Hired!

So, that’s my big news… I got a job! I got the call while I was literally on the way to the airport to go to Russia.  As you can imagine, it made the trip a lot more relaxing and stress-free.  Obviously I won’t get into any real details about the position, but I will say that it’s in the publishing field, which I’ve always dreamed of entering.  And guess what? Today was my very first day of work!

I thought breakfast should be special, so I used some of all of my favorite ingredients: banana, cinnamon, dark chocolate chips, lemon curd, pumpkin butter and flaxy peanut butter.

Mixed in with oats, it made for one rich bowl of oatmeal!  I actually found myself in the rare situation where I could not finish my meal.

I spent the day training with the employee who’d held the position before me. It was actually pretty fun! I do have to say, though: there is a lot to learn.   My trainer and I broke for lunch around 1:00 in the conference room.  I’d packed a sandwich made with Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin bread, hummus, a Dr. Praeger’s Texas veggie burger, mustard, spinach and sprouts.

I also had a Pineapple-flavored Chobani and a cup of hazelnut coffee with skim milk (our office kitchen has a fancy-shmancy coffee maker; each cup is brewed to your taste).  I saved the carrots and ate them at 4:30.

I left work at 5:30 and headed straight home to make dinner.  There hadn’t been time to do any prep work the night before so I knew we wouldn’t be eating for a little while; I snacked on a blueberry bar.

Ari just came home from tour last night (after being away for three weeks) and Ilana was coming for dinner so I wanted to make us a nice dinner.  We had mushroom lasagna (which we’ve deemed “Lucky Lasagna”) and steamed green beans.

There’s a rumor of hot chocolate in bed, so I’m going to sign off.  I’ve got to get myself onto a “working” schedule! I’ll try and be a better blog friend this weekend.

Bonne nuit 🙂

22 responses to “Hired!

  1. HOORAY!!!!!!!!!! CONGRATS!!!!!!!

  2. wow! congratulations!!

  3. congrats on your job!!! amazingness!

  4. Congratulations! That’s awesome news. Good luck getting into the work schedule!

  5. congrats! i am so happy for you 😀
    that lasagna looks amazing
    have a wonderful night ❤

  6. CONGRATS GIRL!!! that is so exciting!! that lasagna looks awesome!

  7. Congrats Katie, soooo happy for you!
    We’re off to the airport NOW! 🙂
    Please Excuse my random or lower commenting frequency coming up in the next little bit. But I’ll be reading along best I can!

  8. congratulations!!! 🙂

  9. SOOO HAPPY FOR YOU, LOVE!! All the patience/hustling/thumb-twiddling paid off 🙂

  10. lucky lasagna rules!!! I forgot my left overs downstairs 😦

    i hope its still there tomorrow

  11. congrats on the job!!!

    and omg those oats look to die for!

  12. Congrats!!!!! That’s really exciting 🙂

  13. MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! We’ll celebrate in January 😉

  14. yayayayayay i am so excited, and so glad that you like it so far!

  15. Yay! Congrats 😀

  16. WOW, that is awesome!! Congratulations!! 😀 😀

    ❤ ❤

  17. CONGRATS!!!! I’m so happy for you!! That’s wonderful news!

  18. Congrats on your new job! I’m so happy for you! I’m so glad it is in a field you’ve always wanted to work in.

  19. congratulations!!!! That’s so exciting 🙂

  20. congrats!!!!!!

  21. Wahoo! Congratulations! How very cool for you. 😀 Oh and also congrats on the Russia trip–I was just reading about that. I’ve always wanted to go! Major jealousy over here. 😉

  22. CONGRATS!!!

    I KIND OF had the same mentality as you this morning–finals start today so I had to start off with a “special” and extremely delish breakfast (oats, granola, cashews, bing cherries, almond butter & cinn!!)….now sippin’ a cup of coffee w/ soy 🙂 just to let you know, haha!

    Good luck with getting settled at work! XOXO

Leave a Reply

