Back to the Microwave

Evening, chickadees!  How was the rest of your weekend?  I can’t believe it’s over already… the days are just flying by, and I can’t seem to do a thing about it!

Yesterday, my last day in Minnesota, was quite relaxing.  I slept in a little, then woke up, had some fruit…

Scary Clementine

I did quite a number on those grapes!  Produces isn’t safe when I’m around.

Grapes

We had a 12:30 reservation for brunch at the club, so I didn’t want to fill up too much… but I did caffeinate.

Morning Coffee

I loaded my plate to the brim on round one at the buffet…

Brunch Buffet

In the mix:

  • mixed greens
  • artichokes
  • hearts of palm
  • peppers
  • cottage cheese
  • cherry tomatoes
  • pumpkin seeds
  • cauliflower
  • balsamic vinaigrette
  • seafood salad
  • citrus- marinated mushroom
  • strawberries, cantaloupe & pineapple

The halibut cake (about the size of an orange slice)  called to me on round 2.

Halibut Cake

I took a little bit of everything for dessert: mini magic & fudge bars, the bottom of a piece of pumpkin cake, and fresh berries.

Dessert Plate

I sipped on a cup of Darjeeling tea throughout the meal…

Darjeeling Tea

Don’t silk tea sachets feel so fancy? I love it!

Tea Sachet

With good reason, brunch held me over for hours.  We went straight to the airport from the club, with just enough time to check in and board.  I snacked on Pink Lady apple on the plane, more out of boredom than hunger.  (Hopefully I’ll finish this book before the year is out… it’s been long enough!)

Apple

When I got home, I made something quick and easy (although perhaps not as aesthetically pleasing as one might hope): Annie’s Mac & Cheese with a Morningstar Farms Pizza Burger, one small sweet potato, chili flakes and a scoop of nutritional yeast.  The entire thing was made in the microwave! Unfortunately, not all of my meals can be like the ones I ate over the weekend.  If only!

Annie's Mac & Cheese

As per Sunday tradition, I ate my dinner while catching up on Thursday’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy.

Dinner w/ Grey's

I wanted something sweet (because I hadn’t quite had my fill already 😉 ) so I microwaved a banana for 90 seconds and topped it with Pure Dark cardamom chocolate, cinnamon, and agave nectar.

Banana Dessert

The first thing I ever cooked by myself on the stove was a version of this… I used to eat it while watching Wishbone after school.  Pretty cool.

Banana Dessert 2

Well, I’m off to get dinner started.  Please excuse my foreseeable absent-mindedness over the next few days… I have a lot to do to organize myself, and a wedding to go to at the end of the week.  I’ll do my best!

Have a great night 🙂

13 responses to “Back to the Microwave

  1. You should be a hand model. Your paws are so lovely.

  2. Hehehe, love the monster claws 😉

    Wishbone!! Brings back memories…

    Have a lovely evening! xo

  3. Wishbone! I loved Wishbone! If anyone ever references The Red Badge of Courage or The Journey to the Center of the Earth, I immediately think about that little dog.

  4. southerngracesblog

    Aw Wishbone!
    That banana dessert looks very, very good! And your dessert plate from brunch….yum 🙂
    Glad you made it home safe and sound…I enjoyed reading about your weekend spent with your grandparents!!!

  5. I’ve never eaten microwaved banana plain! (Only used it in microwave oats.) I feel like I might fall in love with that!

    Glad you had such good eats while away; I feel like my plate from that buffet would be, like, identical to the one you made! Looks so incredible and packed!

    Have a great week, girl!

  6. I’m glad you had a nice visit!! 🙂

    ❤ ❤

  7. Mama Pea is hilarious!
    I’ve missed you LVP! So glad to see you had a great time in that cold snowy state!
    I also LOVE those silky triangle tea bags. So fancy! Hope you had a great flight back home!!!

  8. buffets like that are amazing! all those eats look delish. im going to have to add chili flakes into my mac and cheese next time

  9. Love your selections at the buffet!
    Cardamom chocolate? Divine!

  10. I have been meaning to read that book! How do you like it?

  11. Wow, I love Pink Lady apples! I can’t find them anymore here! 😦

  12. Brunch looks great, but I think your microwave meal sounds pretty stellar too 😀 Welcome home!

  13. Last night I melted a banana for dessert and thought of you! 🙂

    Maggie

Leave a Reply

