79 Lobsters

Good evening and happy Saturday night!  The last two days have been a constant go, go, go! , so please excuse the posting delay.

Last night, Ari and I had the pleasure of joining fellow bloggers (out of order, sorry!) Heather, Caroline, Liz, Olga, Danielle, Katharine, Amelia, Dierdre, Diana and Marina, for dinner at Candle 79.

IMG_7960

While we were chatting about food and foodies, the restaurant staff brought out an amuse bouche: curried lentil dip with onions on a homemade tortilla.  Great start to a great night!

IMG_7951

Ari and I split the Moroccan Spiced Chickpea Cake made with seasonal vegetables, red pepper-coconut curry, apricot-date chutney, and toasted almonds.

IMG_7954

We also ordered the Wild Mushroom-saffron Ravioli with cashew ricotta, roasted tomato-truffle sauce, sautéed broccoli raab, and crispy capers.

IMG_7957

The Chickpea Cake was my favorite, while Ari preferred the ravioli.  Worked out perfectly!

I also stole one of Liz‘s quinoa-flax crisps, which reminded me a lot of Dr. Kracker’s.

IMG_7959

It was such a pleasure to meet some of the ladies I’ve come to “know” so well.  Hope to see you again soon! Thanks again to Heather for organizing a fabulous evening.

After dinner, Ari and I headed down to The Living Room to see Ari’s friend John‘s band play.  On the way there, we noticed a lot of people stopping in the middle of the street, staring at the sky and taking photos.  We were afraid there was some kind of apocalyptic happening going on, but instead we just saw these crazy clouds.

IMG_7961

After the show, we went to a really cool bar for the after-party that was, back in the day, an authentic speak-easy. Pretty cool!

Then we headed to Brooklyn for the Swine Flu party.  Unfortunately, a lot of people ended up not being able to make it, so it was a pretty small gathering.  It was still fun, though, and the decor was awesome!

IMG_7966

Cheese and raspberries were gobbled…

IMG_7965

Notice the N1H1 cookies! Genius, right? So genius that I had to eat two 😉

IMG_7963

While Ari was in a deli picking up beer, I ended up finding some good bargains.  Cheap Chobani, 1 lb of fruit salad for $1.99, and the best: about 20 medjool dates for $2.99!  I’m such a dork, but I was really excited about that.

This morning I had a strawberry Chobani yogurt, fruit salad, and a slice of whole wheat toast with peanut butter and cinnamon.

IMG_7968

I don’t remember ever having flavored Chobani before.  I was a little skeptical about a fruit-on-the-bottom-style Greek yogurt, but I ended up really digging it! If I can ever afford it again, I’ll be picking up the other flavors.

After breakfast, we drove to Connecticut for a surprise birthday/graduation party.  We stopped to pick up Ari’s parents at their friends’ house, and were greeted by a variety of Food Should Taste Good crackers and Sabra hummus.   I was very happy.

IMG_7969

The lady of the house whipped us up a delicious mushroom pizza.

IMG_7973

I had a small slice.

IMG_7975

After our “snack,” we got back in the car to to go the party.  After arriving and saying our hellos, we made our way to the bar tent. There were coolers of red and white sangria:

IMG_7977

Ari tapped the keg.

IMG_7978

Over the course of the day, I had a cup of white sangria:

IMG_7979

And a cup of red sangria.

IMG_7980

I’m not usually a sangria person, but I wasn’t in the mood for beer.  It was actually pretty refreshing!

They were serving hot dogs, hamburgers, and lobster.  Guess what I got?!

IMG_7986

Each mesh baggie was filled with steamed lobster, corn-on-the-cob, mussels, clams, and potatoes.

IMG_7987

I made a huge mess, but it was amazing.

lobster

The birthday boy just graduated from dental school, so there was a red velvet “braces” cake:

IMG_7989

There were also cute little graduation and birthday cupcakes.

IMG_7990

The hat was too cute to pass up, so I had a chocolate cupcake with vanilla frosting.  (Ari was pretty enamored with the newborn baby.)

IMG_7991

Ilana was also taken with Baby.

IMG_7976

Beth & Abe had a blast.

IMG_7983

The party was really fun, and it was so nice to get out of the city for the day.  Don’t get me wrong: I love New York and I can’t imagine living anywhere else, but I need a mental health break from it from time to time.

We ate around 4, so my stomach felt a little off all day.  I didn’t know if I should eat dinner, snack, or what! The perfect solution seemed to be fat free peanut butter frozen yogurt. Funny how that logic works, hmm?

IMG_7992

All in all, it’s been a pretty great weekend. (Bonus question: how many times do I use “pretty” in this post? 🙂 ) I have to be at work in less than 9 hours so I’m going to say goodnight and good luck!

Catch up with ya later, gators.

16 responses to “79 Lobsters

  1. The blogger dinner sounds so much fun! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Graduation party looks great- the lip cake is too cool 😀

    PB fro-yo counts as a balanced dinner IMO 😛

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Looks like you had a great time at the dinner! 🙂

    That cake is too funny 😉

    ❤ ❤

  3. Candle 79 is such a good restaurant! I kind of prefer the less-upscale version though which is called Candle Cafe. I hope you guys had a blast!

    That Swine Flu party looks hilarious! What a cute idea for a party:)

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!!

  4. I didn’t even notice that ravioli on the menu! Oh well, I think I always zoom in on the word “enchilada.” It was great to meet you, though it was hard to talk to more than the people sitting next to me. Here’s hoping for more NYC hang-outs!

  5. Glad you liked my crackers, hahaha 😀 SO fun finally meeting you, girl!!

  6. LOVE the Swine Flu party! That’s hilarious!!

    Strawberry Chobs is my favorite! Peach is really good too – it’s a lighter fruit flavor in my opinion. The past few days look like fun!! That cake is so detailed!

    I need some PB FroYo, stat!

  7. Alright, i knew ari was in a band, but this was the first time I clicked on the link. Now I am a groupie. I’ve been reading/stalking the myspace page, his band’s website and I may or may not have read the wikipedia entry for the upwelling. 😀 I shall edit my candle 79 post to include his band’s link. See ya soon.

  8. sounds like you had a fun night out!!
    ahh the one thing I hate about lobsters is how hard they are to eat! otherwise they are delicious 🙂

  9. Boston/NY is such a prime place to live for the bloggin’ ladies!! You girls are always meeting up, i’m jealous. 🙂

    Strawberry chobani is actually my fave greek yogurt!! The other flavors are still great, so if it’s cheap… try blueberry next!

    And hahah, love the pictures from the Swine Flu-party, too hilarious.

  10. Only YOU could look so utterly fabulous about to crack into a lobster. You are a stunner!!!

  11. Ugh..I wish I stuck with the chickypeas… Damn indecisive brain! so nice to see ya again lady – I loved your skirt btw. 😉

  12. Loved the braces cake.

    Peanut butter frozen yogurt is perfect at anytime, of course!

  13. If you make it to Maine. I’d love to hook you guys up with the best live Lobster on earth

  14. Pingback: Seaweed Adventures « Lilveggiepatch

  15. what a weekend! so sad i missed the blogger dinner. i guess i wont get much sympathy, being in hawaii and all…

Leave a comment