Early to bed, early to rise…

Is it wrong that it’s only 9:15 and I’m considering going to sleep as soon as I Love You, Beth Cooper (one of the silliest movies I’ve seen) is over?  When sleep calls, I’m not one to ignore it!

Yesterday I got up early, packed up, had a quick breakfast and headed out.  I toasted an Ezekiel English muffin and topped one half with a light Babybell cheese and egg whites and the other with peanut butter and raspberry jam. Fun fact: I lost my first tooth in a Babybel cheese!

Breakfast Sandwiches

I met my mom at our voting station to do my duty, then took care of some paperwork so my visa will be in order for Russia.  I still can’t believe I’ll be there in less than a month! I also can’t believe the high will be 9˚ Fahrenheit.  Brr!

Mama brought me a Jonagold to help me sign and date papers for the embassy.  It was hard work!

Apple

When that was all taken care of, we set off in search of a great coat for an even better price.  We found a good one at The North Face, but are going to keep checking around some more.  Who makes your warmest coat?

We broke for lunch at Le Pain Quotidien.  Because it’s a chain restaurant, they’re required to post the calories in all of their dishes.  Their meals are really healthy, but it’s nice to be reminded of what’s inside your food!

Le Pain Quotidien

My mom and I split the seasonal appetizer special: red quinoa with roasted beets and butternut squash.

Red Quinoa with Roasted Beets & Butternut Squash

I only had a couple bites because my entrée was huge!  I ordered the shrimp salad with avocado, mango, and salsa.   It was mighty fine… I ate every scrap.

Shrimp Salad

We were full, but not too full for dessert 😀  We set off in search of frozen yogurt, and bumped into Ada on the way! To celebrate her 19th birthday, she’d just gone on a 13 mile run!
Ada had also just come from The Lite Choice, and told us the flavors were worth the trip.   I got a small cup with Oreos ‘N Cream and Espresso Truffle.

TLC

After our treat, I left my mom and went across town for physical therapy.  I have another appointment tomorrow to see how my therapist thinks I’m doing after my fifteen minutes on the treadmill… I’m very optimistic! In the past month, I have been to four different branches of my gym.  The one I went to yesterday was by far the biggest, but it was also the most confusing! I literally got lost in the locker room. Twice.  What do you like most about your gym?

When I got home Ari had some errands to run so I tagged along.  I brought an apple with cinnamon for the ride, and for the second time in a row, Ari ate half of it! I think I’m rubbing off on him 😀

Cinnamon Apple

Since The Upwelling is going to be on the road for the next month, Ari and I decided to go out to dinner to spend a little time together to get away the craziness of packing.  He had a few things to do before we could go, and my stomach couldn’t wait.  I ripped into Josh’s bag of barbecue-flavored pretzel thins… I’m not a huge fan of bbq-flavored chips, but I could have eaten the whole bag.  I don’t know what it is about flat pretzels, but they really get me going!

BBQ Wing Pretzel Crisps

Ari was craving chicken parm so we went to the diner for dinner.   Now, while I love going there for eggs, something feels a little off about eating there for a meal other than breakfast.  It turns into a more upscale restaurant, but I’m just not a fan of their post-brunch fare.  We still had a very nice time.

All dinner entrées come with soup or salad, and I went with salad.  Hello, onions! (Sorry, boyfriend.)

Side Salad

Nibble at the dinner roll… starting to feel those pretzels!

Dinner Roll

For my main, I ordered the pecan-crusted ahi tuna in a balsamic-fig reduction with Mediterranean orzo and cherry tomatoes.   It was good, but very filling.  Orzo is such a confusing (but delicious!) grain… it looks just like rice but I always forget it’s actually pasta! I also forget how much I like it.  I’m going to see if I can find a whole wheat variety at the grocery store.

I ate about 2/3 of this and boxed the rest up.

Seared Tuna w/ Orzo

For dessert I had a bowl of Ben & Jerry’s Everything But The… ice cream with a warmed up Edgie brownie.  No one will ever accuse me of not knowing how to indulge!

Brownies & Ice Cream

Now that Ari’s gone for a little while, I’m going to be cooking a lot more and eating out a lot less.  We like to eat home-cooked meals when he’s home, too, but we’re on such different schedules that it’s often hard to coordinate dinner.  It’s a goal of mine to cook more frequently when we’re both around… I’m pretty sure that any dish with mushrooms in it is a safe bet 😉

Hope you had a fabulous day. Bonne nuit 🙂

27 responses to “Early to bed, early to rise…

  1. Wow, Russia sound so exciting! And COLD!

  2. Katie- check steepandcheap.com. It is where I get all my gear at great prices. The parent company, backcountry.com, is also awesome for deals. My warmest coat is a down jacket by Marmot.

  3. Hey, I would probably be in bed by now if not for the World Series…

    My warmest coat is a down jacket by Zero Xposur… I was intending to buy something that wasn’t as warm as a coat so I went with a jacket, but I wear that a lot more in the dead of winter because it is SO warm.

    ❤ ❤

  4. This: Oreos ‘N Cream and Espresso Truffle.
    Just sounds off the dairy chain. Holy crap that sounds good. I have to be dairy free. My tum cannot handle dairy. At all. Especially ice crm and/or softserve so sigh….I will never get to eat that.

    I love that your bed is from West Elm. I love that freakin store. I gladly trade dairyfree life off as long as i can shop there LOL

    Thx for your love & support doll. It’s nice to have a friend out there, I love reading your comments always 🙂

  5. I need a new winter coat as well. The warmest that I have come accross are from The North Face. But, I don’t foresee and 9 degree weather in my near future.

  6. you’ve got me craving ice cream again! …although I’m kinda shivering just thinking about Russia!

  7. My coat from Columbia is suuuuper warm. Isn’t that long black one you have warm, though? You’ve survived MN in it, at least! (The weather here and there are practically the same in winter.)

    Your “diner” sure does get fancy at night! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of one serving ahi tuna and orzo…

  8. My warmest coats are from Express and Guess 😀

  9. breadandwithit

    Warm: Canada Goose and Marmot. Check out the CG Trillium and their Expedition, and the Marmot Mammoth.

  10. i get most of my stuff bargen hunting! or at thrift shops

  11. GIRL, if you knew how early i go to bed sometimes….

    and macaroni necklaces!! i died! that is a trip. We totally should.

    Hurray for Mommy time and froyo.

    Papa GC has been kinda enough to do ALL of my Visa paperwork. I just had to pose begrudgingly for the picture. (I’m such a drama queen, right?!)

    LOVEZ TO YOUUUU

  12. I’m so jealous of your frozen yogurt!!!!!! I need some. We may need to take a trip into my favorite place in Charleston tonight 🙂 SO cool that you’re going to Russia! Fun lunch with mama. I think the calorie listings are a good reminder to all of us to make healthy decisions. I wish more restaurants had to do that!

  13. ah, I wish we had that restaurant and yogurt place here!

    your lunches with you mom always look like so much fun 🙂

  14. Hi love! Everything you did and ate today looked great! Especially the frozen yogurt and ice cream 😉
    I really like orzo, too! It’s good cold as a salad…love it.
    I am so excited to see what you cook up while Ari is away! How exciting…cooking is fun, but I see what you mean about the convenience of eating out.
    Happy Thursday!

  15. My warmest coat is made by North Face, I think they make good coats. I assume you get the New Yorker, for some reason or another, and so I was wondering if you’ve read the article about Jonathan Gold (he was also on This American Life about a year ago), and if you read his blog/articles? He sounds like the ultimate food blogger.

  16. I have a very nice, stylish royal blue pea coat from j crew, but I also have a very toasty ski jacket from LL Bean.

    Can I just tell you I love love LOVE how much variety you incorporate into your diet. It’s definitely a challenge to keep myself excited about nutrition, and reading your blog is great inspiration to mix it up a little 🙂 keep it up!

  17. Haha! My coat (the long puffyish one) cost me $4 at American Eagle! It was $100 off, and I had a gift card (because of a christmas present I returned) for $30. Thus…FREE COAT! And it’s warm.

  18. It got me through Russia in January, anyway!

  19. mmm, these eats look great! And sometimes it’s nice and refreshing to go to sleep early!

  20. That’s so exciting that you’ve filed your paperwork for Russia! I still can’t believe you’re actually going there!!!!

    Yum, I love Le Pain Quotidien. I’ve never seen that appetizer before but it looks fab. It was great to see you and meet your mom, and I’m glad The Lite Choice had such good flavors;)

  21. i haveto go the le pain quotiedien next time im in the city!

    hehe i lost my first tooth eating oatmeal, who woulda thunk it

  22. Love your breakfast… and of course, the frozen yogurt!

  23. Best thing about my gym? I can walk to it!

  24. You better pack some layers when you go to Russia, missy! Either that or take lots of shots of vodka 😉

    I love that breakfast combo! Those pretzels sound dangerous!! Whenever you or another NY blogger post TLC, I get so jealous. Come on, MI!!

  25. ahhhh do you think your dad will let me tag along to russia as well?!?!

    yay for yummy eats + ice cream. i don’t think anyone would accuse me of not knowing how to indulge either 🙂

    best thing about my gym? it’s right on my walk home!

  26. that shrimp salad is my dream meal! LOves it.

Leave a Reply

