Two Apples A Day? If you Insist.

Good morning, sunshines! It feels just like monsoon season over here… when I woke up yesterday it was raining, and it still is now!  At least I’ve been getting better about bringing my umbrella (or parapluie, en français) so it’s actually been kind of nice.  There’s something so pleasant about being indoors and cozy with the rain outside, don’t you think?  When I was in fifth grade our teacher had us make a list of things that helped us write… “rain” was on there!

Yesterday I made another batch of Sarah‘s Microwave Pumpkin Pie… so, so good.  I knew I probably wouldn’t be able to snack until lunch since I had to go to my internship, so I made it a little heartier with a container of Trader Joe’s Organic Nonfat Greek Yogurt, one whole Gala apple, and cinnamon.

Microwave Pumpkin Pie w/ Apple

I read some interesting things at work until lunchtime, when I met my mom at Pinto, a Thai restaurant that has a great prix-fixe. For $8, you get a salad, appetizer, and entrée.  Pretty good price, especially for New York City!

Tuesday Mom

We both warmed up with jasmine tea.  It was served in a coffee press, which neither of us had ever seen used for tea before.

Thé pressé

In addition to my salad (which came with a fabulous lemon dressing), I started with the tofu seaweed soup.  I was surprised to find glass noodles at the bottom of the bowl!

Pinto Lunch 1

My mom and I both selected the Thai Basil for our entrée.

Thai Basil

Mine came with shrimp, hers with beef.

Thai Basil w/ Shrimp

I had a couple bites of rice, but focused on the main event.  I did a pretty good job on it!

Thai Basil Sauce

After lunch my mom took me to buy some vitamins, then she went back to work and I walked across town to the gym.  It wasn’t raining, but was very damp.  The city is beautiful, but needs a little wringing out.

Wet New York Fall

At the gym I biked for 30 minutes and did some ab work.  I didn’t do the “cool down” today; I know I should, but it usually depends on how anxious I am to get off the machine.  On Monday I was reading an interesting magazine, so I stayed on for 50 minutes.  Do you stay for a cool down?

On the way out, I tore into the Jonagold apple my mom brought me from upstate.  It was huge! I had to violate the “absolutely no photography” rule to show you how big it was.

Apple at the gym

When I got home I researched and applied to some temping agencies; hopefully I’ll hear something soon.  Ari was working in the kitchen, so, friendly girlfriend that I am, I went out quite a bit to visit.  That may have been more about the bag of pretzels that he had next to him, though…

I was on my own for dinner, which I made while catching up with some friends and enjoying some pinot noir.  Recently, I’ve really been enjoying drinking cold red wine.  Do you chill your red or keep it at room temperature?

Pinot Noir

I made a quick batch of roasted Brussels sprouts:

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Basic Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  • 1/2 pint Brussels sprouts, washed
  • 2 T olive oil
  • salt
  • fresh cracked pepper
  • balsamic vinegar

Preheat oven to 450.  Chop stems off Brussels sprouts, and cut in half, top-to-bottom.  Combine olive oil, salt and pepper in the bottom of a glass baking dish.  Add sprouts, and toss to coat evenly.

Put dish in oven and bake 20 minutes.  The outer leaves should have begun to brown, but the rest should be bright green.

Drizzle a little balsamic vinegar over the sprouts.  Less is more, so start with about 1 tablespoon and add additional balsamic if desired.

Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

I combined the sprouts with spinach, steamed green beans, grape tomatoes, julienned carrots and TJ’s Meatless Meatballs, and made a simple EVOO/balsamic/mustard vinaigrette.

Salad with Brussels Sprouts

FYI: I eat my salads out of a 3 quart Pyrex baking dish!  No ordinary bowl can handle these beasts 🙂

For dessert, I finished up the Light Phish Food and mixed in a teaspoon of Nutella.  Mmm.

Ice Cream & Nutella

When Ari came home, we watched It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown, which I hadn’t seen in years. I haven’t laughed so hard at a non-Hangover-style in a while.  Thank you, Charlie Brown.

29 responses to “Two Apples A Day? If you Insist.

  1. I really hate cooling down, I just want to collapse on the floor after a workout, but I go ahead and do it anyways. I know I should and I need to stretch or be stiff the next day. I like cold red wine myself.

  2. First of all. You look GORG(eous) in that apple pic! The bans look flawless. I know how hard that is to achieve sometimes! 🙂

    Second. That Thai place has my name aaaaall over it: cheap and delicious? Sign me up! Let’s add it to the list, shall we?

    Third and fourth: dinner and dessert. Beauty and deliciousness all at once! I love me some brussel sprouts… and ice cream too, duh 🙂

    I feel like we’re due for another rendezvous soon, yes yes?! Good luck with the temp stuff (really good idea!) and see you sooner rather than later!

  3. I like red wine cold as well. I get the craziest looks when I order it while out to dinner and ask for ice cubes, but I don’t care 😉

  4. *mental note to try that microwave pumpkin pie*

    I drink all wine chilled, all the time. I apparently lack a discriminating palate in this area. 😉

    You’re not allowed to take pictures in the gym??

    ❤ ❤

  5. I suck at doing cool downs. I just want to get off ellipticals or bikes when I’m done. You must belong to a Crunch too because I recognize the soap. They are not kidding about those rules though. I saw someone get yelled at for looking at her phone.

  6. Classic Charlie Brown viewing 🙂

  7. nutella is good on everything, isn’t it?

    love that you broke the “no photo” rule – that is a funny shot.

    love your trench!

  8. i suck at cool downs haha but sometimes i like them to catch up on reading too 🙂 and i find myself eating two apples a day a lot…

    xoxo,
    shelley
    findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. I’m bad. I NEVER stay for a cool down. 😦

  10. $8 is such a great price for that meal!! That’s a big apple – how delicious! I love the gigantic apples that are in stores now. Way to be rebellious with the photo, too!

    Love the dinner! Sounds like a fantastic night in 🙂

  11. Now THAT is a salad! I so appreciate the simple humor of Charlie Brown. Maybe that means I’m old 🙂

  12. Ok– I am very comforted by the fact that you, too, are finding it difficult to resist making the pumpkin cakes a dietary staple. There’s really no reason to, I suppose. (Except, I’m out of pumpkin!!)

    Pinto looks great! Have you ever been to Spice? It has a really similar lunch special, and the food is INCREDIBLE.

    Fingers crossed for your job apps 🙂

  13. breadandwithit

    I think that apple is bigger than your pumpkin. Are you going to invite Jack to move from oatmeal to pumpkin?

  14. love old-school charlie brown movies. my favorite is a charlie brown christmas!

  15. I love my BS and your roasted Brussels sprouts look phenomenal!
    Red wine, room temp, whatever that may be. But I never chilled it when I was a drinker. I have been a nondrinker for 4 yrs due to motherhood. Bout to start boozing again I think 🙂
    Your red wine looks delish!

  16. Hmm I’ve never tried chilled red wine before, only chilled white wine. It certainly sounds interesting though!

    Your brussel sprouts look divine, perfect for a chilly fall night:)

  17. Thai food + roasted brussel sprouts + red wine + ice cream and nutella +fresh apples…looks like a good day!

  18. that is a good deal for lunch!

    oh, I miss the fall colors back east!

    I grew up drinking chilled (often homemade) red wine. I love chilled red. ghetto-Italian style, woot!

    only a mixing bowl can contain my salads 🙂

  19. Ha! I literally just finished watching Charlie Brown, too! I am debating whether to show my students Charlie Brown or parts (all?!?) of The Nightmare Before Christmas…. decisions, decisions….

    Mmm, them brussel sprouts look mighty tasty right now. And I wish I had a microwave to recreate such a breakfast….

  20. traynharder23

    love the full moon in the bathroom apple pic. mm i miss brussel sprouts!

  21. Love apples! So glad apple season is in full swing and that they are nice and cheap at the food store! Your roasted brussels look fantastic (one of my favorite veggies). What a fun lunch with the mama!

  22. I love roasted brussels sprouts! Yours look divine.

  23. yay for lunch with mom, and that thai is a STEAL!!!! plus, i adore that trenchcoat you have on. tres chic!

  24. cooling down is my fav part of any workout 😉

  25. ahhh…charlie brown!!

    and i usually cool down by just walking around a little bit…

    love the meal with mom! looks great!

  26. awe that meal with your momma looks and sounds so great!

    I love BIG apples 😀 My favorite!

    Your brussle sprout dish looks awesome 🙂

    i generally have my red wine at room temp. and white wine chilled.

  27. Ah man, now I am really jonesin for some brussels sprouts! Never tried those TJ’s Meatless Balls, but they look amazing.

  28. I always need huge bowls for my salad too!!! I hate it when all of the precious ingredients go sloshing over the sides.

    I’m also trying to convince my friends to watch Charlie Brown this weekend, but they all want to watch the Exorcist and other scary movies instead. Ick, not fun!

  29. That really is a gigantic and beautiful apple. I love your dinner, roasted brussels sprouts are one of my favorite things and those meatless balls look YUMMY!

Leave a Reply

