Perspective

Hi guys. I think you all officially earn the “most supportive” blog readers award. I was feeling a little down in the dumps when I last posted, but each and every comment really cheered me up. Of course I don’t want you all to break your hips and sprain your toes, but knowing that there are other people who have been injured and bounced back helps me feel a lot less alone about it. I’m in a much better place than I was the last time I hurt myself, mainly because I still have the use of my legs. As Ilana pointed out, at least I have legs. How’s that for perspective? Thou shalt not take thy body for granted.

Yesterday, knowing that I was probably going to get some not-so-good news from the physical therapist, I made myself a nice breakfast. I had two Kashi waffles; one with Barney Butter and French raspberry jam:

Kashi Waffle 1

The second had plain nonfat Wallaby yogurt (Daddy-o bought this; even though I’ve been spoiled by the Greeks, this was nice and creamy) and fresh pomegranate seeds:

Kashi Waffle 2

Like my DIY mug? I had some artistic talent as a kid.

Kashi Waffle 3

I did not dress appropriately for the weather, and was both freezing and wet when it started raining. It rained for the next 16 hours. Are we in London? I snacked on a Banana Bread Larabar on my way to the gym do to some strength training.

Banana Bread Larabar

At the gym, I did 10 minutes of stretching before starting my workout. I did all the leg machines that I saw, but wasn’t always sure that I was using them properly. There was a back extension machine that I thought would be helpful, but it was right in front of the personal trainers’ room and they were having some kind of meeting, so I didn’t want to look like an idiot trying to figure it out. Stupid, I know. I think I get three free PT sessions, so it would be nice to have someone show me what to do. I also did some arm and ab work. It was pretty boring, but I know I have to do it every other day no matter what. Blegh.

Total time: 1:02:04

Maximum heart rate: 122 (62%)

Average hear rate: 86 (43%)

Calories burned:: 136

These kinds of stats are clearly going to take some getting used to… I’m accustomed to having my heart rate consistently up in the 170-190 bracket and expending at least 300 calories per workout. Such is life.

I finally got around to getting groceries at Whole Foods. I shopped the sales and ended up getting quite a bit of stuff for under $60. The cashier (who just tore her ACL… small world) even commented on how well I did!

Whole Foods Groceries 1

Not pictured: dog treats for Charley. And don’t you worry, that lone beer will be consumed by the time this post is through!

Whole Foods Groceries 2

It was already close to three by the time I got around to eating, but I had a pretty good lunch! The star was inspired by one of my favorite ladies. Mama Lovin may have moved on to a smaller- more secure– domain, but the crack wrap lives on! This was made with a piece of Lavash and stuffed with hummus, white cheddar, gorgonzola and spinach.

Crack Wrap

I also had some baby carrots

Carrots

… and salmon spring rolls. I’d thought they were shrimp when I bought them, but these were still good!

Salmon Spring Roll

It was nice to be warm and cozy inside.

Lunch

The mail came pretty soon, and cheered me right up. I got my giveaway prize from Erin

Erin's package 1

How cool is this necklace?! I love funky jewelry. And can you believe she made this herself? I’d probably sew my finger to the fabric if I tried to use a sewing machine. She is also running a marathon this weekend, so please wish her luck! I’m so freaking proud of her.

Erin's package 2

The mailman also brought me a card from my favorite neo-Russian. Look at those stamps!

Russian Mail 1

That says all kinds of nice things in Russian. I miss this girl so much it’s not even funny.

Russian Mail 1

Since I was dining solo for the umpteenth time this week, I wanted to make myself a nice (and easy) dinner. I flipped through the November issue of Bon Appรฉtit, and settled on Smoky Greens and Beans.

Smoky Greens & Beans 1

I made my own vegetable stock using Better Than Bouillan‘s Chili and Vegetable Bases. My dad started using these when I became a vegetarian 8 years ago, and I really like the flavor.

Better Than Bouillon

For the “greens” part of the recipe, I used green chard, red chard, and collard greens. Aren’t the colors gorgeous?

Mixed Greens

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to serve the stew with, and settled on oatmeal. It has been quite some time since I made savory oats!

Savory Oats

I seasoned the finished product with sea salt, black pepper, and parmesan.

Mixed Greens & Collards 2

This dish is a keeper.

Mixed Greens & Beans 2

Good thing I have leftovers!

Mixed Greens & Beans 3

I thought I deserved a drink after a trying day, so I sipped on this Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale over the course of two hours. I know I’m not alone when I say that I look forward to pumpkin beer all year! It wasn’t the best and it wasn’t the worst that I’ve had, but it did make me miss my friends.

Pumpkin Beer

There’s been ice cream around pretty much every single night, and I still haven’t gotten it out of my system! I made myself a fabulous chocolate peanut butter sauce using Chocolate PB2 and Hot Damn Cocoa (from Hell’s Kitchen). Just add water!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Sauce

I drizzled it on mission fig ice cream and topped it all with half a banana, enjoyed while watching Tokyo!.

Sundae

Sweet way to end a bitter day.

Now I’m off to go walk the pooch and meet a lovely for a treat. What are your weekend plans? Enjoy them!

16 responses to “Perspective

  1. your waffle looks delish! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love massive grocery shops.. even if it does put a dent in your wallet.. its so yummzay! and worth it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xox

  2. traynharder23

    nice waffles! LOL. i miss eggo waffles.

    weekend = WORK WORK ANd practice MCAT. not fun.

    Did you do hip add/abd/uction? those might be good. re: backextension: was it one where you lean back from a sitting position? or was it the roman chair?

  3. Thanks for the shout out! Spoiler alert: I have BIG news for you about my pastures ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m glad to see you reppin’ the crack!! I need to have that soon – thanks for reminding me of it’s gloriousness!

    Let’s bargain: I’ll trade you my two, functional legs for that Barney Butter and pumpkin beer ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I think I’m going to the cider mill tomorrow! I foresee a warm cider donut with coffee in my future!

  5. Where did you see PB2 in stores? I still haven;’t tried it!

    And we prepped for our anticipated bad news from the doctor SO differently. Before my last appt when I found out (and expected to find out) that I couldn’t run for a while, I went for one last run! Haha. Probably not the soundest logic, but I couldn’t help myself

  6. ooo pumpkin beer! i gotta see if i can find some of that this weekend.

  7. mission fig ice cream and topped it all with half a banana–yum!

    plans for the weekend-hang out with my sister who’s here for 1 day and i havent seen her in 2 yrs.

    I am happy the comments cheered you up ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo

  8. oh, I just read your last post. take care of yourself! you’ll be a better runner for it all in the end.

    I am so loving your ice cream treats this week! I actually bought some chocolate coconut milk ice cream tonight. but fig sounds amazing! anything fig is a favorite for me.

    plans for the weekend… still playing the single girl while hub works hard for the money. I got some good books today, so I’ll have some good distractions. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. A trip to WF for under $60…you are a champion!

  10. Yum! You’re making me crave fresh pom seeds.

  11. Le Petite Tomate

    yum make that for me!

  12. Those savory oats look so delicious! Love your dessert too. Have a great weekend!

  13. I want that wrap. Now. I’m also pretty jealous of your awesome shopping trip. I never get out of that store without dropping a $100.

  14. ahhhhhh! i have been wanting some pumpkin beer all weekend. I need to get to WFs. Your dinner looks fantastic and great work on your grocery shopping spending. Hope you have a nice weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Pingback: Making Moves « Lilveggiepatch

  16. I’M SO GLAD YOU GOT YOUR CARD!

    and boy, howdy, what i wouldn’t give for a pumpkin-themed feast with you and that cute lil blondinka we know…

Leave a Reply

