The Mysterious Squash

Good morning and happy Thursday! It’s going to be a good day, I can just tell ๐Ÿ˜€ย  How has your week been going? What was the most surprising or thing that brought you the most happiness?

The rolled oats stash still hasn’t been replenished, and I haven’t gotten a new batch of steel-cut whipped up yet, so I had to think a little about what I wanted for breakfast yesterday.ย  I opened the fridge, pulled out the almond butter, and…

Empty Almond Butter Jar

Oh no! Take me to a Trader Joe’s and make no stops on the way!ย  Well, I don’t know when I’m actually going to get to TJ’s, so I tried to leave a little nut butter on the sides to make oats-in-a-jar when the time is right.ย  That wasn’t enough for breakfast, though, so I pulled out a sample of Sunbutter that I’ve had lying around for a few months.

Sunbutter 1

Sunbutter 2

When squeezed out, it looks likes this:

Sunbutter 3

One Ezekiel English muffin half had almond butter and TJ’s pumpkin butter, the other Sunbutter and raspberry jam.

Ezekiel breakfast

The Sunbutter definitely tastes like sunflower seeds.ย  I think I still prefer almond and peanut butters, but this was a nice change.ย  I don’t know if I would buy a whole jar of this, but if I had more travel packets I would use them for on-the-go snacking.

I took all of my new vitamins with breakfast (except the melatonin, which is only for when I really can’t sleep at night).

Vitamins

Unfortunately I didn’t read the label carefully when I was at the store and bought the powdered Ester-C (which aids iron absorption) instead of the capsule, which means I have to drink it.ย  And let me tell you, this is one of the worst tastes I’ve ever known.

I worked and researched most of the morning, and broke for lunch around noon before I had to leave for physical therapy.ย  I made a big salad through my session:

Lunch Salad

In the mix:

It was a big salad! I almost couldn’t finish it, but I’m not usually one to leave greens on my plate.ย  I went into the city to get my H1N1 flu shot (seasonal flu shot has already sold out almost everywhere), then went across town to my physical therapy appointment.ย  I was early, so I popped into Tasti to get a treat and read a little.ย  I got a small cup of chocolate raspberry mousse:

Chocolate Raspberry Mousse Tasti

My appointment went really well.ย  I really like my therapist; she’s a former marathoner and current Half-Iron Man-er, and just seems to know what she’s doing (a welcome change).ย  Sheย  worked with me for over an hour, and came to the same conclusion as the first PT:ย  my muscles aren’t strong enough to support the kind of running I’m doing. If I want to be an endurance athlete and compete in races, my quads, glutes, calves, etc. have to be really strong.ย  I need to work on strength moves, increasing my flexibility (stretching, rolling out with the foam roller) and core moves every day. My knees do point in (the first PT diagnosed me with “squinting patellae”) but strengthening my quadraceps will force them back into place.ย  And the even better news? I can start back up again (slowly) in the next few days, and can run the 15K in December!!!

She asked if I’d be okay with running on the treadmill for a few minutes to analyze my gait, and you should have seen the way my eyes lit up.ย  Running? Now? Even though I hate the treadmill, I felt like I was flying.ย  I do pronate, and my hips do come out and come forward when they shouldn’t (which has caused tightness in my IT band that I didn’t even know about until she worked it through with her fingers), but it can all be corrected.ย  Woohoo!!!! I’m going back today; she wants to see me twice a week for a month or so.ย  Thank the lordy. If I had a job right now, I wouldn’t have this kind of flexibility!

On the ride home, I was hungry again so I snacked on a Trek Mix bar.

Trek Mix Bar

When I got home, I did some more searching and researching, and started to think about dinner.ย  It was going to take a couple hours to make, so when Ari ordered sushi for himself and Josh I politely requested my very own sweet potato roll.

Sweet Potato Roll

Seriously, I don’t know how I didn’t know about these until now.ย  What would I do without Ilana and Ari? Amazing!

My own dinner was based on this recipe.ย ย  When I went to the produce store, I found a squash I’d never seen before.ย  It started with a G… Galaban? Galabaga? When I looked it up on this handy squash glossary, however, I discovered that it was one of the most popular squashes with bloggers: the kobucha!

Kobucha Squash

These were sold already halved; each half was about 70 cents.

I changed the recipe a little bit; I halved the “pudding” recipe, only used egg whites (I don’t have whole eggs), didn’t use anise, and used red onions instead of scallions.

Roasted Corn Pudding in Kobucha Squash

It took a long time to cook (about an hour and a half), but the results were worth it.

Roasted Corn Pudding in Kobucha Squash 2

I ate one half of the squash and saved the rest for another day.ย  It was really satisfying, and so good that I ended up eating the skin, too! Oops.

Roasted Corn Pudding in Kobucha Squash 3

For dessert, I smeared a pumpkin bar with peanut butter.ย  It wasn’t worth it: still tasted bad.ย  Into the trash they go!

Pumpkin Blondie

Ari and I took Carlye‘s suggestion and watched the pilot of Psych.ย  We thought there would be a few more episodes on the first disc, but it was just the one! So off I go to the mailbox… must make sure there’s a Halloween movie here for Saturday!

Have a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. Averie is giving away ProBar Fruitition bars!

22 responses to “The Mysterious Squash

  1. SO SO glad that there’s good news!!

    We must chat on Halloween – you know it’s my favorite holiday ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. oh, I’m so glad the appointment went well! That’s awesome.

    I still haven’t tried my sunbutter, either. I have that same packet and i keep forgetting about it!

  3. glad your appointment went well!

  4. Hooray! I’m glad that your appointment went so well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Where did you get the packets of Sunbutter? I wanted to try it, but I’m not about to shell out the big bucks for a jar, considering how long it takes me to get through a jar of nut butter. I bought sunflower seeds instead to make my own. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m puzzled about the squash… could it have been calabaza??

    โค โค

  5. SO happy for you!!!!! i knew that everything would work out and you’d be back and better in no time! now we have to run in central park ASAP — tell me when, i’m all in!

    oh and sweet p roll? genius. i want to kiss the person who came up with that! so glad you enjoy them too ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Such awesome news! I am so happy for you ๐Ÿ˜€ Keep us updated on the appointments and training!

    I am bookmarking that squash recipe- looks amazing! Have you tried the Taste Delite muffins? I only saw them in the store by Columbus Circle and have been eating them every day since I found them last weekend!

  7. So glad kabocha has found its way into your life! Don’t worry about the skin–you can eat that too!I always do, out of laziness if nothing else. I don’t mind it at all! Extra fiber and all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’ve been majorly catching up on your blog and just wanted to give a much-belated kudos on quitting your job and all…very inspiring to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Oh no, that almond butter jar was just SCREAMING for oats in a jar!

  9. Congrats on the running news! That is so exciting. Thank you for your sweet comment, it really meant a lot to me.

    Happy Thursday!

  10. It looks like you had such an awesome and fun day, good for you!! I’m sorry the pumpkin bars didn’t work out though. They at least look perdy ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Omg aren’t SP sushi rolls FANTASTIC!? I always try to stray and order fish–since I get so much SP on my own, and not so much on the omega 3 front–but they’re SO GOOD!

    GREAT running news! So happy for you!

  12. OMG I have never even seen sweet pot sushi rolls. I dont get out much ๐Ÿ™‚ They look delish!

    Thx for the contest shoutout and for the cute comment you left me bout me and skylar looking happy in our pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your squash creation looks awesome!

    I think if you did yoga (sorry to sound like a broken record) that it would start to build some muscle mass and/or just build you up & strengthen you in all the right places. When I was younger b4 I was really into yoga, I think my body type was fairly similar to yours, long, thin, and not much muscle going on. Yoga really changed that for me b/c I never thought of myself as a strong person and well now, I do ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Psych is one of my favorite shows. I really hope you enjoy it!

  14. I love your vitamin cocktail!! I’m so happy our PT appointment went well – that’s fantastic news that you’ll be able to do the race!

    Uhhh, I would love to try some of those potato rolls – YUM! I hope you like Psych, it’s a fun show!

  15. Yay, I am glad this experience with the therapist wasn’t so frustrating. I hope that everything works itself out soon!

    Also, your squash concoction looks incredible. Gimme!

  16. southerngracesblog

    SO glad to hear the wonderful PT news ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
    And that sweet potato roll…I did not know that existed! I’m sure it doesn’t exist in New Orleans, haha.
    Hope your Thursday was beautiful!!!

  17. what great news! so glad you like your therapist, and you can get back into running!

    sweet potato sushi is too. good.

  18. i’m so glad to hear the appointment went well!!! i think i have the same issue that all parts of my legs need to be strong for me to run w/o injury…i sure am tryin!

  19. Mmm I love me some Sunbutter. Hence, my sample pack disappeared long ago…

  20. thats so awesome that you can be running again ๐Ÿ™‚

    that sunbutter looks faaantastical
    so does your squash! dang!

  21. Fantastic news! It sounds like you have run into (no pun intend I swear!) the perfect PT for you.

  22. I forget if you’ve tried the Chocolove Crystallized Ginger bars, but if you haven’t, they are wonderful! And I don’t even like ginger that much.

Leave a Reply

