LVP Takes On The Deli Sandwich!

Hey hey-yo! How are you? How was your Wednesday? I can’t believe that one week from tomorrow is Thanksgiving!  I usually try to wake up early enough to catch some of the parade, then my mom and I make our famous sticky bunsDo you have traditions you keep up every year?

I seem to have unleashed the oatmeal beast within me yesterday, because that was just what I wanted this morning.

In the bowl:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • frozen berries
  • frozen pineapple
  • flaxy peanut butter
  • cinnamon
  • agave

The rest of the morning was spent preparing for an interview.  I went into the city an hour and a half early so, subway problems or not, there’d be no chance of being late.  I had so much spare time that I went into a deli to go over my notes and read some Canadian snail mail.  To secure a seat, I bought some fruit salad.

The interview went well, I think; I was given an assignment to complete for Friday, so I went straight home to get started.  I needed some brain fuel, so I made a quick salad:

Our house guest came into the kitchen while I was assembling it, took one look at the bowl, and said, “Are you really going to eat all of that salad?! You must have a really fast metabolism!”  It was a salad of great girth, I’ll give him that. But of course I ate every scrap 😉

In the mix:

  • spinach
  • grape tomatoes
  • 1 grapefruit
  • 1/2 avocado
  • leftover salmon
  • dressing made with rice vinegar, sesame oil, sesame seeds & chili flakes

The Lindt store on 5th  was handing out holiday truffles on the street today, so I snatched one up and had it for dessert.

My body must have needed sleep because I nodded right off after lunch! Today is the fourth consecutive day I’ve gotten up significantly earlier than I’m used to, and the rest of the week will be no different.  Hopefully in the next few weeks there will be more early mornings and regular hours, if you catch my drift! When I woke up, I made some coffee and snacked on these Jalepeño Honey Mustard Pretzel Sticks from Kay’s Naturals.

These are my favorite of the Kay’s products I’ve tried; they’re satisfying, and didn’t leave me with horrible garlic breath the way the protein chips did.

The rest of the afternoon and evening was spent working.  When it was getting close to dinner time, I simmered and marinated some tempeh using the recipe for Hot Sauce-Glazed Tempeh from Veganomicon.

After about an hour, I plopped the tempeh onto the George Foreman, the apartment-dweller’s best friend.  Aren’t grill marks satisfying?

I proceded to make one of the best sandwiches on earth: The LVP Reuben.

A reuben sandwich is traditionally made with corned beef, Swiss cheese, saurkraut, and creamy salad dressing.  I don’t remember eating one even when I did eat meat, but my version is much more appealing to me.  It’s based on one of my all-time favorite sandwiches: grilled cheddar with Granny Smith apple slices on Peppridge Farm Cinnamon Raisin Swirl bread.  Tonight, I went a step further…

Grilled cheddar with Hot Sauce-Glazed Tempeh, Gala apple slices and baby spinach on Cinnamon Raisin Ezekiel bread.  My tum is grumbling at the memory.  I also had a bowl of Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potato Leek Soup, garnished with cinnamon, nutmeg, shredded coconut and parsley.

Dinner for 1, at home, does not have to be boring.

Luckily I had the foresight to plan my dessert early in the day; I had two bananas sitting in the freezer and  waiting  to be processed into Chocolate Banana Soft Serve.  Three words: Move over, Stögo! I topped mine with roasted almonds and walnuts.

It was rich, creamy, and far better than anything packaged I’ve bought recently.  You better believe I licked up every last trace of “batter.”

I can’t wait to play around with this! There are so many options based on what’s in the pantry alone.

After dinner I finished my reading, and just as I was about to e-mail my notes to myself (I type everything out on my Blackberry… it’s an odd habit), the memo deleted itself.  I searched IT message boards, asked people I knew with Blackberries if there was any way to retrieve data that wasn’t backed up on a computer… nothing.  Seven hours of work has been LOST.   So… tomorrow will be another early morning.  It’s not the end of the world.

Bonne nuit 🙂

23 responses to “LVP Takes On The Deli Sandwich!

  1. YUM I cannot get over all of your eats today.
    My mom also makes famous sticky buns, but on easter morning 🙂 yum yum!

  2. I easily polish off mixing bowl and serving bowl sized salads. It’s a food blogger must!

    That dinner just has it going ON with flavor. Nice going! I have some cinnamon rasisin wheat bread, I never considered a sweet and savory combo with it. Will do!

  3. I love that you put frozen pineapple in your oats- what a fun addition! Glad to hear the interview went well and best of luck with the project. That soup sounds very tasty. I can’t believe its a week until Thanksgiving! Not a lot of traditions that occur EVERY year anymore since we trade holidays back and forth between my family and Josh’s!

  4. Yeah, that soft serve is pretty crazy! Glad you like 🙂

  5. The sandwich looks amazing! 😀 I def agree that some homemade thought-out creations can blow any deli stuff out the window 😉

    Good luck with the assignment and interview!

  6. breadandwithit

    Too bad about the first draft, but your second will be even better. The work isn’t lost–your thoughts will flow more easily today because of yesterday’s 7 hours.

    And you’re right–the end of the world wouldn’t be starting over on the draft. It would be burning that beautiful sandwich.

  7. Hang in there with the work – your second WILL be better.

    **hugs**

  8. That sandwich looks great and your picture is too cute.

    I’m sure you’re working will be even better the second time around. And probably easier too.

  9. Oh, house guests…

    I LOVE grill marks!! (As evidenced by my Yves burger last night!)

    Sorry your work disappeared — I HATE when that happens!! (There’s a girl in one of my classes who looks almost exactly like you, and her name is Katie. I just thought that was kind of… interesting. ;))

  10. ohmygod. that sandwich sounds incredible.

  11. that sandwich looks amazing!

    Glad the interview went well!!! 🙂

  12. I love the salad combo of salmon, avocado, and grapefruit!

    So many Christmas/Thanksgiving traditions in my house…:) We always bake the same cookies every year, after every Thanksgiving dinner is the family Thanksgiving hike, we always get our tree exactly one week before Christmas an decorate it together. During that time my dad plays the Boston Pops “Sleigh Ride” blasted on the stereo to mark the beginning of the season in our household 😀

    Have a great day!

  13. Hahaha I feel like people are always taken back by my ability to DOMINATE enorme salads. But, I’m like, it’s a SALAD. relax. haha.

    Oh, and that sandwich… I need it!

    Fingers crossed for the job, chica

  14. Two drop dead gorgeous things in this post: that amazing tempeh rueben, which I have to replicate and YOU!!! If only I looked that beautiful in my glasses 😦

  15. ive never had tempeh!! that looks AMAZING!! and so do those salads! good luck with everything girl..have a great day!

  16. Hot Sauce-Glazed Tempeh from Veganomicon looks divine. I cant eat tempeh but I bet the flavor combos rock and i could recreate.

    The soup also looks banging.

    As do those BLACKBERRIES which i adore.

    But not as much as i adore your cute face in your glasses licking the spoon. Precious! (i mean hottie!)

  17. ummm that tempeh reuben sammie is GENIUS katie. pure genius.

    i am crossing my fingers for your job interview!!!!!! have a wonderful day!

  18. looks amazing!

  19. I like that you refer to yourself in the 3rd person. awesome!

  20. Just a few quick questions… you’re in Astoria, right? Since you mentioned the subway and I’m thinking of moving soon, I’m just curious how long/bad the commute is into Manhattan for you usually? Your place looks nice too… do you live in an apartment or house? I’m just trying to figure out where to live next! haha

  21. My sister and I always eat premade cinnamon rolls every year but this time around, now that I eat really healthy, I’m making vegan ones! So excited 🙂 Love your eats girl!

    Maggie

  22. We don’t really have traditions that are set in stone but rather slight variations of the same thing. However I HAVE to have my green bean casserole. Just me, a spoon, and a casserole dish 😉

    Turkey reubens used to be my ‘go-to’ sandwich but your creation sounds incredible! Those Kay’s pretzels sound right up my alley as well!! Got my fingers crossed for you!

  23. southerngracesblog

    I have never thought to pair cheddar, cinnamon raisin ezekiel bread, and an apple together! i don’t have any tempeh in the house, but i have all of the other ingredients! so tomorrow i may make that sandwich minus the tempeh! i am so excited!

Leave a Reply

