Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Leek Soup

First things first (and I might get in trouble for this later)… HAPPY BIRTHDAY ARI! Feel free to send him a little hello 🙂 He’s not a big “birthday person,” but I still wish we were together.  When he gets back from tour, though, I’m going to make him a mighty fine cake!  The first Upwelling fan’s tattoo has surfaced… what’s the farthest you have  gone (or would go)  for a band, artist, writer, _____ you love?

Last night, once again, hunger pangs dragged me from bed.  I grabbed an apple and snuggled back under the covers.

I think it’s because I’ve been eating dinner earlier than I’m used to… growing up, we ate dinner between 8 and 9, but now when I cook for myself, I eat around 7. Interesting!

This morning I got up early to finish some work for my internship, and by the time I was ready for breakfast I’d worked up quite the appetite.  I made my first batch of oatmeal in a couple weeks, and it did not disappoint.

I microwaved 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup oats, pumpkin and frozen berries all together at the same time. Saves time, and I didn’t have to wash an extra dish.  I topped the dish with brown sugar and a scoop of flaxy peanut butter.

Things were a little busier at the office today, and before I knew it it was time to meet my mom for lunch.  We went to AOC, a cute French bistro in the West Village.

We had some buttered bread while we waited for our orders to arrive.

I ordered the Salade Nordique, which was not only beautifully presented…

…but it was fully loaded with delicious ingredients!  Poached salmon, smoked salmon, jumbo lump crab meat, a poached egg with grainy mustard, grapefruit, mixed greens, and tomatoes.

It was delicious.  My favorite bites were forkfuls of smoked salmon-wrapped grapefruit… I really have to try this at home.   I didn’t come close to finishing the salad, and took a lot of the salmon home.  It’ll make a delicious lunch tomorrow!

We each drank a cup of coffee, then went to The Lite Choice for dessert.   I got a small cup of frozen yogurt with half Fluffernutter, half Dark Chocolate Truffle.

My mom went back to work, and I went home to get some things done.  I went for a 2 miles run as my training schedule directed, then did some ab work and played around on the foam roller.  Sweet pain.

I wanted to make something fast, easy, delicious, and comforting for dinner, and came up with a new twist on an old favorite.  It’s low in fat, high in flavor and smells like heaven.

Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Leek Soup

Serves 1-2

Ingredients

  • 1 medium-sized sweet potato, peeled & chopped
  • 1 leek, finely sliced
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 inch ginger, minced
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cups vegetable broth (I made my own using Better Than Bouillon)
  • 3 cloves
  • 1 tsp curry
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • parsley (optional)

Heat oil over medium heat.  Add onions and garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are near-transparent,  about 5 minutes.  Add ginger and cook 1 minute more, being careful not to let the ingredients burn.

Add leeks, potato, stock & bay leaf.  Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce to a simmer until vegetables are tender, about 20 minutes. Remove bay leaf.

Transfer to a food processor or blender and pulse until soup reaches desired texture.  I prefer mine smooth, but you can easily leave a few chunks of potato.

Add spices and pulse until cloves are ground and incorporated.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Garnish with parsley and additional spices, if desired.

Serve and enjoy!

I enjoyed a bowl of soup with a toasted Ezekiel English muffin.  One half had almond butter and raspberry jam, the other had melted cheddar and Bragg’s.

It was a perfect dinner for one, followed by the perfect dessert: dried fruit stuffed with roasted almonds and dark chocolate chips. Natural candy, if you will.   I have a little trouble with portion control when I eat these… they’re so good that I can’t help going back into the kitchen to make more!

I’m hoping to get to bed early so I’m nice and fresh for tomorrow.  What was the best part of your day?

25 responses to “Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Leek Soup

  1. note to self: add “the lite choice” to the list of frozen yogurt spots to hit up in nyc. (ps, list is like 10 places long haha)

  2. breadandwithit

    The best part of my day was a deelicious lunch of salad with a taragon-chive sauce and very lightly grilled, battered chicken. You had to be there.

    I wouldn’t get a tattoo, but I might write a fan letter or two, or hang out at the stage door hoping for an autograph.

    Gotta make that soup!

  3. The best part of my day was when the school’s salad bar actually had a vegan soup option and it was incredible. I just wish they did it more often!

    Hunger pangs that keep you up at night are the worst! I always hate to leave my warm bed to grab a snack, but there’s no denying my rumbling tummy a snack!

  4. I got out of lab early by like an hour and 15 minutes! I was so pleased I had more time to go the gym and do laundry

  5. Wow, that soup sounds fantastic! I’ve actually never cooked with leeks before, so I am excited to experiment with them.

  6. I love leeks. They’re so common in Europe, but so rarely used in the states. I always found that interesting.

  7. yumm fluffernutte YOGURT!! sign me up!! freaking awesome!! thanks for the recipie girl!

    best part of my day was prob having girl talk with my roomies-so theraputic!

  8. I had a jar of Fluff in my pantry I just recently finished and threw away. I like to eat it by the spoonful with peanut butter, so good.
    I love your sweet potato leek soup idea!
    I always face the same conundrum with sweet potatoes and squash which is Salty or Sweet? I can NEVER decide.

  9. How’d you find out about my tattoo? 🙂

    Happy Birthday ARI!!!

  10. half Fluffernutter, half Dark Chocolate Truffle.=insane. I want some.

    Your soup looks delish, healthy, hearty, perfect.

    Nature’s Candy. Portion Control. LOL Yeah dates and me about midnite, I can’t get enough!

  11. Best part of my day = getting classes over with 😉

  12. The best part of my day was making smores yesterday!

  13. Jamie Utzinger

    That salmon, crab and grapefruit salad looks soooo good! I would give anything to eat that right now – but since I live completely landlocked in the very center of North America, it is hard to trust the seafood around here =(.

    Best part of my day: waking up and my room was nice and toasty! (Went to bed shivering.. love MN winters.)

  14. Jamie Utzinger

    hmm thats weird, it links to my class blog. My personal blog is riverrunsdeep.wordpress.com!

  15. Happy birthday to Ari!

    The soup looks so comforting… I have a love affair with soups. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  16. That soup, ugh, looks sooo delicious. I nearly drooled.

    That salad also looks great, but I still can’t convince myself I like grapefruit. I try and try but nothing clicks. Maybe if it had salmon wrapped around it, huh. ; )

  17. Happy Birthday Ari! That tatoo cracks me up! Best part of my day: eating dinner with my husband.

  18. Happy Birthday Ari! That’s a crazy tattoo! There’s a lot of fans out there. That’s awesome. I bet he can’t wait for that cake 🙂

  19. best part of my day was watching The Office reruns with Nick 🙂

    Happy Birthday Ari!

  20. How did you get that picture of my tattoo?! 😉 HAPPY BIRTHDAY ARI!

    That soup sounds amazing and so comforting given my sore throat. Yum! I hope you have a wonderful Wednesday, Miss LVP!

  21. Oh my good gosh – that soup looks stellar! I absolutely love homemade soup with a burning passion! Might have to make this one!

  22. I need to get dates so I recreate those little “natural candies!” Yes, I think that’s a wonderfully forgiving/portion control de-necessitating (new word..) name for them 🙂

  23. a) your mom totes looks like you (or i guess you lok like her…)
    b) whoa upwelling tattoo!!!! they are big time now!
    c) dried fruit nut stuff desserts are the best. i dont know why i forgot about them…oh yeah, im on a mayj apple kick right now.

  24. Hee hee, sleeping in was the best part! 🙂
    LA has an AOC too…your salad looks INCREDIBLE!! Wow, look at that freshness!

Leave a Reply

