A “Quick Meal”- Themed Day

Good evening, Upper East Siders!  How are you? I’m taking a little work break to blog and catch up on my Gossip.

Last night, after we got back from the wedding, I hunkered down to do some reading and prepare for my interviews.  All of that brain stimulation must have shot my metabolism into overdrive, because only a couples hours after dinner,  my tum was a-grumblin’ something fierce! I thought I might just be thirsty, but that didn’t seem to be it.  Finally, I put down my book and headed into the kitchen to make a bowl of Kashi GoLean and Smart Start. Problem solved!

This morning, I woke up bright and early to see Ari off.  As I mentioned, he’s going Vigilante through December, and had to leave at 7:30 this morning.  I tried to go back to sleep, but my mind was already up and ready to go.  I had to be at physical therapy at 10 anyway, so I just got up and made breakfast.

Taking Jess‘s advice, I heated up half of a Trader Joe’s Berry Mango Bran Muffin, crumbled it up, and tossed in on top of 0% Fage with some warmed frozen berries and a scoop of flaxy PB.  I really like this peanut butter, by the way.   It’s both crackly and crunchy and adds great texture!

Quite the mess!

My therapy session went well… I still have a lot of tightness in pretty much each muscle in my legs, so I have to keep working on that.  Repeat after me: yoga, rolling and stretching, okay!  When I got back, I briefly chatted with the guest who is staying with us, made myself an apple-cinnamon snack, and retreated to my room to be interviewed (via phone) with the HR department for the company I’m interviewing with.

It shaped up to be one of those days where I was constantly hungry, so I made something as soon as the clock showed that it was even remotely close to lunchtime.  Ellie reminded me yesterday about the beauty of the crack wrap, so I made one with a whole wheat wrap, three-layer hummus, and a slice of Jarlsberg cheese.

I ate it with half a can of Progresso’s Fat Free Lentil soup.   This isn’t the tastiest of the canned variety, but I had a hankering for soup.  I’ll definitely be making my own in the near future!

Finished up the meal with a piece of salt water taffy for a sweet end.

I’ve been searching in vain for the seasonal Celestial Seasonings teas (like Sugar Cookie and Gingerbread)… any New Yorkers know where I can track it down?  I settled on a cup of Sweet Coconut Thai Chai, which was a good substitute…

…but it knocked me right out!  Ari caught me snoozing at 5PM when he woke me up with a phone call.  Whoops! I snacked on some carrots to perk me back up…

… then did Yoga Download‘s Hip Opening Flow #2.  I have trouble practicing yoga for more than 20 minutes when I’m not in class… does anyone have tips for staying in the moment? Turning off my phone would probably be a good start!

I heated up some leftover Coconut Barley Pilaf and made a quick salad with kale, broccoli slaw, grape tomatoes, sesame oil and rice wine vinegar.

Honestly, as much as I love my fancy salad dressings, I could probably make a sesame vinaigrette every night and be happy.  It’s simple, but so delicious.  I don’t even use measurements or mix anything together… the vinegar and oil just get drizzled on.

I made another quick dessert, starting with a tri-flavored chocolate sauce using Pure Dark cardamom chocolate, semisweet and bittersweet chocolate chips.

I added a few drops of water, microwaved the bowl for 35 seconds, then mixed in some Brown Sugar ice cream.

And thus concludes another day’s passing without having spent a single extra dollar on food.  I’m going to have to buy some fresh produce soon, as we’re running low on fruit and vegetables, but otherwise the kitchen is pretty stocked.  It’s a satisfying feeling.

Back to work… it’s going to be a late night.  Bonne nuit 🙂

21 responses to “A “Quick Meal”- Themed Day

  1. omg interview!?! we need to catch up soooooon, i cannot take it any longer! also i found sugar cookie sleigh ride at the union square WF this weekend — i think we need to rendezvous!!!

    good luck with the work, lovely! 🙂

  2. That PB thank you for saying you liked it alot.
    Your cardamom choc action..wow.
    Salad dressings that are easy and delish and homemade I’m all over that.
    Yoga & staying in the moment….concentrate on your breath. Inhaling, exhaling, repeat. Dont let your mind drift from your breath.
    Then again, you can let it drift. Let it drift to the asana. And feel the subtle opening of your hip, or your side, or the tug in your hamstrings. Concentrate on what that feels like. Just try to think about what’s going and on and stay present with that.
    Does that help at all?

  3. I think I remember seeing the sugar cookie Celestial Seasonings in the Union Square Food Emporium… but that might have been last year.

    (Yes, I realize I sound totally crazy not remembering that. This is why I’m going to bed now.)

    ❤ ❤

  4. southerngracesblog

    I am loving that “mess” you had for breakfast 🙂
    I know what you mean about not being able to focus on yoga when at home. I have not rolled out my mat in SO long for that very reason. Hmm.
    Loving that melted chocolate medley and ice cream dessert, girl!

  5. I’ve been searching for the sugar cookie tea, too, and I can’t seem to find it anywhere! Everyone seems to love it so much and I really want to see what all the fuss is about.

    I know what you mean about having trouble focusing on yoga outside of an actual class. I find that putting on some of my own music helps, but there really are just too many distractions if I practice in my room!

  6. Wow, that tea sounds right up my alley–chai AND coconut? Delish.

  7. Here is my tip! Focus on a stretching sensation in just one part of your body! For me it’s always my back…feels so good.

  8. P.S. Was that the lamest tip on planet earth? Yes.

  9. im glad your therapy session went well!! BROWN sugar ice cream..wow sounds so amazing

  10. Crack wrap? No way! I have to make a vegan version, stat! I hope the PT just continues to help and help and help!!!

  11. i need to take your advice and use up what i have too! yay for PT – glad you keep on feeling better. and i LOVE that coconut chai tea. one of my faves 🙂

    GOOD LUCK ON YOUR INTERVIEWS!!!! crossing my fingers for ya;)

  12. you can find the teas at bed bath and beyond! i got mine at the one on 19th and 6th 🙂 (strange place to find ’em, i know!)

  13. ah that bed bath and beyond is seriously sooo close to my apt?! never thought to check.. i searched all over and couldn’t find them, so ended up ordering on amazon…

  14. Hang in there with the therapy – hope all heals soon! And good luck with the interviews!

    MISS YOU!

  15. Wow, brown sugar ice cream sounds delicious! I’m sorry that your muscles are still feeling tight, hopefully that sensation will get better soon.

  16. Yay for crack wraps! I am hooked on them once again…too good. Good luck with the interview!

    I found the tea last year in Walgreens (Union Sq)- couldn’t find it this year ANYWHERE but did get a different one (not sure if it’s one you’ve tried, but it’s “Nutcracker Sweet” by Celestial Seasonings and really good!)

  17. cardamom chocolate?!? Yum!

    I’ve seen the tea in Kroger and drug store type places, I think.

    i need to get that pb – it sounds so good!

  18. Your dinner/dessert look divine. Something that helps me stay in the moment when I am doing yoga is turning off artificial light. It is easier for my face to relax, which in turns helps me breathe deeper. Kinda weird, but it works!

  19. Your breakfast sounds and looks delicious 🙂

    I am about to turn on some yoga download 🙂 hip opening one sounds perfect right now.

    xoxox

  20. YUM! Did you like that style of a yogurt mess?? 🙂

    I am loving all the quick meals, by the way! So fast & easy. Sometimes, those are the best! That dessert and yogurt mess is callin’ my name!! Someone has a major sweet tooth right now….;)

  21. cookingforaveganlover

    that chai tea sounds yummy

Leave a Reply

