Wynken, Blynken & Nod return

Honesty is the best policy, and I’ve got to admit that there’s about a 70% chance that my eyes will close and this post will go up tomorrow morning instead.  Daylight Savings + changing time zones must be catching up with me!

Today was an absolutely lovely day.  I woke up earlyish and met my grandparents downstairs in the breakfast nook.

Breakfast Nook

I had an English muffin with peanut butter, cinnamon and 1/2 banana and a bowl of plain yogurt with fresh raspberries and blueberriesBreakfast

As I was assembling my breakfast, my grandfather remarked that there were no redeeming qualities to peanut butter.  Of course, I loved having the opportunity to launch into my spiel about protein, healthy fats, folic, and plain ole great taste!

After breakfast, I gave myself a little time to digest before hopping on the treadmill and pounding out 2 miles.  Luckily, Saved By The Bell was on and I didn’t get bored…

zack_morris4 Source

Nothing like a little Zach Morris to keep your heart rate up!  (Although, he’s clearly underage in this photo, and that makes me feel a little weird.  A little.)

On our way out the door to run some errands, my Granny fed me a carrot and told me about her new method for fast-cooking veggies: steam them in the microwave! Make a pouch out of waxed paper, moisten with a few drops of water, fill with veggies, and nuke for 3 minutes or until cooked.

Microwaved Carrots

Is this the end of rebel carrots?  Maybe, as long as the wax doesn’t break down and seep into the vegetables.

Everyone seemed to still be full from last night’s dinner,  so lunch was kind of informal.  I grabbed a Pink Lady apple on the way out the door…

Pink lady

… and got a Grande Skim Mocha at Starbucks.  Mocha?! Who am I and what have I done with LVP?

Mocha

I must have been really thrown off my my choice, because I immediately spilled it all over my purse.  I’m a bit of a klutz!

Spilled Mocha

An hour or so later, I had my first Nature’s Path product.  I’ve seen these Optimum bars all over the blogs, so I grabbed this when I spotted it on sale.

Optimum Rebound Energy Bar

It was good… the taste and texture reminded me a little of a Luna Cookie.

Optimum Rebound Energy Bar

This is my second lunch in a row that’s been supplemented by energy bars.  I’m not proud of this, but it happens when you travel.

Granny and I took a special trip to the grocery store to look for Celestial Seasonings’ Sugar Cookie Sleighride tea that y’all seem to love… we searched in vein, but I did find this Sweet Coconut Thai Chai tea that will hopefully taste like the coconut chai tea I love.

Tea & Clementine

I also convinced my grandmother that she needs some POM in her life.

I Heart POM

We had an early dinner at Spoonriver, one of my favorite restaurants in Minneapolis.  I was really happy when our waitress asked for my ID when I ordered a Moroccan Mojito (mint, lime, rum, cardamom and rose water).  I haven’t been carded in a few months, but this must mean my wrinkle is getting smaller!  It’s funny… two years ago I would not have enjoyed being IDed at all.

Moroccan Mojito

I had a slice of whole wheat potato bread

Spoonriver Bread

… and my grandmother and I both ordered the Broiled Salmon Okisuki in a savory Japanese Ginger Broth with Fresh Udon Noodles. I think Grandpa was jealous… I am definitely going to recreate this at home.

Spoonriver Salmon

For dessert, we all split a slice of butternut squash-carrot cake with pumpkin-cream cheese frosting.  Oh, mama!

Butternut squash-Carrot cake

After dinner, we went next door to the Guthrie theater to see an evening showing of Faith Healer.  It was a really, really powerful play told entirely in monologues.  I loved it.

When we got home, I took a deep breath of fresh air for Averie on the way up to bed.

Minnesota Air

If it weren’t so late, I’d ask Granny to tuck me into bed.  I used to visit them every summer when I was younger, and until I was 11 or 12 or so, my grandmother would put me to bed with this nursery rhyme.  I have such nice memories of sleeping in this room (when I first started visiting on my own, the floor was covered in a thick pink shag carpet) and being here.  Although I went to college in Minnesota as well and visited a lot, my memories from that time are sort of separated from the time I spent here as a kid.  Do you have any memories of nighttime rituals? If you‘re a parent, how do you put your kids to bed?

Around the blogs: Starting Monday, I am going to do my best to follow Angharad and Holly‘s lead and practice yoga thrice a week.  I am also going to take meal-prepping more seriously, so I don’t stand in front of the fridge with the door open for minutes on end, willing the empty produce drawer to magically refill itself.

Wish Jungwha a happy blogiversary and win big!

Have a great night!

19 responses to “Wynken, Blynken & Nod return

  1. Thanks for the shout out on your page love!!!!<3

    love your outfit in the POM picture btw. you're so pretty! 🙂

    why couldn't we have lived closer???? i would LOVE to meet you if i ever get the chance.
    there's this great vegan japanese retaurant called SHOJIN in LA that I know you'll love<3

    just let me know if you ever get a chance to visit LA.

  2. OMG going to the Guthrie. Did you bump into my parents? Chances are they coulda been there on a Sat nite.

    The salmon and the cake both look phenom…albeit I couldnt eat them but dang, wish I could!

    I am a parent, hear me roar. Kidding 🙂

    Ok so bedtime in our house is about the least standard thing ever. Our 2.5 yr old doesnt go to bed til 11p or later. Tonite it was 11:20pm.

    Basically we eat a late dinner, we play, we do dishes, we brush teeth, read books, play towers & barbies, we all lay in bed and rub each other’s backs and give kissy’s and hugs, then she says mommy I’m kinda sleepy, it’s time for bed. We walk into her room, she nurses (yes, from me) for a few minutes, and she happily goes to bed. There is no crying, no struggle, very happy campers. And then I eat raw vegan cookie dough and surf blogs 🙂

    xoxo

  3. I love that tea, and I also have watched a little Zack Morris while running on the treadmill. Awesome.

    Every night we brush our teeth, read stories, say our prayers and then snuggle for a few minutes. It’s my favorite time of day!

  4. I’m so surprised you haven’t been carded, you look really young!

    I’m glad you’ve been having fun with the grandparents, I hope you convinced your grandpa that peanut butter is an incredible food haha.

    Can I just say that that squash cake looks absolutely amazing???

  5. CHIIIIIC jacket, girl!

  6. Yay! Saved by the Bell is my favorite for treadmill workouts 🙂

    My dad use to sing and rock my sister and I. Those were the days. He used to rub my legs too because growing up they ached all the time.

  7. Aw, looks like your having a great time with family.

  8. what a great time w/ the fam! and that cake looks awesome!

  9. I too love to be carded (at 33 it feels sooooo good)! I remember my dad asking me and my sis if we wanted to be carried to bed “fireman style (over his shoulder) or princess style (cradled)”. It was pretty awesome.

  10. OMG you look SO cute in that fluffy jacket!!! How adorable!
    I think it’s also important to note that Zack Morris was older than us when that picture was taken, so it’s totally fine to think he’s cute.
    I still like Joey from New Kids On The Block too.

  11. Wrinkle, indeed… you don’t look old at all!! :p

    When I was little (and I mean REALLY little, not more than five or six) my dad used to wrap me up in my comforter like a burrito… only we called it a “sock,” because that’s kind of what I looked like when I sat up like that — a big sock.

    ❤ ❤

  12. OMG, that cake!!!!!

    I love ‘Saved By The Bell’. Good times 😀 My grandpa said the exact same thing about peanut butter- I set him straight!

    I used to love it when my dad would come in my room at night and wrap the blanked around me rolled up (like Blue Eyed’s dad!) Though inevitably, after about 5 minutes, I would be squirming around to find my books to look at with a torch!

  13. I LOOOOVE Save by the bell and totally think zach morris is a babe in that picture. Which also makes me WEIRD! 🙂 Your dinner looks divine as do the rest of your eats (including the natures path bar…because I love natuers path 🙂 )

  14. breadandwithit

    I just read that November is Pomegranate Month!

    My favorite nighttime routine was when I’d pretend that I couldn’t sleep and my father would come in an sing “My Blue Heaven” and substitute my name for “Baby”.

  15. Haha, Saved by the Bell always keeps me entertained on the treadmill too:)

  16. ahhhh this post makes me happy. so does that fabulous fur coat you have on! and your grandma is adorable. and thanks for joining in on the yoga. and i have not been to spoonriver…wtf??? but i do love the guthrie and starbucks espresso drinks. oh, and of course, saved by the bell 🙂

    sooo glad you had a good weekend girl – here is to a fabulous week of yoga!!!

  17. You must eat the most beautiful food ever.

    And there’s nothing wrong with loving Zack Morris. Ever.

  18. saved by the bell is and still is the best TV show…that and friends and fresh prince of bel air…love em!!
    that natures path energy bar looks great…never tried it but love natures path products

    OH MY butternut squash, banana carrot cake?? thats insannneeeeee

  19. Katie, that jacket! Stunning! So freakin’ amazing honey baby!
    I can’t believe grandpa said that about PB. He’d probably be amazed at the PB/AB love in this community 🙂
    Why is Saved by the Bell the only thing on besides the news in the morning?!?!!?!?

Leave a Reply

