Fifteen Minutes

Hey there! How was your Tuesday? Mine began in a hurry and ended with ice cream, and now I’m in bed watching Michael Clayton.   Ari’s leaving tomorrow to go Vigilante and we’ve all got things to do, so this is going to be a quickie!

Yesterday started off on a good note with a generous portion of Oats In A Jar.

Oats in A Jar

In the mix:

  • PB jar w/ about 1 T PB
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 2 dried apricots
  • 1 dried fig
  • dried cherries

Mighty fine, I tell ya.  I should finish jars of nut butter every day!

Oats in A Jar 2

After breakfast, I hustled over to Starbucsk to get some work done.  I sipped on a Grande Skim Misto with a shot of espresso for a few hours…

Skim Misto w/ Espresso

… and spaced my lunch out over about four hours to maximize my efficiency.  Every 100 pages, for example, I could eat another part of my meal.  It’s a pretty good trick! I had honeydew

Honeydew

… samples of marble cake and hazelnut-espresso truffle drink (too sweet for me)…

Starbucks Samples

mixed greens with fake chicken nuggets

Fake Chicken Salad

TJ’s plain nonfat Greek yogurt with YouBarsChocolate Peanut trail mix

YouBar Chocolate Peanut Trail Mix in Greek Yogurt

rebel carrots

Carrots

… and a grapefruit.   When I was really young I used to snack throughout the day rather than have square meals, and there’s something to be said for this! It works nicely when I’m trying to be productive, but I think I prefer eating three times a day, plus snacks.  Do you eat three meals or snack throughout the day?

Grapefruit

Dinner was a really, really big salad.  I love these! I eat almost an entire head of romaine or bag of spinach at a time.

Dinner Salad

In the mix:

  • 1 handful spinach
  • 4 romaine leaves
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 Gala apple
  • 1 TJ’s frozen salmon patty
  • dulse flakes
  • cilantro-chili vinaigrette

I overdid it on dessert a little bit… I just kept going back for more Edgies!  My tum was a little unhappy with me when I went to bed, but I’m pretty sure the brownies were worth it 😉

Edgie Brownies Edgie Brownie

I thought I was going to wait until tomorrow to share this with you, but today my physical therapist gave me the okay to run.  With the exception of the two minutes I ran on the treadmill during my first therapy session, I haven’t really run since I hurt my knee during my 10K race.  My therapist only let me run for 15 minutes, but it felt great! I didn’t feel any pain in my knee, and felt proud that I had followed the doctor’s and therapist’s orders to stay off my legs until the time was right.  But baby, I’m back!

What made you proud today?

21 responses to “Fifteen Minutes

  1. I finished my research essay! I’m super proud of that! 😀
    I eat 5 meals a day. They’re all substantial meals though, not really snacks…

  2. What made me proud was that I finished all of my big assignments for the day, so I had some time for relaxation!!

  3. quick comment but this
    hazelnut-espresso truffle drink (too sweet for me)…

    I would have GLADLY chugged yours, omg that sounds divine & nothing is ever too sweet for me. I am crazy that way 🙂

  4. Congrats on the green light to run!

    I’m also a snacker but I don’t like not having an idea of what I ate, so I try and keep it under control…notice I said try!

  5. I hope my Starbucks has samples of that for me on Thursday (that’s my next planned trip there–only twice a week, I’m limiting like that).
    Also, YAY for being able to run!!! So exciting. I can’t wait to hear all about it! Take it easy, and way to go listening to the doctors!!! That’s not easy at all.

  6. ah! You must be super excited to run! Hooray for the good news. Lots of yummy eats today- melon looks so juicy and good. Love bucks….I would live there!

  7. Yay! I’m so happy that you are able to run again. You are going to be a speed demon now:)

    Thanks for your b-day wishes and let me know if you want to grab dinner some time, we never celebrated your birthday yet!

  8. breadandwithit

    I don’t snack very often, but an apple or some fresh veggies (carrots, celery, sugar snap peas) satisfies the craving for something crispy and thirst-quenching and sweet all at the same time.

    Then there’s popcorn….

    I’m proud of my family.

  9. I guess I eat meals and snacks… it gets annoying to try and quantify it though!

    Since it’s not even 9 AM yet, it’s kind of hard for me to be proud of much today… 😉

    ❤ ❤

  10. Proud that I listened to my tired-ass body and slept 11 hours last night. I blame it on jet lag combined with time change…

  11. Congrats on being able to run!!! That’s wonderful news 🙂 I went to starbucks yesterday too and was sooo excited to see the red cups! have a good day!

  12. those brownies look deadly delicious! my ideal baked good!!! yay for being able to run now.

  13. Fake chicken nuggets are the best!! I love that Starbeezie’s has their holiday cups out. Now WFs and Panera need to get their holiday decor out 🙂

    I am definitely a snacker!! I love to feel like I’m eating a lot so it’s all about the mini meals in my world.

    YAY for being able to run even if it was 15 minutes!! That’s awesome, I’m so happy for you 🙂

  14. yay for running! That’s awesome 🙂

    oats in a jar are the best!

  15. I finally sent back 2 Netflix DVD’s and reduced my subscription to one at a time. Definitely a little thing but it made me feel good.

  16. YAY! So happy you can run 😀 😀 😀

    A too sweet drink? That is a concept I will never be able to grasp. I eat 3 meals and 1 snack…though I use those terms very loosely. Often my snacks are bigger than meals, or my meals are snack foods/snacks are ‘meal’ food.

  17. loooove grapefruit! I carve it up and eat it as part of a meal sometimes like with cereal for bfast. YUMS

  18. i do like my snackytime…somedays i would just rather graze and know i can enjoy some yumminess every couple hours. and i LOVE reading at coffee shops while sipping coffee – it is truly one of the simple pleasures in life.

    i wish i liked grapefruit, but i don’t. too bitter. but that salad looks AMAZING!

    and of course, CONGRATS ON RUNNING AGAIN!

  19. wish you were closer– my man is gone ALL the time, we could chill! at least you’re somewhere more civilized than i am 😉
    HOORAY for getting to run again!

  20. I had oats in a jar this morning 😀

  21. I’m definitely a snacker during the busy work week. on the weekends I try to make sure hub and I get some actual meals in us 🙂

    hm, I’m proud that I managed to cross off most of my to-do list today. that’s always a good feeling!

    yay for running again!

Leave a Reply

