big honkin carrot! Your WF salad looks fab.

  14. Okay, so you’re reppin’ two of my fave meals. Baked apple “oatmeal” and a whole food’s salad! Baked tofu!? Vegan chicken salad!? Taboule!? Such HAPPY food, no?? 🙂

    Sorry about all the running drama. This is NOT the end up your running career, maybe you just aren’t supposed to be pushing yourself as hard as you have been…stay positive girl, we are all here for you!!

Leave a Reply

