Making Moves

Shari wanted me to let you know about the correct way to eat what I’ve referred to as “fruit-on-the-bottom” Chobani:

[D]on’t stir…take your spoon straight down through the yogurt and pull some fruit up with the yogurt.  I at first was reluctant…but then I said “oh what the heck…”  I won’t stir my yogurt ever again….  It completely changes the dynamics of the yogurt.

I tried it out, plunging my spoon directly into a Blueberry Chobani.

Plunging Spoon in Chobani

Very smooth and very creamy!

Creamy Chobani

What do you do when you can’t decide what to have for breakfast? Have it all! I threw quite a few ingredients into my bowl.

Breakfast Mess

I warmed some frozen strawberries, sliced up half a banana, grabbed a handful (or two!) of Puffins, and scooped a generous spoonful of almond butter.

Breakfast Mess 2

It mixed wonderfully with the yogurt.

Breakfast Mess 3

The rest of the morning was spent reading in bed in total coziness, taken in the aroma of scented candles.  In the past few days I’ve taken quite a few baths and burned through a lot of candles.  It’s not so great for the environment, but I figure I’m just making up for the baths I didn’t take in the dorm bathrooms in college.  Mid-morning, I snacked on a crisp Macoun apple.

Momofuku Apple .

Caitlin came over for lunch, and I heated up some leftover Smoky Greens & Beans.  This time, I added in pieces of seitan.  The physical therapist told me that since I’m going to be trying to build up muscle and heal myself, I’m going to need eat a LOT of protein. Each serving of seitan packs a whopping 18g! This was Caitlin’s first time eating it, and I think it was a hit! We ate the stew with warmed up pieces of lavash.

Smoky Greens & beans

After lunch, we headed to Starbucks to get coffee and read. I couldn’t remember exactly what went into a dirty hippie… where was Luke when I needed him?!  I ended up just getting a Double Grande Skim Chai.  There’s always next time!

Double Grande Skim Chai

We ended up doing more talking than studying, but it was needed! I hadn’t seen this girl in three weeks.  When I got home, I started dinner by peeling and cubing a sweet potato.  I covered the cubes in a little olive oil, salt & pepper, an baked it at 400.  About 20 minutes into the baking time, I added pressed and cubed tofu to the mix, making sure to coat the pieces in the extra oil mixture that covered the bottom of the baking dish.  10 minutes later I removed the sweet potato, and baked the tofu for 15 minutes longer.

Baked Tofu & Sweet Potato

I added the sweet potato and tofu to a bed of spinach with a white heirloom tomato, pomegranate seeds, and a little gorgonzola cheese.  Aren’t the colors lovely?

Fall Salad

Using pear-infused vinegar, pomegranate molasses, olive oil, sea salt & pepper, I whipped up a light dressing.

Fall Salad Dressing

This was one of the best salads I’ve had in a long time, and felt perfect for a chilly Fall night.

Fall Salad 2

Fall Salad 3 Fall Salad 4

After dinner, I went downtown to meet Lauryn for frozen yogurt at Red Mango.   She moved to Manhattan over a month ago, but we seem to be operating under completely opposite schedules and this is the first day it worked out.   I’m so glad it did!

Lauryn

We both ended up ordering the pumpkin frozen yogurt (tart and creamy, and perfect for Fall!) even though it was fuh-REEZING out and were were sitting right in front of the door.  It came with free graham cracker topping, too! I’ve never been one to turn down a freebie…

Red Mango Pumpkin

We ended up talking non-stop for three hours, and literally closed the Red Mango down.  Couldn’t have asked for a better Saturday night!  I ended up getting home after 1, by which point I was already hungry again and ate a giant apple.  I didn’t go to bed until after 2… I need to find a job ASAP because this rando schedule just ain’t doing it for me.

Well, I’m off to go meet my little red-headed friend for dinner.  Hope you’re having a great night!

25 responses to “Making Moves

  1. LAURYN!!! She and you are totally awesome friends of mine, so I’m glad that you guys met each other 🙂

  2. AHHH! i may or may not have been waiting for this post all day 😉 the title cracks me up! almost as much as you do — i had SUCH a great time hanging out last night and being on the best first date i think i will EVER have in my entire life! i think we could have been there for three more hours!

    i can’t wait for all the adventures to come as we cross off things on our to-do list! except our next rendezvous will not be three weeks from now, okay?! 🙂 xoxo

  3. p.s. that was a lot of exclamation points right there — do you feel my excitement?? haha

  4. This: sweet potato and tofu to a bed of spinach with a white heirloom tomato, pomegranate seeds, and a little gorgonzola cheese.
    Sounds amazing!

    And isnt it awesome meeting up with someone and having a great time! Yay for you!

  5. I may have to go check out the froyo place in town to see if they have gotten pumpkin froyo…looks delicious. Have fun tonight.

  6. yum! I never stir my fruit on the bottom, I love the tart sweet contrast. The salad looks delicious!

  7. they just opened that fro yo place in my mall, i am dying to try the pumpkin flav looks so delicious!

    have a great night lovie
    xx
    Eliza

  8. That salad looks so good! I just had sweet potato and tofu for dinner…that combo is the best!

  9. That salad is really pretty. Looks very fall.

    And now I’ll have an unquenchable desire for pumpkin froyo. 😦 Oh well, enjoy it one more time for me, please!

  10. Yeah, I was wondering about how the froyo coincided with the weather… 😉

    The colors in that salad are gorgeous! I’m a bit of an idiot about having colors look pretty in a salad. :p

    ❤ ❤

  11. Holy beautiful salad! Love the looks of pom and sweet potato together!

  12. Now you have me intrigued with this new technique! I may have to pick up a flavored Greek yog just to try it.

    Aw, yay for meeting up with Lauryn!! Sounds like a fun time was had by all 🙂

  13. I’ve never tried Red Mango or Pinkberry – but that pumpkin frozen yogurt looks soooo good!!!!

    So does your sweet potato and tofu mix – two foods I am totally into right now! lol

  14. I hate the feeling of not having a regular schedule! you’ll straighten it out soon enough, I’m sure.

    gorgeous salad! pretty food just tastes better. than not-pretty food. I think. yes?

    I’m totally intrigued by the dirty hippie.

    hope you’re having a good Sunday! it’s national chocolate cupcake day! I’m spreading the good word 🙂

  15. Pumpkin Red Mango frozen yogurt with graham cracker topping?! Sign me up! I’ve got to check that out. 🙂

  16. How could you forget?!?
    Dirty hippie (aka dirty chai): chai latte + shot of espresso. Make it a Sarah by adding pumpkin spice syrup. (Optional: whip and sprinkles if you’re feeling frisky.)

  17. So I was already in awe of how beautiful the pom seeds made your salad, but then you had the GENIUS idea of pomegranate molasses in the dressing, and I was… whatever beyond awe is. Awesome ideas!

  18. Pumpkin yogurt…yum! Especially with that graham cracker topping 🙂
    Your tofu, sweet potato dinner does look very pretty indeed…and it looks like it tastes wonderful!
    I love the sound of taking baths and lighting candles…lovely.
    Happy Sunday night, love!

  19. ACK! Pumpkin frozen yogurt! mmmmmmmmmmmmm

  20. I love the colours of your salad 🙂
    looks so delicious!

    Pumpkin frozen yogurt would be delicious!!!

  21. Damn, they did not have the crystalized ginger at my Whole Foods. Got 2 kinds of dark though!

  22. red mango has pumpkin froyo?? i must come back to NYC asap!

  23. Aw I can’t believe you and Lauryn met up, how fun!! Crushed grahams are the BEST anything-topper!! Warmed apples, fro yo…the list goes on 😉

    But seriously Katie, you are once again repping all my favorite things! That yogurt mess sounds divineeee and I love that salad combo!

    Sorry about the annoying schedule, but stay positive….you WILL get a job soon!! love you!

  24. yum yum yum bloobs is my fave chobz flavor!!

    ok, that salad is the most gorgeous beast ive ever seen.

    can we have another meet up soon?

  25. Mmmm…Pumpkin Yogurt! When you find out what goes into a Dirty Hippie I would love to know! It’s always fun to try something new at Starbucks!

Leave a Reply

