Five Minutes or Less

Hi there! How was your Monday?  Mine was nice… everything is going to be A-OK!  It’s like Shakespeare’s Wheel of Fortune: what goes down must go up again.  I just need a little reminding from time to time, so thanks for coming to the rescue.

It's All Good

On Sunday morning, Josh, Ilana, Ari & I got up and headed over to the diner for brunch.  No such luck! Not only was it packed, but there was a long wait!  Too bad, because I’d finally decided I was ready to have one of their omelets again after having burned out on them a few months ago.  Next time!  Instead, we went to Locale.   I’ve only been there for dinner before, but their menu looked pretty good.

I ordered the Baby Spinach & Goat Cheese Omelet, and asked for it to be made with egg whites and tomatoes as well.  Instead of homefries, I ordered shoe string fries.

brunch

I added ketchup, hot sauce, salt & pepper… any and all condiments, please!  In retrospect, I should have gone with a salad instead of the fries.  Since I was little, I’ve never been a huge fan of French fries (except when they’re made with sweet potatoes), and these just didn’t do it for me.  I was more than happy to share, though!

Locale Brunch

After brunch, I attempted my Vegan Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Squares.  Now, I’ve made these about six times in the past year, and Anna even blogged about them! For the second time in a row, they have not turned out.  I don’t know if it’s because I had to use regular whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour, or that I used about 1/8 cup vegetable oil with the olive oil, or what. But they were gummy and had a sort of “oatmeal-y” texture, as Ari reported.  Very frustrating, because these are pretty much my go-to treat for Fall!

Brunch filled me up for the rest of the day, but I snacked on an apple with yogurt and cinnamon around 5.  I had to eat it in another room because Ari HATES the smell of yogurt!

Apple/ Yogurt Snack

This open bag of pretzels also kept me company on my trips to the kitchen.

Fat Free Pretzels

I wanted dinner to be easy and nutritious.  I baked one sweet potato and 2/3 of a block of tofu in a little olive oil and Emeril’s Original Essence at 400 for about 30 minutes.

Dinner Prep

When it was ready, I plopped half of the mixture on top of a spinach/carrot/tomato/red pepper salad with pumpkin-miso dressing.

Pumpkin Miso Salad

With half a glass of the end of a bottle of wine, I ate my dinner while catching up on Grey’s.  This is what my “TV rig” looks like when I have to stream old episodes! Pretty classy.

Dinner Rig

Dessert was more light Phish Food.

Light Phish Food

Yesterday morning I woke up determined to change the pattern, get out of my rut and be productive.  I started with a good breakfast.

Pumpkin "Cake"

As soon as Sarah posted the recipe for her Microwave Pumpkin Pie, I knew I had to make one.  They only took three minutes to make…

Pumpkin "Cake" 2

…plus 30 more seconds to dump a container of Trader Joe’s Organic Greek Vanilla Yogurt and crushed walnuts on top.

Pumpkin "Cake" 3

Really, this is too fast and delicious for you to miss out on.  I made it again this morning!

After breakfast, I packed up my things and took myself to Starbucks.  Goal 1: Get out of the house. Mission: Accomplished!  I got a grande skim misto with a shot of espresso, and was given a free packet of their new Via instant coffee to try out.

Starbucks

I always put all of the different powders (Vanilla, Cinnamon, Nutmeg & Chocolate) in my foam.

Skim Misto w/ Espresso

A little later, my eyes started to droop despite the caffeine.  I snacked on a Trek Mix bar and woke right back up!

Trek Mix

Ari stopped by around 12:30 and we re-located to Panera so he could get lunch.  When his free WiFi expired, he ran some errands and I ate my lunch while keeping him company.  I had leftover baked tofu & sweet potatoes with black beans and red peppers.

Sweet Potatoes, Black Beans & Tofu

I also had an apple

Apple

… and, when I got home, a package of Kay’s Naturals Lemon Herb Protein Chips.  I wasn’t exactly hungry, I just felt like mindlessly snacking 🙂

Lemon Herb Protein Chips

Lemon Herb Protein Chips Nutrition

Lemon Herb Protein Chips Ingredients

Lemon Herb Protein Chips 2

These were good! They did, as usual, make me feel like Edward Cullen wouldn’t go anywhere near me, they had so much garlic…. I also always forget that one bag is 1.5 servings, not 1.  Very tricky!

Soon after, I left to accomplish Goal 2: Go to the gym.  I brought a magazine and hammered out 45 minutes (+5 minute cooldown) on the bike, arms and abs. I have physical therapy tomorrow, so I’m not going to work my legs out until the therapist tells me what to do.  The PA at the orthopedist’s office returned my call yesterday; the bone density test results showed I don’t have a problem with osteoporosis or anything like that, so I can rule it out as a cause of my injuries.  We’ll just have to keep looking!

I left the gym and headed over to Starbucks to meet my friend Lisa for tea.  She had Passion, I had Green. (Didn’t end up using the honey.)  Lisa just got hired full time after months of sending out resumés and cover letters, so I have hope!

Starbucks tea

When I got home, I followed my 5-minute meal plan and based my dinner around Trader Joe’s Lentil Rice Biryani.

TJ's Lentil Rice Biryani

I sautéed 1/3 block of tofu in olive oil and Emeril’s Original Essence, and added it to the rice.  I also steamed some green beans. Fast, easy, and just in time for Gossip Girl.

Monday Night Dinner

For dessert I gave Gena‘s raw banana soft serve a go.

banana soft serve

I got a little impatient, which is why it looks a little smoother than it should… I melted Pure Dark chocolate and made a little sauce, and sprinkled cinnamon on as well. Yum!

Erin tagged Lilveggiepatch the other day as an “Over the Top” blog.  If you haven’t read Erin’s blog, “Living and Loving in LA” yet, you really should!  This lady ran her first marathon a couple weeks ago, and is a really sweet blogger I am proud to call my friend.  Here are some fun, random questions and answers…

1. Where is your cell phone? Charging
2. Your hair? Down, bangs pinned up. I need a haircut!
3. Your mother? Lunch tomorrow
4. Your father? Dinner Thursday
5. Your favorite food? Ice cream!
6. Your dream last night? Hmm.
7. Your favorite drink? Water. Vodka-soda. Wine.
8. Your dream/goal? Food. Books. Arts. Travel.
9. What room are you in? Bedroom.
10. Your hobby? Cooking, running, reading, playing.
11. Your fear? Unemployment.
12. Where do you want to be in 6 years? Settled.
13. Where were you last night? In bed watching Heroes.
14. Something you aren’t?  Settled.
15. Muffins? Vita.
16. Wish list item? A job…
17. Where did you grow up? Manhattan.
18. Last thing you did? Made banana ice cream.
19. What are you wearing? Two shirts, a cardigan, and leggings.  It’s all about the comfy layers.
20. Your TV? Gossip Girl!
21. Your pets? Leila Chihuahua.
22. Your friends? Love them.
23. Your life? Close to perfect.
24. Your mood? A little rickety, but on the mend!
25. Missing someone? QT
27. Something you’re not wearing? Socks, a ring, a watch.  They always come off first when I get home!
28. Your favorite store? Owl’s Lab
29. Your favorite color? Never chose one…
30. When was the last time you laughed? A couple hours ago.
31. Last time you cried? Saturday.
32. Best Friend? Several. You know who you are.
33. One place that I go over and over again? Subway tunnels.
34. One person who emails me regularly? Mama.
35. Favorite place to eat? Cozy in bed or at a favorite restaurant.

Thanks again, Erin! Because I hate to choose my, everyone should feel free to answer the trivia!

For Greek yogurt lovers: Kristina from Stonyfield Farms wants me to let you know about a great coupon opportunity that’s going on on Facebook.  When you buy any two (2) containers of Oikos organic Greek yogurt, you get a coupon for $2.00! Check it out here.

 

Off to my internship! Have a great day 🙂

26 responses to “Five Minutes or Less

  1. Your pictures are making me hungry!

  2. I made those vegan pumpkin chocolate squares, too! they turned out awesome. maybe because I unveganized them and used eggs? haha.

  3. Yogurt has a scent?? :/

    I’m glad you’re feeling a bit more upbeat… that always helps! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  4. Haha love that photo of you 😀

    Thank goodness there’s no osteoporosis on the radar!

    Good luck at your internship!

  5. YES–so glad you tried and love the microwave pumpkin thang! How perfect is it!? It gets me every time haha.

    I’m glad your bone density test didn’t show any serious problem; and good for you for staying on track with your goals 🙂

  6. Swwet potato fries are still the best fries I have ever tasted. Sorry your dessert isn’t comong out right…hope for the best next time.

  7. that is funny that you won’t eat yogurt with him in the room 🙂

    Great attitude!!! I love the first picture – you should keep that on the fridge. Every day is a new day and a new chance.

  8. My fiance hates the smell of A LOT of foods I eat too!

    Your tofu/sweet potato dinners looks delicious and the setting looks so comfy 🙂

  9. Gosh, I am so obsessed with those Trader Joe’s microwave packets! They are super tasty.

  10. Thx for the reminder on Sarah’s 5 min pumpk action.
    And on your pumpk miso dressing.
    And your coffee with ALL The fixins’ looks great.
    Glad you’re feeling a bit better my love 🙂
    xoxo

  11. I had something supportive and wise and hilarious to say, but now I’m just thinking about microwave pumpkin pie. Sorry!

  12. I made pumpkin pie yesterday, too!!! (except we don’t have a microwave, so it was just boring oven kind)

    That pic of you is SO super cute.

  13. oh my gosh! I am loving all your eats! Everything looks deelish! I need to make that pumpkin pie in a bowl 🙂 yummy!

  14. The more I see of that microwave pumpkin pie, the more I know I need to have it. Stopping to get a can of pumpkin on the way home now.

  15. aww girlie you have such pretty hair!! love it 🙂
    your eats are fantastic!! totally making me hungry. Im obsessed with that TJ rice meal. oh so delicious.
    will have to try that microwavable pumpkin pie

  16. I love what you got for brunch! The next time I’m in Astoria I’ll have to check that place out. And I like the idea of vegan chocolate chip pumpkin squares! 🙂

  17. you’ve been so productive! and oh hey, optimism!

    too bad about the pumpkin squares. I know overmixing can make for tough or gummy baked goods, especially if it’s a low fat recipe… ?

    pumpkin is on the shopping list for tomorrow! and then fall will commence for me 🙂

  18. breadandwithit

    I think if you make the non-vegan recipe, you’ll have better luck. It’s all about chemistry, and there seem to be some recipes that just work better with eggs, butter, milk, etc.

  19. i made sweet potato and tofu for dinner tonight too! yours looks so good. and the pumpkin squares sound good, too bad they didn’t work out. your tv set up is pretty much exactly the same as mine…laptop on the bed and old episodes of grey’s anatomy =)

  20. glad you started off the day with a positive attitude! way to go!

    and love all the eats! and your gorgeous picture at the beginning!

  21. I want to eat EVERYTHING in this post, but especially that black bean-SP-tofu deal–yum!

  22. I loooove those pumpkin bars! Sorry to hear they didn’t turn out. They are too freakin’ good.

    Keep on trucking on the job front- I have faith something will turn up soon for you!

  23. I was unable to comment for a while, but I have been following your posts! I’m going through a bit of a rough patch as well. I recently hurt my right knee, and I think I will recover, but it is frustrating for my running. I definitely feel it is a release!

    On the job front, I’m sure you will find something. You should use this blog as a resource! It is very well written and reminds me of Eat Live Run, and Jenna was able to use her blog to further her career. Good luck!

  24. Oh, I’m glad you have no negative results for the bone density test. But I hope you find the reasons for the injuries soon, and fix it!

    Good luck on the job search! Meanwhile, keep up your awesome attitude and good eats! 🙂

  25. Glad things are looking up for you!! I guess I never realized that yogurt smelled? Haha!

    That microwaved pumpkin pie looks fantastic! I definitly have to try that soon.

    Yay for strong bones!! Ahh I always have to wear socks when I’m home – my feetsies get cold!

Leave a Reply

